We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing property!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Boston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Ranked #13 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing property!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

I love staying at the Boston Mandarin! It is an oasis of luxury with predictable high quality service. The staff are polite and attentive, and always welcoming. The rooms are well appointed. And I particularly like the packing bench in the closets. So convenient and civilized! The yoga mats and umbrellas are a nice touch. And the turned down beds are amazingly comfortable. I also very much appreciate the complementary welcome drink and chocolates when I arrive. There are few things, though, that require management attention. The electronic lighting control is a little confusing and not so user friendly. Lights went off and it wasn't super straightforward to figure out how to turn them back on. Also, the hot water in the main bathroom vanity takes a long time to heat, even at non-peak hours. This happened during my prior stay too. So give it a good five minutes before you really need to use it....The shower heated up quickly though. Overall, I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QualityCompass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    88
    42
    9
    8
See reviews for
126
190
39
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Checkin was very efficient. In addition to getting the basic process done, i was also asked about newspaper in the morning and wake up time as i was checking in at 10pm. The hotel offers a complimentary welcome drink which is a nice touch - i asked for a glass of skim milk - they sent it to me along with some complimentary cookies.

The room is spacious with good closet space, nice and comfortable king bed, TV with the latest technology (picture quality was fabulous), nice couch and desk with two chairs. Room has state of the art light dimming / off / on technology. Bathroom is spacious with separate tub and shower, separate toilet with door as well as large countertop with single sink and quality toiletries - the set of toiletries was full (more than what i normally see in hotels).

Hotel is well located with several nearby restaurants and bars - and in the evening this neighborhood was bustling with activity.

Service is very good: I had a package delivered to me and it was promptly brought upto my room. The ringer on the phone in the room was low and so i did not hear the wake up call. Someone came up and knocked on the door to make sure i woke up!

Room service was very efficient and friendly. Brought things in and cleared it very smoothly and with a smile. Likewise breakfast was also very efficient with coffee being replenished regularly. I was surprised they did not have a buffet but did not mind it since the menu had all regular breakfast items. My guest wanted a soy latte and it was instantly delivered.

When i was leaving in the morning it was raining, the doorman instantly produced an umbrella for me to use for the day even before i could think of asking for it.

My only compliant is that they charge for wifii. In today's world wifii should be part and parcel of the hotel offering. I hope that mandarin oriental fixes this promptly. In Asia they offer wifii for free - time to do the same in the United States as well.

Room Tip: Executive rooms were spacious - dont know about other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wings_Wheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Dear Wings_Wheels,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your business trip in June. We are delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations with our personalized welcome experience along with the luxury five-star service we strive for. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed your guestroom along with all of the hotel amenities. Mandarin Oriental, Boston does provide our guests with some of the fastest Internet service in the city, with speeds up to 1Gbps. Thank you again for your feedback, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I recently had my first "staycation" experience and decided to spend it on the full day "Boston Breather" spa experience at the Mandarin Oriental Spa. It was 7 hours of full bliss. My appointment started early in the day so I had the entire water facilities to myself, which include a warm soaking tub and eucalyptus steam room. The service providers were friendly professional and polite. Dina was a wonderful massage therapist and Pheerada was such a gem of a person who provided the most indulgent pedicure I have ever experienced. The full day was a bit costly but it was worth it for the luxury.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for celebrating your “staycation” at The Spa at Mandarin Oriental, Boston. We are delighted that you enjoyed our luxurious thermal experience facilities and found your “Boston Breather” experience to be absolutely blissful. We are pleased to hear our colleagues were friendly, professional and polite. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we do hope to see you soon for another day of calming relaxation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Loved this hotel; all the staff is eager to help and assist with any request; they managed to book me a table at a very popular restaurant within two minutes. Beautiful rooms with lots of space. The downside is that you still need to pay for wifi.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
On behalf of Mandarin Oriental, Boston we would like to thank you for your kind review regarding your recent business trip. We are delighted that you loved our hotel and that you enjoyed our beautiful and spacious guestrooms. We are also pleased that our colleagues were eager to assist you with making a restaurant reservation in our convenient Back Bay neighborhood.

We appreciate your feedback regarding our Wi-Fi internet. Mandarin Oriental, Boston does offer some of the fastest internet in the city, featuring 1GBps shared bandwidth. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I went to the Mandarin Oriental in Boston in May 2014.

I love it there. The atmosphere, people, and food are excellent!!

We sat at the bar (M Bar & Lounge) and had great service and the bar tender was very friendly and attentive even though she was short staffed by an unexpected large party that came in.

We tried the steamed pork dumplings and the MAINE PEEKYTOE CRAB and it was delicious.

I will keep going back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Mandarin Oriental, Boston is delighted you enjoyed the atmosphere, people and food at M Bar & Lounge. We will be sure to share your kind feedback with the chef! We can’t wait to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Best hotel in Boston, large rooms, very clean and comfortable. Service is excellent , location is best in back bay. The concierge will get you into any restaurant in the city, free car service is a great bonus!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonescrew4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you experienced excellent service from our colleagues and found our guestrooms to be spacious and comfortable. Our convenient location in Boston’s Back Bay provides our guests with multiple restaurant options, all within walking distance. We are pleased you enjoyed our concierge recommendation. The new “green” electric Tesla Model S is a brand new addition to Mandarin Oriental, Boston, we are thrilled you enjoyed the ride. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I've stayed at the Mandarin Oriental Boston several times over the last few years. The rooms and the staff are exceptional and make any other hotel that I've tried in the area pale in comparison. The rooms are very comfortable and clean, and the housekeeping staff is excellent. The front desk couldn't be more accommodating as well as the front door staff and car service. There are no negatives, they just get better and better!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
We are always delighted to hear from our returning guests and are honored to be considered one of your favorite hotels. We are so pleased you experienced excellent and accommodating service from our housekeeping and arrival experience colleagues, and found our guestrooms to be spacious and comfortable. We look forward to continuing to exceed your expectations during your future visits with Mandarin Oriental, Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,233 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,223 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Boston

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Address: 776 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02199-7841
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Boston
#4 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Spa Hotel in Boston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#10 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#11 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, luxurious hotel, Mandarin Oriental, Boston combines classic New England elegance with refined Oriental touches to create one of the most distinctive hospitality experiences in the region. Awarded both Forbes Five-Stars and AAA Five-Diamonds, Mandarin Oriental, Boston features 148 guestrooms and suites over 14 floors, delighting its guests with the finest facilities and service, innovative dining experiences and an unparalleled holistic Five-Star awarded spa. A short, 15-minute drive to Logan International Airport, Mandarin Oriental, Boston connects guests to the city's finest shopping, cultural venues and business institutions from its prime location in the heart of the chic Back Bay on Boylston Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Boston Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing