We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as last time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Ranked #10 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not as good as last time”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a very good hotel, and broadly serves its purpose as a luxury hotel. However, it seems to lack the x-factor. This is the second time we stayed here, and both times have been satisfactory, but I don't know if it's worth staying here again. There is no one big thing that is wrong with the place, but a few small hiccups add up:

1. When we arrived, they told us they had no record of us ever staying there, despite the fact that last time (September 2011) they had forgotten to load our suitcases into the car before we left. When we got home we discovered they were missing...They did send a driver to bring them back, but the whole situation left a bit of a sour taste.

2. The halls smell like smoke. The rooms seem to be ok, but it doesn't inspire the greatest sense of luxury, or even calm, when you arrive at your floor and are met with an unpleasant smell that seems to be embedded in the carpets and walls.

3. There was a yappy dog in the room next to ours the whole length of our stay. We saw no apparent attempts to resolve this.

4. The fois gras starter at Asana was generally sub par

One good thing that wasn't marred by any of the above was the spa. The service was great and the facilities were peaceful and clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eej84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear eej84,

Thank you for taking a moment to post about your experiences with us at Mandarin Oriental, Boston. We are sorry to hear that your stays did not meet your expectations. We do value the feedback so that we can improve services for our guests. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your remarks further so that we can address the issues you experienced during your stays. We hope that you will reach out to us directly at mobos-socialmedia@mohg.com.

All the best,

Alain Negueloua
General Manager of Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    90
    45
    9
    8
See reviews for
131
200
41
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I am a little late writing this review seeing as we travelled there abck in May 2012 so I will be brief: Nice lobby, good restaurant, great staff, nice room but lousy location and views. I should have done more research before picking the MO as we prefer to be near water and this hotel is more in the downtown shopping district. Our room had a wonderful view of a parking lot... still a quality property bit just not for us on this trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear KevinLisa,

We appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay with us at Mandarin Oriental, Boston. While we are delighted to hear that your experience was pleasant overall, we apologize that the location did not meet your preference for water views. In addition to our rooms with residential views, we also offer guest rooms overlooking our charming Back Bay neighborhood. We hope that we are able to have the pleasure of your company again in the future so you can experience a room with a different view.

All the best,

Alain Negueloua
General Manager of Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed at the Mandarin Oriental in Boston in August. We had a suite with an adjoining twin room for the children. It was really really lovely. The suite had a modern bedroon and bathroom and a large sitting room where you could sit and plan your day or relax after walking the Freedon Trail. We had room service one night which was excellent.
All of the staff at the hotel that we met were helpful and nice . Its one of those hotels where you would go back to visit Boston just to stay at the hotel.
We walked to the centre of Boston quite easily each day and evening.
Overall I would recomend this hotel for family's, or couples or if you are away on business.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Geraldine M,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay with us over the summer. We are especially pleased to hear that your family’s experience was memorable and we hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the future.

All the best,

Alain Negueloua
General Manager of Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I'm a fan. This hotel has all of the features one would expect from a 5 star hotel: beautiful rooms, a great spa and gym facility, efficient and discreet service....Our room was very spacious, with a good sized walk-in closet, and a separate seating area. The bathroom was beautifully appointed, and was loaded with amenities. The gym, which is connected to the Spa facility, is equipped with good modern equipment, including a Pilates reformer and Kinetic wall. One can use the R&R facilities (steam, sauna, jacuzzi...) after the work-out, and there are separate facilities for men and women. I'd highly recommend booking spa treatements well in advance of arrival date, as the spa is really top shelf and tends to be in constant demand. I called a week ahead and had some trouble get a slot for a massage! This being said, it was well worth it. On the food and beverage side....breakfast at Asana is good - a bit on the pricey side but very tasty. The bar is an issue - it tends to fill up with a yuppie crowd and there's no where to sit really and have a drink. Trying to get a drink at the bar is impossible, as the bartenders act as if they were working in a yuppie bar, so you don't exist until direct eye contact is made that lasts for more than 3 seconds. There are two other restaurants "in" the hotel, but one cannot charge meals to the room in these. The hotel lifts stop directly in front of these eateries, and as the concierge suggested either one for a light dinner, we simply assumed that a room number and signature would be acceptable....not the case, which was somewhat embarrassing. Service at the hotel was fine -- check-in was particularly good. In the Boston context, this hotel shines, as there is a real dearth of good hotels in the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voyageur à paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear voyageur a paris,

Thank you very much for taking a moment to write about your time with us at Mandarin Oriental, Boston. We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant experience overall. Additionally, we appreciate the commentary about your experience at M Bar & Lounge, as we are continuously looking for ways in which we can improve services for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to Boston in the future.

All the best,

Alain Negueloua
General Manager of Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I brought my my girlfriend here as a surprise after a nice dinner in Boston. I was able to check into the room early and set everything up for later. Everything about the experience was excellent, we both had a great time. The room was absolutely gorgeous and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThatIsCheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear ThatIsCheese,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Boston earlier this year. We are pleased to hear that you and your girlfriend enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,

Alain Negueloua
General Manager of Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with a friend in October 2012. This is our second visit, we gave them a second chance which is all I will say about the first visit. The hotel is beautiful as is the food but the service is appalling. Forgotten breakfast orders, plenty of apologies and promises about not so clean rooms but the piece de resistance was a hypo allergenic duvet which consisted of an old throw. This was pointed out in the morning only to be replaced with a blanket. Come on, go out and buy a duvet in Marshall's. even the holiday inn has these types of duvet for feather allergies. Badly handled and we will never return to this hotel. Avoid at all costs and go to the four seasons. They take the time to train their staff.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chanelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear chanelle d,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us at Mandarin Oriental, Boston. We sincerely apologize that your stays did not meet the standards that we endeavor to provide to each of our guests.

It is our understanding that our Front Office Manager was in touch with your travel companion during your stay and as a result of their conversation, our Resident Manager has attempted to make contact several times without success. Naturally, we remain anxious to connect with you as soon as possible. Please reach out to us directly at mobos-socialmedia@mohg.com with your telephone number since our Resident Manager would like to speak with you personally to resolve this matter.

All the best,

Alain Negueloua
General Manager of Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Rooms are sensational, service is exeptional and you can't beat the location. My wife and I stay at the Mandarin Boston every year for our anniversary, it's alway have a fantastic stay. My wife raves about the Spa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Roy L,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stays with us at Mandarin Oriental, Boston. We are delighted to hear that you and your wife join us each year in honor of your anniversary. We look forward to helping you celebrate many more years of happiness and wedded bliss.

All the best,

Alain Negueloua
General Manager of Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,285 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
1,851 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,361 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Boston

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Address: 776 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02199-7841
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Boston
#4 Spa Hotel in Boston
#4 Business Hotel in Boston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#8 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#11 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, luxurious hotel, Mandarin Oriental, Boston combines classic New England elegance with refined Oriental touches to create one of the most distinctive hospitality experiences in the region. Awarded both Forbes Five-Stars and AAA Five-Diamonds, Mandarin Oriental, Boston features 148 guestrooms and suites over 14 floors, delighting its guests with the finest facilities and service, innovative dining experiences and an unparalleled holistic Five-Star awarded spa. A short, 15-minute drive to Logan International Airport, Mandarin Oriental, Boston connects guests to the city's finest shopping, cultural venues and business institutions from its prime location in the heart of the chic Back Bay on Boylston Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Prestigia, HotelPower, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Boston Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing