We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - High Quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Ranked #12 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great location - High Quality”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed for a week at this hotel. The location is great right in the centre of Boylston St, 2 mins walk from the Prudential centre for shopping and 5 mins walk to Newbury St for all the high end shops. Our room was superb, very spacious, walk in wardrobe , extensive bathroom and very quiet. Staff were all excellent and very attentive. We chose bed and breakfast which you need to be aware carries a daily $30 pp limit, which is actually quite easy to exceed. Just need to be aware as this is not clear on the web-site. Having said that the breakfast menu for me was fine , but my wife found little in terms of low fat healthy options to choose.

Other than that a great hotel in a fabulous location, with very proefssional and friendly staff, nothing to fault here , and will definitely return.

Room Tip: We chose a room on the upper floor which was quiet and offered a nice view over Boylson St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SK1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    90
    45
    9
    8
See reviews for
130
200
41
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

After an unfortunate encounter with the dreadful Hyatt Harbourside at Logan Airport, I moved to the Mandarin. It exceeded expectations on every level. Rooms and service consistent with the quality of this excellent brand and the best of Asia. Clearly the Mandarin Oriental ranks as the best five star hotel in Boston

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arrowby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia Suburbs, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was our 5th year anniversary and we decided to return to the city where we met for the weekend. While Boston is no Paris, where we wanted to go but we felt being away from or bringing our two and three year old would spoil the fun, we had a great time. The service at the Oriental was great. The rooms spacious and the shower is OUTSTANDING. While things are not perfect - no coffee in the room, no free wifi, my name is not Ms. Weinstein - they are very good. We did the signature service at the spa and had a great time. The Mandarin is our new favorite hotel in Boston.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penndoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield Co CT
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

From the greeting at the front door to the quick service at reception this place was a pleasure to stay at, and i must comment on the easy access to the prudential center the shops are first class and a minute from the hotel, this location is fantastic, the room was huge and the appointments were fantastic, i even took home the soap, i never do that but it was so elegant

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We hesitated to try the MO as it is on busy Boylston Street & we feared it would be noisy. Not so. The rooms are stunning & quiet. The bathrooms are large & well equipped. The staff are friendly and very accommodating. The welcome tea is a lovely touch. I agree that the wi-fi charge is high but this seems to be increasingly common in many high end hotels. Room service is efficient and breakfast arrived within 20 minutes during our recent stay. Asana, the hotel restaurant, has a nice menu and very good food. Our car was brought up promptly when we called to request it. We were able to use the hotel car & driver to get to a wonderful North End restaurant, Tresca , on Saturday night and were spared dealing with traffic & parking frustration. As others have noted, the location is central for shopping, restaurants, theatre, etc.

Room Tip: We have stayed on the 7th & 8th floors, facing the street. Would choose these rooms again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOBostonResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Boston, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear nstearns,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Boston. We appreciate you taking the time to write about your recent experience and are thrilled to hear that your stay was a delight. We hope that we are able to welcome you back to Boston soon.

All the best,

Alain Negueloua
General Manager of Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

one night buainess trip. the rooms and large elegant and very well equipped. the bathrooms are huge with high end toileteries. service at check in and out was prompt and charming. service at breakfast ok food excellent. not cheap.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Having stayed at the Mandarin Oriental in London and finding the place rather drab, I was slightly worried about their Boston hotel UNTIL WE ARRIVED! FABULOUS! We had smashing rooms, with the most exquisite bathrooms and found the restaurant excellent. The hotel is perfectly situated for exploring Boston. The staff were extremely courteous and helpful, in every area of hotel work. We had delicious late night snacks by the bar, plates of mini spring rolls being particularly popular. I personally rate the layout, decor and facilites of this hotel as a notch up from say the Georges V in Paris. There is always a seat in the restaurant and in the bar area, even when the place is more 'buzzing'. I loved this hotel and would probably rate it as the best hotel I've stayed in. Obviously it's 'big' and has the 'business' feel as well as being delightfully comfortable....it was the perfect hotel for our family (our children are 17 and 20 years old) and we loved staying there. Would go back without hesitation. TEN OUT OF TEN. Then we moved on to Newport, then on to Chatham Cape Cod.... I must write reviews for those hotels too! (Hotel Viking, Newport 5/10. Wequasset Resort 8/10).
NB: FROM THE MANDARIN ORIENTAL HOTEL BOSTON, YOU CAN WALK UNDERCOVER. THROUGH A SHOPPING MALL, TO THE PRUDENTIAL BUILDING AND EAT IN THEIR SKY HIGH RESTAURANT WITH MAGNIFICENT VIEWS. YOU CAN ALSO HAVE A DRINK IN THE BAR MORE CHEAPLY THAN PAYING TO LOOK OUT FROM THE FLOOR BELOW. ASK CONCIERGE ABOUT THIS. :-D Happy holidays!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mishmunnypenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,282 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
1,850 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,357 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Boston

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Address: 776 Boylston St, Boston, MA 02199-7841
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Boston
#4 Business Hotel in Boston
#4 Spa Hotel in Boston
#8 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#9 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#11 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Boston 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, luxurious hotel, Mandarin Oriental, Boston combines classic New England elegance with refined Oriental touches to create one of the most distinctive hospitality experiences in the region. Awarded both Forbes Five-Stars and AAA Five-Diamonds, Mandarin Oriental, Boston features 148 guestrooms and suites over 14 floors, delighting its guests with the finest facilities and service, innovative dining experiences and an unparalleled holistic Five-Star awarded spa. A short, 15-minute drive to Logan International Airport, Mandarin Oriental, Boston connects guests to the city's finest shopping, cultural venues and business institutions from its prime location in the heart of the chic Back Bay on Boylston Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Prestigia, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Boston Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing