We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Ranked #15 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Albany NY
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Dirty and Disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2009

We booked under the AmEx Platinum Fine Hotel and Resorts Program and were treated like second rate guests being thrown scraps. We were shown to two different rooms that were dirty. The first was strewn with dirty towels and empty bottles and the second smelled like a stale cigar and old beer. At the second room, the bell boy tried to explain that a wedding party had stayed over the weekend. No excuse for an alleged 5 star hotel. It really calls into question the quality of the housekeeping. The room smelled like a "dive bar" and they didn't notice...IT'S A NON SMOKING HOTEL!!! After being traipsed around the hotel from room to room, you would think they would have given us a fabulous upgrade...WRONG. The staff seems to be under the mistaken belief that treating their guests ungraciously somehow passes as being exclusive. We checked out and went to the Ritz where we were treated like valued guests.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Fosdyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    88
    43
    9
    8
See reviews for
127
192
40
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2009

Everyone nice and polite. Beautiful new hotel, wonderful location. The restaurant is marvelous, makes you want to eat there all the time.

Beautiful rooms and bathrooms.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S_oPaulo_BrazilVera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2009

Visiting my niece at university I decided to try the new Mandarin Oriental. This was my first stay at a Mandarin and I was very pleased. I also booked a room for her and my sister. Having booked through AMEX Centurion Travel, they upgraded both our rooms and gave us all the extras that come along with it. The style of the hotel was very contemporary but still warm. The location is fantastic for shopping and restaurants and fairly near her school (B.U.). Also made a lot of use of the hotel's Mercedes, which drove us several places nearby. This is a really nice touch for a hotel of this level.

The room I was given was very roomy and had an incredible bathroom. I had a nice view over Boylston Street but it was very quiet despite all the activity below.

Had a great time the first night in the bar and had delicious appetizers. Breakfast was also quite good each morning. Having stayed in other hotels in Boston, the Mandarin offers a nice change from the Four Seasons, Taj and Ritz - while all very nice, are a bit tired and unexciting. I highly recommend the spa as well. Had the whole Men's side to myself so enjoyed the offerings before a great massage. Bostonians, I would recommend using the spa on a regular basis!

Overall a great intro to the Mandarin Oriental brand for me. Next up is to try one of their resorts!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BCNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

The Mandarin is a wonderful high end property. The hotel is centrally located to great shopping (one block from Newbury Street), restaurants and tourist attractions. The spa is amazing, it's very large, has several treatment rooms and all the nice amenities you would want during your appointment. Take advantage of the huge steam room with the high tech lighting. The hotel rooms are well appointed and the bathroom is very spacious with nice bath products. Hotel bar and restaurant were both very good. Bar is busy on Friday nights. Service and staff were top notch. Only negative would be the high cost of the room, but on the other hand, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
756 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 790 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2009

My husband and I were lucky enough to stay a week at the hotel which opened late last year. The location in Back Bay cannot be beaten - near restaurants, Newbury Street, Copley Square, Prudential Shopping Centre and at least 2 metro stations. It was a 10 minute walk to Fenway Park to watch a Red Sox game and a 100 metre walk to Commonwealth Avenue - a beautiful tree lined residential street.

Everything about the interior states quality and style. Staff were welcoming and had very high standards of customer service. Our Back Bay room on the 5th floor was spacious, well equipped and had a pleasant view over Boylston Street (not the River). The bedding was luxurious and extremely comfortable. The lighting system was a little complex - in fact we never worked it out but the bathroom was excellent - large, sparkling with masses of towels, quality fittings and toiletries.

Asana Restaurant was excellent - breakfast and service were wonderful - not quite as good at dinner but innovative menus and impressive nevertheless.

The concierge service was outstanding - they organised restaurants, a car to take us there, Red Sox tickets, hairdressing appointments - and were an excellent source of knowledge and advice.

If I had to find a weakness it would be housekeeping - just a few minor blips such as knocking when the "Do not disturb" sign is on. At check out the bill was spot on. I guess it's the usual Mandarin Oriental standard and it'd be hard to do better in Boston. We really enjoyed our stay. We were lucky to get an opening promotional rate from Amex.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Canberra_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2009

I travel a lot and I feel I have a good benchmark for what luxury hotels should provide. This review is a really tough one, because there are not many new luxury hotels in Boston. The Mandarin is definitely a nice addition to the city. However, upon arrival at the hotel, there were dozens of guests still waiting for their rooms at 6:30pm! This should never happen at a luxury hotel. Bottom line, if you want a new, fresh, clean luxury hotel, the Mandarin is probably the only one. However, if you want to make sure your room ready after a long flight from say Tokyo or Sydney, go elsewhere.

p.s. One wonders why luxury hotels so often can't get the job done ...

Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
9 Thank Transperancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2009

This is a wonderful hotel for any purpose - business or leisure. It is a new building (only 10 months old at time of writing) and the amenities, decor and overall cleanliness are faultless. Service is probably the best I have experienced (undoubtedly drawing from the 'oriental' background of this hotel group) and very friendly, right from the doorman meeting the taxi to the housekeeping staff. And nothing was too much trouble for the front desk / concierge. The rooms we had were very large with every possible amenity and extremely comfortable beds. As a hotel guest, you can use the vitality suite in the spa and you really should - it is the most relaxing environment with huge whirlpool, steam room and multi-programme shower (not shower as in bathroom - you have to try this to understand!). The bar is great - they can do any drink you can think of and the bar staff are very friendly and really knowledgeable about the drinks they have. Finally, the restaurant (Asana) is well worth a visit with top notch food and an Asian twist (getting away from standard steakhouse menu - although they do a lovely filet mignon and an outstanding Kobe Beef). The location of the hotel could not be better - on Boylston St, surrounded by other great restaurants, yards from Newbury St, very close to Copley Place; strolling to Faneuil Hall takes only 30 to 40 minutes if you are inclined but taxis are lined up outside and there is a complimentary limousine to bring you anywhere within a couple of miles of the hotel. Overall, not cheap, but this is one place where you really do get what you pay for in the best possible way.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimDublin57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#4 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Boston

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Address: 776 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02199-7841
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Boston
#4 Spa Hotel in Boston
#4 Business Hotel in Boston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#11 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, luxurious hotel, Mandarin Oriental, Boston combines classic New England elegance with refined Oriental touches to create one of the most distinctive hospitality experiences in the region. Awarded both Forbes Five-Stars and AAA Five-Diamonds, Mandarin Oriental, Boston features 148 guestrooms and suites over 14 floors, delighting its guests with the finest facilities and service, innovative dining experiences and an unparalleled holistic Five-Star awarded spa. A short, 15-minute drive to Logan International Airport, Mandarin Oriental, Boston connects guests to the city's finest shopping, cultural venues and business institutions from its prime location in the heart of the chic Back Bay on Boylston Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Boston Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing