We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Luxurious Boston Hotel - Absolutely Dreamy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Ranked #7 of 85 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 14, 2010

I've been booking hotels in Boston for the past 10 years for overnight stays and conferences. This hotel is the most luxurious. The overnight rooms are incredible, spotless, spacious and windows open to get some fresh air!. Colleagues raved about the rooms. The bathrooms are not only huge but are extraordinarily beautiful in every detail. You will find the staff are the most professional and friendly and are eager to help with any needs. The restaurant was exceptional. The meeting space is perfect for a medium-sized group and I absolutely loved the ballroom. It's going to be hard to beat this 5* gem! I would highly recommend this hotel for stays and conferences!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjohnso3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (730)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

631 - 637 of 730 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2010

Stayed here recently for a girlie weekend with my sister for shopping and sightseeing.
The hotel is very modern and everything is 'big' in that American way - big furniture, rooms, art, & smiles. The staff were truly lovely, helpfull and attentive without being overly so. They booked restaurants and cars for us and advised on good shopping and the best tours (Gotta do the Duck Tour) Rooms were a little dark but large and luxurious with ipod dock and great bathrooms. Breakfast delicious and cooked to order with fruit juice/smoothie of the day .Didnt eat in the restaurant but it seemed very popular - when we mentioned to locals where we were staying they all mentioned it. The bar was lovely. Very Smart with attentive and intelligent staff who always had a warm welcome. Very busy and smart Friday and Saturday nights. A great, genuine quality hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letsgoawaykids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Amazing location that is tough to beat, rooms are comfortable with nice little sofa arrangement. Beds are very comfortable and nice bathroom. Gym was great, with a personal trainer who walked casually around to give advice. Gym includes a Kinesis wall which was fun to try. Lobby is great and bar is fantastic. Service was really top notch, including one evening where we had picked up bbq from a place in Waltham and the room service ended up setting up table in our room with silver ware and wine glasses for our dinner.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PHCDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We travel all over the world and landed here, under much ado about some things. The spa is world class, perfect in every way from the moment you arrive. It felt like a private spa just for me. Moving on to the room, maid service was non existent and really poor quality. we had to ask to get the room made up, ask for towels, ask for a newspaper-which never came, and on and on that went. It wasn't the cleanest or nicest room. The bathroom was very pretty though, inspite of someone else's hairs in the john and tub. After a long journey, my husband and I got into the Frette sheeted bed and rolled into the middle of the bed in Room 710. We were so uncomfortable, it was possibly one of the worst beds we have ever slept in. The staff flipped the bed and put something incredibly hard underneath it to correct the problem. So my husband and I then rolled into the middle followed by an abrupt stop onto a rock. Not acceptable at 600 dollars a night. So we spoke to the Front Desk upon check out. The pretentious help told us that he liked a firm mattress himself, thanks for sharing! Then he said that they couldn't change all the beds and basically couldn't have cared less. All we wanted was sincerity and acknowledgment, but they give attitude. The help in the breakfast dining run the other way and disappear, even though there was one other table eating breakfast. Our food took 45 minutes to come out, and it was cold, and not very good. the oatmeal was a solid lump! It's beakfast, it's expensive and it sucked. We did have great room service, which consisted of the best warm brownie with mouse on top I have ever had in my life. I would go there just for the brownie, then leave, do not sleep in this hotel! Or go to the spa, the furniture is supremely comfortable and relaxing. ps-they charge 15 dollars for internet service!!!!!! It's not included in the 600 dollar a night fee. not worth it- Westin's heavenly bed even beats this hands down.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank ItalianInspiration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2010

Mandarin Boston is a fantastic hotel. 1 block away from Newbury and there are several great restaurants very close.

Hotel is incredibly clean and comfortable. I didn't like the pillows my first night, but they offered to bring several different types. Bathroom was huge and spotless. Staff very friendly and not pretentious like staff at The Four Seasons hotels. Great spa/exercise room.

Wouid absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LATraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

I stayed at the Mandarin Oriental in the Back Bay area of Boston. The trip was for work but our spouses attened. My husband and I stayed in an Executive King room and it was wonderful. While a hotel room is a hotel room is a hotel room....it was extremely clean and the bed linens and pillows were exceptional. We had a great view over Boyleston street and the windows truly are soundproof....we couldn't hear any traffic at all. But what makes this hotel worth the high pricetag is the service. The employees go out of their way to make your stay the best hotel experience ever....and they succeeded. We would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLCoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in in my life. From the minute I made my reservation, I was treated like royalty. I was in Boston to run the Marathon and decided to splurge a little to reward myself for my hard work. And the hotel was 1 block from the finish line, one from the expo, close to the bus I needed to take to the start, next to a T stop, and had good Italian restaurants (and the whole city) nearby, so the location was perfect. The staff is uniformly wonderful. The front desk even gave me and several guests admission to a private party overlooking the race course, and allowed me a very late check out. The room was gorgeous, the bed divine. The deep soaking tub and bathroom were fantastic. The walk in closet was huge. The room was extremely quiet. I ordered breakfast and a wake up call at 4:30 a.m. the morning of the race and both were performed exactly at that moment. The bell man helped me chase down a cab at a different hotel because Boylston was still closed due to the race. It's that kind of place. You MUST stay here if you are in Boston.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wbere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 85 in Boston
1,987 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 85 in Boston
3,450 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Boston

Address: 776 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02199-7841
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Boston
#4 Spa Hotel in Boston
#4 Business Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#11 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $511 - $911 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, luxurious hotel, Mandarin Oriental, Boston combines classic New England elegance with refined Oriental touches to create one of the most distinctive hospitality experiences in the region. Awarded both Forbes Five-Stars and AAA Five-Diamonds, Mandarin Oriental, Boston features 148 guestrooms and suites over 14 floors, delighting its guests with the finest facilities and service, innovative dining experiences and an unparalleled holistic Five-Star awarded spa. A short, 15-minute drive to Logan International Airport, Mandarin Oriental, Boston connects guests to the city's finest shopping, cultural venues and business institutions from its prime location in the heart of the chic Back Bay on Boylston Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Boston Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing