We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden
Ranked #74 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Oh. My.”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Where to start? An unexpected conference brought us late to Boston when all reserved conference rooms had already been claimed. We ended up at this establishment. The staff was very courteous and helpful but there was nothing they could do about the location, decor, age of the building or the elevator. (Which deserves a review all its own.)

The hotel, almost a storefront, is located in an alley, strewn with trash and homeless folks. (Think of the movie "On The Waterfront"). If you plan on attending an event at the Garden, however, it is ideally situated almost across the street. The decor is sort of plastic modern. An attempt at an update sometime in the '70's I would guess. The elevator sounds in the throes of agony and opens like the inner sanctum when it finally arrives. Although the carpet was old, the linens were soft from age and actually felt quite nice at the end of the day. The mirrored door was falling off the closet as it refused to roll on its track and the bathroom was pretty large for Boston, although its size was offset by the lack of water pressure.

Breakfast was uninspired but plentiful with donuts, cereal, etc. They did have a pancake machine which my son wanted for Christmas.

If you choose to stay at this hotel be careful walking around at night as there are a number of bars in the area catering to the Gardens crowds. Having lived in urban areas we walked quickly and under streetlights whenever possible but there is no getting around it is a gritty neighborhood. All of the issues mentioned above results in a price more reasonable than other hotels in Boston. So choose your hotel with these realities in mind.

.

Room Tip: Come and go during the daylight hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 1citydweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Hello and thank you for your recent review of our hotel. It was great to hear that the staff was courteous and helful. I do however apologize that the building, it's decor and the elevator were not to your liking. The building is a historic building and located in one of the best spot in Boston-Directly across the street from the TD Garden! We are in the process of installing a new elevator that is almost complete, so this will be great for our guests! Also you had mentioned our signature "Pancake machine". This has been a big hit with our guests and their children and the pancakes are terrific! Please come back and see us again and thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    198
    109
    41
    27
See reviews for
134
157
24
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed one night at this location. Staff is above average, but the hotel is tired, hallways dirty and rooms below average. Fourth floor had plywood covering one doorway and the elevator was slow and made straining noises. As someone who used to stay 30+ nights per year in Holiday Inn Express hotels, I was surprised they have their name on this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Hello and thank you for your feedback. First, let me apologize that your stay was not satisfactory. The appearance issue you mentioned (Plywood) is due to the installation of our new elevator! We are very pleased to be putting this in for our guests and excited that it is near completion. Thank you for the nice comment regarding the staff. Guest satisfaction is our focus and I am glad to hear the staff was above average. Please return and see us soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Boston hotels

1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2012

On a scale of 1-10, I'd honestly give this hotel a 10! The rooms are average, but besides that, everything was *perfect*.. the staff is amazing and definitely went the extra mile to ensure that everything was perfect. I would like to give credit & recognize especially BoMing, Randy, Joel, & Jean. They all went out of their way to make my stay the best it could possibly be. Not to mention, the location is very very convenient. Right in downtown Boston, 2 blocks from North Station. Very easy to get anywhere in the city you'd like to go within minutes pretty much! And if you're not from the area, the staff will gladly help you out with directions. I noticed that BoMing was especially helpful when trying to find landmarks & shopping centers. This is definitely the hotel I would choose again in a heartbeat =)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krystaLEE37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Hello and thank you for your review!

We are extremely happy to hear you had a fantastic stay! Also thank you for the nice comments regarding the staff! We pride ourselves on taking care of the guest to make sure they have a memorable stay. I will be sure to pass on the nice comments to the staff and especially to Boming, Randy, Joel and Jean. They will be very pleased to hear such nice things!

We hope to see you again soon and thank you again for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I completely agree with comments that rate this hotel poorly. I stayed there with my family for a week last July and we didn't enjoy that. It's a gloomy and deteriorated property (my room had a very old and broken sofa bed and window shades that didn't work) and the neighborhood, in spite of its convenient location and nearness to subway station and local attractions, gets scary at night. The valet service took forever to bring out car (in one occasion, we had to wait for 40 minutes). When we saw other Holiday Inn hotels in Boston, my daughters asked me "why couldn't we stay in a hotel like this?".

Room Tip: Ask for a room in higher floors because the street gets noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest, Thankyou for your feedback regarding your stay with us. I do apologize that your stay was not what you hoped. We are doing a lot of positive things to the hotel to make it a better place for our guests. We have installed new sofa beds (You mentioned this), desk chairs and a new elevator that is almost complete, just to name a few. It is my hope that you might return to give us another try! Thank you again for your review and have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Very small hotel, location is good with easy access to trains, metro and buses, but the street is not particularly nice, surrounded by lonely allies and some strange bars. Amenities are standard like any other HIE, with good but relatively limited breakfast. Some rooms might be very noisy, so ask for those far from elevators, but also be aware from street noise. One plus is that most sightseeing buses have a stop right across the street, in case you are there for pleasure. Also, most staff is quite helpful and very friendly, which is a plus in this type of limited-service hotels.

I booked a couple of rooms with my priority rewards points, which was a good deal, but regular rates started at USD280 which in my opinion is not really worth it. Rooms are small, as well as beds and public spaces, so combined by limited services, a fair price for this rooms would be USD150-200, definitely no more than that.

Room Tip: Far from elevators and the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank algarcia78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice comments regarding our location and especially our staff! I will make sure to pass on your nice comments to them. Also I would like to apologize for any inconvenience from outside noise you might have experienced. We are in a great location and it is very busy from time to time. Thank you again for choosing us and for giving us your feedback. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed on the 2nd floor overlooking Friend Street and it was so noisy I don't think we slept all night, the doors slamming in the hallways and our air unit made a knocking noise all night as well. The stairwell hadn't been vacuumed in the few days we were there and we just found the hotel to be very worn and tired looking. Only 1 elevator, which barely even fit a luggage cart. We had to physically lift it up and over so we could get the door to close. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall the location isn't the greatest, okay if you are going to a sports game at the Garden. I definently will try another hotel before returning here

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meshell1723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear meshell1723,

Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you have mentioned our friendly staff. I would also like to apologize for any inconvenience due to the outside noise. Most importantly, I am pleased to inform you that we have just completed our renovations last month and this is to ensure our facilities and service are superior.

We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Boston.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Agree with review by dreimer043... depressing... that's the best way to describe this Holiday Inn property. SMALL... very SMALL property overall... Outdated... Asked for two double beds, got a queen "suite" with a queen bed and a pullout sofa in the living room. The only TV faced the wall dividing the two spaces (room and living) so neither of us could really watch it. Our only window had a great view of........ a BRICK WALL!!! Only elevator was big enough for 6 people w/out luggage and 3 with luggage... and S-L-O-W... very slow....
Original stay was for 5 nights, rushed out after the first one... didn't even stay to try included breakfast. As Priority Club members we were looking forward to our stay there, but what a disappointment this property was!
On the PLUS side... location is good only IF you're attending a game or concert at the Garden... because is literally around the corner.
Wouldn't recommend to families with children, there is a Bar right in front of the hotel, actually there are a couple of bars around the place.
Oh! and apparently there is some kind of renovation going on as on the 5th floor there was a wall covered with wood panels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magvel004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback as it is helpful in getting better at providing our guests better service! After reading your review and although we do not have control over the size of the building or some of the views of the city, we DO for the elevator. That is the renovation you witnessed. We are in the process and about 3/4 of the way done with our brand new elevator! This will assist guests from the lower level to the 5th floor and will be completely modernized and new. I do however apologize that your stay was not to your liking. I would like very much to speak with you if you have some free time. Look forward to hearing from. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#33 of 83 in Boston
1,386 reviews
The Boxer Boston
#23 of 83 in Boston
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North End
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden
Address: 280 Friend St, Boston, MA 02114-1801 (Formerly The Hotel at Boston Garden)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi and hot breakfast. Located across from North Station and the TD Garden making us the closest hotel to the Garden, home to both the Celtics and the Bruins. Boston is a walking city and the hotel is central to all the historic neighborhoods and attractions you want to visit. The hotel is in walking distance to many of Boston’s historic sites, Faneuil Hall, Paul Reveres house, Boston Harbor, Beacon Hill and the Freedom Trail. With many great restaurants and attractions also in easy reach this hotel in Boston’s North End is an ideal location for your next visit.Business travelers appreciate that the hotel is near the financial center, the Government Center, Massachusetts General Hospital, Spaulding Rehabilitation Center and Massachusetts Eye Ear Center. Boston is home of many of the world’s finest colleges and the hotel is located in within minutes of many of them; Harvard, Yale, Cambridge, MIT and Boston College.Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston Garden has an unbeatable location with valet parking and complimentary hot breakfast, 24-hour fitness room, business center and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelPower, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Boston Garden
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Holiday Inn Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing