We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Nearby Hotels
$386
$309
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$278
$238
InterContinental
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Boston Marriott Copley Place(Boston)(Great Value!)
$291
$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$328
$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Parker House(Boston)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$341
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Kimpton Onyx Hotel(Boston)(Great Value!)
$226
$178
Kimpton
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$194
$172
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$323
$296
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (752)
Filter reviews
752 results
Traveler rating
588
98
48
10
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
588
98
48
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar bouludboylston streetbay roomapple storefour seasonsroom servicehouse carluxury hotelsteam roomwalk in closetrain showerprudential mallin room diningperfect hotelconcierge desklocation is greatspa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
397 - 402 of 752 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2014

A terrific experience - not to be missed! You have never expereinced luxury until you stay at the Mandarin Boston. Pricey but worth it!! The staff truly cares about each guest. They are a great combination of professionalism AND not pretentious.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bizzy4257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

On behalf of the entire team at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, we truly appreciate your kind words and your feedback. We are delighted that you had a terrific experience and that our colleagues were professional, caring and made you feel comfortable and at home. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We have had the pleasure of staying at this hotel three times, each time taking advantage of convention-related discounted rates. Otherwise, it is very pricey to our budget. Great location, especilaly if you have sometihing at Hynes Center since you can walk thru the inside shopping halls to Hynes, the Sheraton Boston, and even as far as the Westin Copley, going thru the Copley Square Mall. A block away from Newbury Street shopping, and walkable even to Fenway Park. A new Bar Boulud is going in, which should be a nice addition. We were fans of L'Espalier, also in the hotel, before it moved here, but have drifted away from it in the new space. The rooms are very nice; a little wider than most upper-end hotels; the bathroom was top shelf with both bathtub and walk-in shower. The staff was cordial and accommodating. Very comfortable sleeping. The downstairs bar was only open until 10:30, which was thought was a little odd....seems a bit early to close with a series of convention professionals who know each other eager to use it. So if you can get a discounted rate, or for those without budget concerns, an excellent place to stay in a great location.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Service
Thank Conseiller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

Thank you for selecting Mandarin Oriental, Boston for your recent convention trip and for taking the time to share your comments. We are very pleased you were able to take advantage of our convenient location attached to Copley Place Mall, the Prudential Center and Hynes Convention Center. We are also delighted that you had a relaxing night’s sleep and enjoyed our spacious guestrooms and accommodating staff. Bar Boulud, Boston will open this September, we do hope you will have a chance to experience it during your fourth stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

I have been partial to Ritz, but I will look for Mandarin Oriental henceforth. The service was way above excellent. The room and amenities were quite good but the staff is just superb.

All of the light controls being right at the door is a great innovation.



  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Mandarin Oriental, Boston would be delighted to welcome you back. We are thrilled that our colleagues were able to provide you with the 5-star luxury service we strive for, and that you enjoyed our guestrooms, amenities and our new light control system. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel and in a great urban location in Boston. The staff treat everyone like visiting dignitaries. The rooms are comfortable, clean and relaxing. Being so close to Newbury Street and all off the great restaurants in the area is a plus.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoxboroTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Thank you for selecting Mandarin Oriental, Boston for your recent business trip. We could not be happier that our team was able to extend a warm royal welcome and superior service. We are delighted that you enjoyed our beautiful hotel, relaxing guestrooms and our convenient location in the heart of Back Bay, steps away from boutique shopping and dining on Newbury Street.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

One of the finest hotels in Boston to which I keep returning each time in Boston (typically 1-3 times a year). The rooms are well appointed. The beds are sleep inducing. The staff friendly though inconsistent even amongst all the Mandarin Orientals in the country. If I had to rank the MO's in the US (that I have tried):
1. New York City (somehow this site has captured that oriental hospitality missing at most of their other sites)
2. San Francisco
3. Boston
4. Washington, DC

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DNARNA2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2014

Mandarin Oriental, Boston is always excited to welcome back our loyal guests. We are delighted to hear that you had a restful night’s sleep in your guestroom and found our colleagues to be friendly. We always appreciate feedback from guests who experience our other properties around the world. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews