We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, as always”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Ranked #9 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Once again a perfect short stay of 5 nights in our preferred Boston Hotel. Service, friendliness of staff and the room were great as always. Dominik Reiner from the MO in Munich is the new Hotel Manager. In our impression he further improved the service quality. Finally and long overdue WIFI is free of charge. So absolutely nothing to complain. This hotel will please even the most discerning traveler, but be prepared to pay big bucks since it does not come cheap.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YoshiDus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Mandarin Oriental, Boston truly appreciates your feedback and we are honored to be your preferred Boston Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the friendliness of our service, our guestrooms and the high-speed Wi-Fi Internet. We always enjoy hearing from our guests when they experience the five-star level of service that our team strives for. Dominik is indeed a fantastic addition to our team. Please be sure to visit us again soon and thank you again for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

411 - 417 of 718 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

I've found it. I'm done. I walked into the Mandarin Oriental Boston for the first time and was greeted by name and my contract was waiting for me at the counter before I got from the revolving doors. The guy at the front desk offered to walk me up to my room when I told him it was my first visit to the hotel. The room is beautiful and luxurious plus they have a dental kit, sewing kit, shaving kit, and other little amenities. There was also a handwritten note with a brownie, bottle of water and apples waiting for me. Probably the most luxurious and service-oriented hotel I stayed in which is shocking given the price which does not even compare to what you'd spend for hotels of this caliber in NYC or even Chicago.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Carmen, thank you so much for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent business trip to Mandarin Oriental, Boston. We are simply delighted to learn that you enjoyed our arrival experience, personalized welcome and your guestroom amenities. It is our mission to truly delight and satisfy our guests. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time your business or leisure travels bring you back to Boston, hopefully it is soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Last January, I had to go to Boston to meet with clients and, based on former experience with the MO Brand decided to stay for the first time at their Boston property. That was probably the best decision of the entire trip! January is not necessarily the best of months to visit the North East USA shore but the hotel more than made up for my choice of dates. The location is just fantastic! best shops and restaurants on the doorstep, close to the station (I was coming from NY with the bullet train) and seconds away from the Charles River and its pathways, ideal for a runner like me! The gym is well equipped with Technogym and even as a TRX. The room was enormous, with a fantastic bathroom which was larger by itself than some of the rooms I stayed in at other hotels. The internet is a dream as the connection allows for 6 devices to be connected at once, instead of having to log in and out or ask for 3 different passwords (laptop, iPad and smartphone). The staff was a delight to interact with and service was seconds away without being intrusive. The blond Lady at the Concierge desk was particularly helpful with a change I had to make with my train booking: I asked if it could be changed and left a second to get a coffee, while she was checking. In a matter of minutes (I was still at the bar), I got a confirmation of my new booking on my smartphone, with new timings and no extra cost, and a printed copy was waiting for me at the desk. The check-out is great! instead of asking me if i had the peanuts and a beer last night, they just thanked me for my stay, bid me farewell and a good trip and sent the invoice by e-mail as I was stepping out of the hotel. I will definitely stay again and would recommend to anybody who is looking for a top quality hotel in Boston.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the street are luminous, helped by the fact that there is no direct vis a vis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregorio72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words following your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Boston. We are very pleased to know that you had an enjoyable and memorable experience in January and we are delighted that you enjoyed our location, large guestrooms and speedy internet. We are also very happy that our concierge team was able to assist you with your travel plan changes efficiently and effectively. It is Mandarin Oriental's mission is to truly delight and satisfy our guests and your feedback has been an integral contribution to our goals. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are visiting from New York.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We regularly stay at the Mandarin when we visit our daughter at Boston University. We have stayed at a number of hotels there and the MO is by far our favorite. The staff is so welcoming that we immediately feel like we are at our home away from home. They are so accommodating to our small dog and to us in every way. The food is very good from Asana, the M Bar, and room service. Housekeeping is excellent and we always enjoy our time at the spa. Service overall is impeccable. Definitely recommend

Room Tip: Decide whether to have a residential/park view or city view. I prefer the quieter residential side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. Mandarin Oriental, Boston is honored to be considered your favorite Boston hotel and your home away from home while visiting your daughter at BU. On behalf of the entire team we love having the whole family stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoy our cuisine, The Spa and find our service levels impeccable. Upon your next visit we will be sure you are able to enjoy the quieter more residential side of the hotel. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

One of the best high end hotels we have stayed in. Service and rooms were impeccable. Hot welcome tea upon arrival was a nice touch. Personal guide to your room upon arrival was nice and only as evasive as you wish. Rooms are a very nice size and very comfortable. 5 star all the way!! I highly recommend.

Room Tip: No need for a suite. Basic rooms are large enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMacallan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Mandarin Oriental, Boston truly appreciates your feedback and we are honored that you consider us one of your favorite high-end hotels. We are delighted that you enjoyed our personalized welcome experience, the welcome tea and your personal escort up to your guestroom. We always enjoy hearing from our guests when they experience the five-star level of service that we strive for. Please be sure to visit us again soon and thank you again for your kind words and recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

I am a regular visitor to Boston and have stayed in most, if not all, of the major 5 star hotels in the city. Judging by the comfort and size of the rooms, the level of service and the quality of the food, this place is the best. it also benefits from a direct connection to the prudential center/copley plaza malls which makes life easy on a bad weather day. It is also perfectly located with Newbury street and Boston common all within walking distance. If you are here on a Sunday , then the Brunch is not to be missed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarek_Aggad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Mandarin Oriental, Boston is delighted to be considered one of your hotel “personal bests.” We are so glad that you enjoyed the comfort and size of the guestrooms, the 5-star quality service we strive for, our convenient Back Bay location and our delicious brunch menu. We truly appreciate your feedback and we do hope you continue to frequent Mandarin Oriental, Boston. If you have not tried it yet, may we suggest the Asana Burger on the Sunday Brunch Menu, it is a chef favorite!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights in December 2013. From the moment you walk in the door you are treated like a part of the family. From check in, bell hop and concierge everything was perfect. We were on the 7 th floor overlooking the street and shops below. The room was huge, well decorated and had a warm comfortable feel about it. We Ike to Jennifer the concierge who was very helpful and gave us ideas of where to go and which restaurants to eat it. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to return one day.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank dpjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for selecting Mandarin Oriental, Boston for your December visit and for taking the time to share your comments. We could not be happier that our team was able to extend a warm family welcome and that Jennifer was able to provide you with some helpful neighborhood and restaurant recommendations. We truly appreciate your feedback and do hope you get to return to Boston again soon We always look forward to welcoming back our family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,959 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,412 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Boston

Address: 776 Boylston Street, Boston, MA 02199-7841
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Boston
#4 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Spa Hotel in Boston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#11 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $515 - $962 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, luxurious hotel, Mandarin Oriental, Boston combines classic New England elegance with refined Oriental touches to create one of the most distinctive hospitality experiences in the region. Awarded both Forbes Five-Stars and AAA Five-Diamonds, Mandarin Oriental, Boston features 148 guestrooms and suites over 14 floors, delighting its guests with the finest facilities and service, innovative dining experiences and an unparalleled holistic Five-Star awarded spa. A short, 15-minute drive to Logan International Airport, Mandarin Oriental, Boston connects guests to the city's finest shopping, cultural venues and business institutions from its prime location in the heart of the chic Back Bay on Boylston Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Prestigia, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Boston Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing