We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Boston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
John Jeffries House
Ranked #9 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2006

I cannot recommend highly enough the Jeffries House; staying there right now! The Red Line location does mean some transferring to get to many sites, but it is one of the first stops after the major interchange points. Rooms are well-kept, and even the smallest studio, which I have, has room enough, even with the kitchenette. Double-paned windows on the Charles River side = zero noise. Yes, the breakfast is a bit slim...but with all the good eating you're likely to do, you won't be too disappointed. The staff is attentive and excellent. A/C is very quiet (central and individually controllable), and bathroom spacious and clean, with extras of everything. A few suggestions: Avoid the expensive grocery nearby and get things either at CVS across the street, or take the delightful stroll up Charles almost to Beacon. There you will find a most delightful and well-stocked neighborhood grocery. May I also recommend the burgers at the orginal Cheers on Beacon, dinner at 75 Chestnut, and the wonderful bread and food at Panificio, just a few doors away on Charles. Boston is a wonderfully civilized place....enjoy!

Stayed: August 2006
10  Thank clvier1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 475 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2006

Stayed the nights of July 1 and 2.
We were expecting to stay until July 6th but decided to find a new place.
First it took us awhile to find the place because we were not familiar with the town, make sure you read the directions they give you, even if you get mapquest or other directions. There is also construction in the area.

Once we checked in we went to the room and I noticed that it smelled a little funny, kinda of musty. I hoped the smell would go away but it didn't. On the first night we went to pull down the bed sheets to check if they were clean and found some hair on them. We called for another set of sheets. Since there was only one person at the desk we had to go down and get the sheets then remake our own bed.

The room was decently sized for just sleeping and showering. The bathroom was tiny but enough towels were provided. The tub looked kind of old but it is an old building. The bed was very uncomfortable. It was pretty much sleeping on just a mattress with no padding. When remaking our bed we put the extra blanket under the sheet and it barely helped.

We went to the parking building down the block. It was a valet only building. My boyfriend doesn't like just leaving his car places and the place did look a little shady. So we went back to ask the lady at the front desk where another parking garage was. She said she had no idea. So we used the free wireless internet and found another one a few blocks down right by the police station. That one looked a lot safer.

We got to the "breakfast" in the morning and there was hardly anything left. We don't drink coffee so know idea how that tasted. There was some fruit and apple juice, nothing special.

While sightseeing the next day we decided we were going to switch hotels the next day. We called up the JJH and told them and they didn't even ask why we were cutting our trip short by 4 nights they just said "ok".

The location of the JJH is okay if you want to be right by the T. There are other hotels closer to the Boston common and more attractions on that side of town though. This one is okay if you plan to go to Cambridge/Harvard or the North End of Boston.

THERE IS AN ELEVATOR HERE.

We switched to the Hyatt which was MUCH MUCH nicer and exactly the same price some nights of just $10 more.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank tempra23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2006

We stayed at the hotel for 4 days over the July 4th weekend. We had a junior suite -- full size bed with kitchenette. The room was IMMACULATE as was the bathroom. The room itself was a little tight with a loveseat and a small table w/2 chairs, but we were in town to see the sights, not lounge in the room.

There was limited noise -- occasional ambulance sirens going to Mass. General Hospital (located on the other side of the "T"). But due to the holiday weekend, no traffic noise. Even on the morning of July 5th (a workday) there was no discernible noise from our 1st floor room.

Breakfast (muffins, pastry, croissants) along with coffee, juice, tea was nice, though we were longing for some protein before the end of the trip! We could have easily purchased some eggs and cooked them up in the small, clean kitchenette in our room. We were more interested in getting into the city than cooking.

A small store is located on Charles Street (adjacent to the hotel). It may be a bit pricy to some, but was perfect for our needs. We purchased fresh rye bread, some wonderful salads (included a chicken, cranberry, walnut salad) to pack up for lunch so we'd save time/money on the trip.

Beacon Hill is a lovely section of Boston that I wouldn't have sought out myself to visit (with so many other things to do in Boston, it would have fallen near the bottom of my list of "things to do".) Definitely worthwhile if you like old communities. The local museum offers walking tours a few times a week.

My only issue with our hotel room is that our towels were not replenished daily. For example, if you used a towel for a shower and still had one clean towel left, that's all you would be left. I suppose we could have mentioned something at the front desk to get this remedied, but we were always running.

One issue with the location: All the sights we wanted to see (or most of them) were on either the Green or Orange "T" line. We were across the street from the Red line. We frequently traveled 4 or 5 stops on the "T" - always with at least one change of line. Once trip was only 4 stops with 2 changes!

However, I'd stay here again as I enjoyed being in more of a neighborhood of Boston rather than in the middle of the more tourist prone areas. Overall, a great bargain in a terrific city!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank AMPY1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2006

Stayed for a week. Great room (deluxe suite) & great value. Room spotless. Maid service excellent. Continental breakfast (variery of pastries, juice & fruit) with terrific coffee, served in the relaxing Common Room with the morning paper. Can't understand other reviewers critical review of hotel & breakfast.
Location good, just across from Charles/MGH T station. Our room faced the station & a busy street junction. No noise issues.
Stroll down Charles Street & you are at Beacon Hill & Boston Common. Nice park over the highway by the river.
Definitely eat at Antonio's on Cambridge Street - great Italian food. Reserve or be prepared to queue - but the wait is well worth it. Try the Whole Food Market if self catering. Other shops also on Cambridge St.
Only drawback : T station being renovated - no escalator or lift if you are lugging heavy cases.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank PGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2006

The room looked old and smelled musty when we first entered. The mattress was stiff and the bathroom was small.The breadfast was a bit of a joke and was very limited. One gets what they pay for. It is barely okay for the money and location.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank calmkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2006

A great location and value. Rooms are very clean and very reasonably priced, especially for Boston! The staff is very friendly and the service was exceptional. The location could not be better. The hotel is right across the street from the Red Line of the T. If you are coming from the airport, just take the Silver Line to the Red Line and you'll be at the hotel in less than a half hour. Also, if you are driving into Boston, you get a discount on the parking garage across the street.

If I ever make it back to Boston, I will stay here again and not even look at other hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank spartanfan2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2006

I found out about this hotel from a travel guide book and then checked out the reviews on Trip Advisor. This hotel had some wonderful reviews, so we went ahead and booked a junior suite (one queen bed and one sofa bed) for several nights in March. We absolutely loved the place, and highly recommend it. The location was right on the edge of Beacon Hill and just opposite a subway station. The hotel had a friendly feel to it, and we loved the free coffee, tea and fruit which was available 24 hours a day in the common room. Continental breakfast was complimentary, and there was always a good selection of pastries. Our suite had a small, but functional kitchenette, and was well equipped. The staff were helpful and made us feel valued as guests. We will definitely return.

11  Thank Sally24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#48 of 84 in Boston
7,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 84 in Boston
1,084 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Jeffries House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Jeffries House

Address: 14 David G. Mugar Way, Boston, MA 02114-3203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Beacon Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: $222 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — John Jeffries House 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
John Jeffries House Hotel invites guests to experience the best that Boston has to offer. The stately red-brick building makes for a convenient base for exploring the thriving city, and when guests check in to this Beacon Hill hotel, Boston is at their fingertips. The 46 guestrooms at John Jeffries House Hotel resemble New England apartments, coupling traditional design and original detailing with modern amenities. Most rooms feature kitchenettes, allowing for extended stays at this downtown Boston hotel. Trained staff members ensure that every guest feels at home, providing a level of personalized service only found at a boutique hotel this size. In-the-know concierges, for example, can point couples to the city's most romantic date spots, or business travelers to the best cafés for getting extra work done. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your John Jeffries House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Jeffries House Hotel Boston
John Jeffries House Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing