We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Nearby Hotels
$348
$326
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$349
$314
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$299
$254
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$359
Fairmont.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Omni Parker House(Boston)
$323
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$328
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$307
$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$288
InterContinental
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$386
$356
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (764)
Filter reviews
764 results
Traveler rating
598
98
50
10
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
598
98
50
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbar bouludboylston streetbay roomapple storefour seasonsroom servicehouse carluxury hotelsteam roomwalk in closetrain showerprudential mallin room diningperfect hotelconcierge desklocation is greatspa
Filter
Updating list...
542 - 547 of 764 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed at the Mandarin Oriental in Boston in August. We had a suite with an adjoining twin room for the children. It was really really lovely. The suite had a modern bedroon and bathroom and a large sitting room where you could sit and plan your day or relax after walking the Freedon Trail. We had room service one night which was excellent.
All of the staff at the hotel that we met were helpful and nice . Its one of those hotels where you would go back to visit Boston just to stay at the hotel.
We walked to the centre of Boston quite easily each day and evening.
Overall I would recomend this hotel for family's, or couples or if you are away on business.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Geraldine M,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay with us over the summer. We are especially pleased to hear that your family’s experience was memorable and we hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the future.

All the best,

Alain Negueloua
General Manager of Mandarin Oriental, Boston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I'm a fan. This hotel has all of the features one would expect from a 5 star hotel: beautiful rooms, a great spa and gym facility, efficient and discreet service....Our room was very spacious, with a good sized walk-in closet, and a separate seating area. The bathroom was beautifully appointed, and was loaded with amenities. The gym, which is connected to the Spa facility, is equipped with good modern equipment, including a Pilates reformer and Kinetic wall. One can use the R&R facilities (steam, sauna, jacuzzi...) after the work-out, and there are separate facilities for men and women. I'd highly recommend booking spa treatements well in advance of arrival date, as the spa is really top shelf and tends to be in constant demand. I called a week ahead and had some trouble get a slot for a massage! This being said, it was well worth it. On the food and beverage side....breakfast at Asana is good - a bit on the pricey side but very tasty. The bar is an issue - it tends to fill up with a yuppie crowd and there's no where to sit really and have a drink. Trying to get a drink at the bar is impossible, as the bartenders act as if they were working in a yuppie bar, so you don't exist until direct eye contact is made that lasts for more than 3 seconds. There are two other restaurants "in" the hotel, but one cannot charge meals to the room in these. The hotel lifts stop directly in front of these eateries, and as the concierge suggested either one for a light dinner, we simply assumed that a room number and signature would be acceptable....not the case, which was somewhat embarrassing. Service at the hotel was fine -- check-in was particularly good. In the Boston context, this hotel shines, as there is a real dearth of good hotels in the city.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank voyageur à paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear voyageur a paris,

Thank you very much for taking a moment to write about your time with us at Mandarin Oriental, Boston. We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant experience overall. Additionally, we appreciate the commentary about your experience at M Bar & Lounge, as we are continuously looking for ways in which we can improve services for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to Boston in the future.

All the best,

Alain Negueloua
General Manager of Mandarin Oriental, Boston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I brought my my girlfriend here as a surprise after a nice dinner in Boston. I was able to check into the room early and set everything up for later. Everything about the experience was excellent, we both had a great time. The room was absolutely gorgeous and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThatIsCheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear ThatIsCheese,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Boston earlier this year. We are pleased to hear that you and your girlfriend enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,

Alain Negueloua
General Manager of Mandarin Oriental, Boston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with a friend in October 2012. This is our second visit, we gave them a second chance which is all I will say about the first visit. The hotel is beautiful as is the food but the service is appalling. Forgotten breakfast orders, plenty of apologies and promises about not so clean rooms but the piece de resistance was a hypo allergenic duvet which consisted of an old throw. This was pointed out in the morning only to be replaced with a blanket. Come on, go out and buy a duvet in Marshall's. even the holiday inn has these types of duvet for feather allergies. Badly handled and we will never return to this hotel. Avoid at all costs and go to the four seasons. They take the time to train their staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chanelle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Dear chanelle d,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us at Mandarin Oriental, Boston. We sincerely apologize that your stays did not meet the standards that we endeavor to provide to each of our guests.

It is our understanding that our Front Office Manager was in touch with your travel companion during your stay and as a result of their conversation, our Resident Manager has attempted to make contact several times without success. Naturally, we remain anxious to connect with you as soon as possible. Please reach out to us directly at mobos-socialmedia@mohg.com with your telephone number since our Resident Manager would like to speak with you personally to resolve this matter.

All the best,

Alain Negueloua
General Manager of Mandarin Oriental, Boston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Rooms are sensational, service is exeptional and you can't beat the location. My wife and I stay at the Mandarin Boston every year for our anniversary, it's alway have a fantastic stay. My wife raves about the Spa.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear Roy L,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stays with us at Mandarin Oriental, Boston. We are delighted to hear that you and your wife join us each year in honor of your anniversary. We look forward to helping you celebrate many more years of happiness and wedded bliss.

All the best,

Alain Negueloua
General Manager of Mandarin Oriental, Boston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews