We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fiasco.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My colleague and I had a conference in September here and we arrived at the hotel to check in at 10:30 pm. We were given a handicap room with a king sized bed. I called the desk and we were told that all the rooms were booked, but they gave us a roll-away bed. The remote for the tv didn't work, so we called for batteries and they said that that engineering would bring them up. The next morning, my colleague took a shower first and when she came out she commented that the floor outside the shower was wet and she put another mat down. When I finished with my shower, the entire bathroom was flooded. I called down to the desk immediately and someone was sent up to check out the flood of water that was seeping under the bathroom door and into the carpeted area. Housekeeping arrived with 2 towels and I mentioned that they would need a mop. The first person to arrive commented that this might be the call he received about a leak downstairs. We were not able to finish getting ready for our conference in the room, btw. the people and the water. We brought our luggage down to the front desk to check out before the conference and the attendant stated that he could have our luggage placed in our car for us. I thought, "This is a reputable hotel, sure." After the conference we had our car brought to us, tipped the valet and drove down to Marshalls to do some shopping. I opened the trunk to put items from the conference into it and the luggage was not there!!! I called the Mandarin and asked to speak with the Manager who needed a description of our luggage. Luckily, he found it and I told him to bring it to us, which he did. He gave me his card and offered to upgrade me the next time I returned. I will not be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear SallyL,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at Mandarin Oriental, Boston. We are deeply sorry that your experience did not meet your standards or those that we strive to provide to each of our guests. We have reached out to you privately and hope that you will contact us, as we would appreciate the opportunity to discuss the issues you experienced during your stay and welcome you back as our guest with the hopes of restoring your confidence in Mandarin Oriental, Boston.

All the best,

Alain Negueloua
General Manager of Mandarin Oriental, Boston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (725)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

521 - 527 of 725 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

If you have experienced the Asian culture first hand you will love this hotel. We only spent time at a special banquet but every moment was consistent with our time at the Ritz in Beijing. Their staff was professional, attentive and very well trained in the subtleties of Asian service.
The ambiance duplicates the Ritz in both Beijing an Shanghai.
The banquet food, from the appetizer right through desert was extraordinary. Each course was better than its predecessor.

This hotel has brought a truly unique experience to Boston. I cannot wait to go back for dinner as a couple. This evening was special in every way possible.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Every minute at the Mandarin Oriental in Boston was amazing! The service was superb from the concierge greeting us at the car and helping us check in to every staff member we met throughout the hotel. They even surprised me with a birthday treat on my birthday! The room was modern, clean, comfortable, and quiet. The location was very convenient as it was connected to the prudential center and walking distance to Copley place and newbury street shopping. We had a great time and will return to the mandarin oriental any time we are in Boston and probably to many of their other locations!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willowvacay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in September and had an amazing time. Truly the staff are the best thing about this hotel, each and every member of staff are helpful, friendly and attentive, a real asset to a great hotel. Special mention to our Concierge Kimberley who was outstanding, also Adam Burke and Matthew Collins on the front desk and not forgetting Cecilia who kept our room spotless, from the guys on the door to the staff on the bar and restaurant and the spa thank you for making our trip so special! Our room was quiet which was great after a long journey and our bathroom spacious. The Hotel is in a fantastic and safe location, easy walking distance to great restaurants and bars and a shopping mall almost on your doorstep! We had a wonderful stay and really look forward to going back to Boston and the Mandarin Oriental Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brocqie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear brocqie,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us at Mandarin Oriental, Boston. We are especially pleased to hear that your experience with us was most memorable. We hope to have the pleasure of your company again in the future.

All the best,

Alain Negueloua
General Manager of Mandarin Oriental, Boston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed for a week at this hotel. The location is great right in the centre of Boylston St, 2 mins walk from the Prudential centre for shopping and 5 mins walk to Newbury St for all the high end shops. Our room was superb, very spacious, walk in wardrobe , extensive bathroom and very quiet. Staff were all excellent and very attentive. We chose bed and breakfast which you need to be aware carries a daily $30 pp limit, which is actually quite easy to exceed. Just need to be aware as this is not clear on the web-site. Having said that the breakfast menu for me was fine , but my wife found little in terms of low fat healthy options to choose.

Other than that a great hotel in a fabulous location, with very proefssional and friendly staff, nothing to fault here , and will definitely return.

Room Tip: We chose a room on the upper floor which was quiet and offered a nice view over Boylson St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SK1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

After an unfortunate encounter with the dreadful Hyatt Harbourside at Logan Airport, I moved to the Mandarin. It exceeded expectations on every level. Rooms and service consistent with the quality of this excellent brand and the best of Asia. Clearly the Mandarin Oriental ranks as the best five star hotel in Boston

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arrowby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was our 5th year anniversary and we decided to return to the city where we met for the weekend. While Boston is no Paris, where we wanted to go but we felt being away from or bringing our two and three year old would spoil the fun, we had a great time. The service at the Oriental was great. The rooms spacious and the shower is OUTSTANDING. While things are not perfect - no coffee in the room, no free wifi, my name is not Ms. Weinstein - they are very good. We did the signature service at the spa and had a great time. The Mandarin is our new favorite hotel in Boston.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penndoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#5 of 84 in Boston
1,968 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,427 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Boston

Address: 776 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02199-7841
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Boston
#4 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Spa Hotel in Boston
#6 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#11 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $498 - $897 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, luxurious hotel, Mandarin Oriental, Boston combines classic New England elegance with refined Oriental touches to create one of the most distinctive hospitality experiences in the region. Awarded both Forbes Five-Stars and AAA Five-Diamonds, Mandarin Oriental, Boston features 148 guestrooms and suites over 14 floors, delighting its guests with the finest facilities and service, innovative dining experiences and an unparalleled holistic Five-Star awarded spa. A short, 15-minute drive to Logan International Airport, Mandarin Oriental, Boston connects guests to the city's finest shopping, cultural venues and business institutions from its prime location in the heart of the chic Back Bay on Boylston Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Prestigia, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Boston Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing