We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never ever again Management does not care”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden
Ranked #71 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Never ever again Management does not care”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

Made reservation via the official IHG website using Holiday Inn Rewards points. Wanted a room with two beds. That option was not presented. So I put a note and followed up with a phone call. Called again on the afternoon of arrival and requested that a room with two beds be kept aside for me as I was travelling with my daughter. Did not happen. We got a room (they call it suite) with one bed and one sofa bed. Could not sleep on the sofa bed as it was very saggy and ended up with a sore back. Slept the rest of the night on the floor.
Earlier could not find the remote control. Called front office and was assured that another one will be sent up. No one arrived for half an hour. Went down to get it myself. Was told they do not have a spare and that I should look for it under the bed or between the seats of the sofa. I told them that they should be doing that not me. Their come back was that if you don't want to look for it then use the controls on the TV. It was getting late at night so decided to go to bed instead. Left as soon as possible in the morning.
Tried to get a resolution thru their corporate customer relations department. They kept referring my complaint to hotel management suggesting that they will get back to me. After 4 attempts I did not hear back from hotel management so I gave up.
I am a Platinum Priority with Holiday Inn and this is the type of service I get. I am afraid to think what they do to average folks. Am seriously considering taking my business elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rama S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    193
    105
    40
    23
See reviews for
129
152
24
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clovis Ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

We were with a large group of 22 on on our way to my sons baseball tournament. There were 22 of us and we arrived at 7 am to check in, after taking a red eye from Califonia. Most of the people in our group were children. The staff welcomed us (Thank you Gio) allowed us to eat breakfast and crash in the lobby until our rooms were ready. They got all of us in quickly and when our suite wasn't ready they gave us two standard rooms so we would have plenty of room for our family to be comfortable, at no extra charge. The location was great, right across from the Garden home of the Bruins, and we were there when they won the Stanley cup. Even though the game was in Canada the area was packed with excitment. We were excited to be a part of it all and became Bruins fans!
The Boston police did an excellent job of keeping everything under control. The hotel did an excellent job of handling the extra traffic and chaos too. The manger, Jamie, was very nice and gave ice cream and candy treats to the kids. The area did not seem bad to me at all. There are a lot of pubs in the area, but there seem to be alot of pubs all over Boston. We were with in walking distance of many areas of attraction and we were able to purchase our tour bus tickets at the front desk and catch the bus across the street. The rooms were nothing fancy, but every one in our group agreed that this was a great experience and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingfamily7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

This hotel is located close to the north end and all that is offered here...and that is quite a lot; little Italy, historical monuments and the Freedom Trail - well worth it.
Although the rooms are really quite spacious and if you use them as we did, you can overlook some things - the slightly dated decor, dirty looking carpets and a rough looking location.
As a value for money sleeping place it is ideal.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayme12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, IL
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

We chose this hotel because we needed a room in Boston that sleeps five and the choices were pretty limited. The room was big, but it was tired looking - carpet stained, scuff marks on the walls and doors. The location, close to the T, Boston Garden, North End, Quincy Market, was great. As a previous review mentioned, there are homeless in the area who ask for money and comment on everyone who walks by (a little creepy, for sure).

Breakfast was decent - eggs, sausage or bacon, biscuits, cereals, yogurt, milk, juices, coffee, bagels, muffins, toast, few pieces of fresh fruit. Even with five of us we only had one morning we couldn't find a seat in the breakfast area.

We didn't spend much time in the room other than sleeping, and if that's your plan, this could be a good choice hotel for you. Staff was friendly and accommodating. If they'd repaint it would go far to making the hotel look better. Elevator was a bit creeky, but it is an old building.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dooper84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Walking distance to North End (little Italy), holocaust memorial, Beacon Hill. Room was fine for sleeping, no view but large windows and lots of light. Breakfast was a bust, warm milk, not much selection. It was hot, and all hotels were asked to conserve power.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed here in July 2011 as part of our annual family summer vacation. There were four in our party and we booked 2 seperate rooms.

I'll start with the good points. On arrival the receptionist was very friendly and helpful and got us checked in into two adjacent rooms. The rooms were quite big and spacious and were on the 3rd floor. The hotel is in a very central location, very convenient for heading out on foot into the city or via the metro station directly across the road from the hotel.

On the negative side the hotel is in a rough area, there are some seedy places around and seems to be in an area where homeless people congregate - I felt sorry for these folks but it is a bit alarming when returning to the hotel late in the evening to be accosted by lots of people begging. The hotel itself is a bit tired - even after the recent renovations and the breakfast area is not big enough to seat everyone in the morning. Also the breakfast staff were pretty poor - food was always running out and tables were not being cleared promptly.

We enjoyed our stay in Boston and didnt have any real problems but I dont think that I would stay at this hotel again - I am sure that there are better options available.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldWoodster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

The street looked a little sketchy, but Valet service was a bonus, and the location was GREAT. Very close to Little Italy, the Subway system, CVS pharmacy, Quincy Market. I stayed on the pullout couch (YUCK), and we could hear people talking/ walking around outside throughout the night/morning. Bars were only a block away (they were okay), but I probably wouldn't choose this hotel again. Oh yeah, and this couple had left their luggage behind the desk prior to check- in so they could walk around the city, and the manager couldn't find it when they came back. YIKES.

Room Tip: Make sure they have the right room available for the amount of people staying in each room prior to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missg920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#35 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North End
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#28 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Charlestown
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden
Address: 280 Friend Street, Boston, MA 02114 (Formerly The Hotel at Boston Garden)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi and hot breakfast. Located across from North Station and the TD Garden making us the closest hotel to the Garden, home to both the Celtics and the Bruins. Boston is a walking city and the hotel is central to all the historic neighborhoods and attractions you want to visit. The hotel is in walking distance to many of Boston’s historic sites, Faneuil Hall, Paul Reveres house, Boston Harbor, Beacon Hill and the Freedom Trail. With many great restaurants and attractions also in easy reach this hotel in Boston’s North End is an ideal location for your next visit.Business travelers appreciate that the hotel is near the financial center, the Government Center, Massachusetts General Hospital, Spaulding Rehabilitation Center and Massachusetts Eye Ear Center. Boston is home of many of the world’s finest colleges and the hotel is located in within minutes of many of them; Harvard, Yale, Cambridge, MIT and Boston College.Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston Garden has an unbeatable location with valet parking and complimentary hot breakfast, 24-hour fitness room, business center and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Boston Garden
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Holiday Inn Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing