We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great location, great night's sleep!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
John Jeffries House
Ranked #8 of 38 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
boston
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great value, great location, great night's sleep!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed here by myself for one night this past weekend. Even though I live nearby, a friend was visiting for the weekend and staying at her friend's apartment near MGH. I have always wanted to stay overnight in Boston and this was my chance! So...after gasping at the $600 price tag of the Liberty Hotel (you've got to be kidding), I remembered the John Jeffries house.

Location: Can't be beat. Right across the street from the Charles/MGH T stop for easy access all over the city. You will be right at Charles street with a number of restaurants, shops and scenic alleyways.

Room; I had a double bed, and it was large enough for me, but unless you and a partner/spouse are used to the size you might feel cramped. The was a little sitting area, a fridge, stove, microwave and some dishes for a longer stay. The bathroom was spacious, enough room for toiletries, and excellent water pressure. The bed was so comfortable, and despite being right next to the common room and on the first floor I heard no noise at night at all, slept like a baby. There were room darkening shades also.

Parking was $27 ("discounted" yes, it is cheaper than $42!) and the garage has in and out privileges which is a plus. But unless you are going outside of Boston you won't need to take the car out.

You had to ring a buzzer to be let in, and the rooms have actual keys instead of the key cards. Even though my friends "dropped me off" after our night out I would have felt perfectly safe being my myself as the T is literally across the street and even though the hotel is a little tucked away it is highly visible at the same time.

This is an affordable option in Boston, the rate was $182.00 including all taxes. I did not partake in the breakfast/coffee. I have a preference for the Back Bay area, and usually recommend people stay there, but after staying at the John Jeffries, I have a different view. This is a perfect location either for touring the city (cabs are plentiful also if the T is not your thing), or for being there for a loved one at one of the hospitals. I found history of the hotel/inn and affiliation with the Mass Eye and Ear Infirmary really interesting as well.

I would definitely stay here again for another at home getaway, and highly recommend it to others for theirs.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacationerBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    223
    43
    26
    13
See reviews for
93
168
44
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed 4 nights and found the location very convenient. Access to the T and Massachusetts General Hospital perfect for us as we were in Boston for the birth of our grandson at MGA. Very pleasant lounge room with coffee, tea and fruit available all day. Free WiFi but the signal was a bit unreliable in our room which was large and pleasant. The bed was very hard, so much so that we would most likely not visit the John Jefferies again despite the good service and excellent location. A pity, as the staff was efficient and pleasant and the location excellent for our purposes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed here for a wedding in October 2013. The price was awesome and it is in a great neighborhood (Beacon Hill) across the street from the MGH/Charles Red line T-stop. I flew into Logan and took public transportation (Silver line bus to Red line T) and got the hotel within 30 minutes of landing. It is also free to enter the transit system from Logan so that was very nice as well. I spent my two nights at the hotel out mostly and it was very easy to walk to multiple locations including the Public gardens. The rooms were small and oddly laid out (the place used to be an infirmary) but it was clean and the staff was friendly. It was fairly loud at night because of the trains passing, ambulances going to MGH and the general rowdy weekend population. It was fairly warm when I was there and there is NO AIR CONDITIONING in the rooms which was somewhat annoying. There is a small continental breakfast with coffee, muffins, juice, etc. it wasn't the greatest but it was a nice touch considering the relatively cheap room rates. Overall the place is a great value if you don't mind the noise or warmth in the summer months. You can't beat the location and the price.

Room Tip: It seemed like rooms on the lower floors were a little bit cooler in the warm weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel is centrally located in downtown Boston. I stayed in a twin room with a colleague as we were in town for a conference. We found it quite comfortable and there was plenty of room for the two of us. The bathroom was especially spacious and there was a good shower. We appreciated that coffee and fruit were always available in the lobby, even outside of breakfast hours. Make sure you bring earplugs as the hotel is right next to a large hospital. Also, the beds could have been more comfortable but were adequate, and the breakfast was a meager offering of sweet pastries. We were happy with the price for value though, and there are plenty of other places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghosttoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed three nights here and found the location ideal for exploring Boston. Charles T Station is just across the road and therefore links to the airport are excellent. The accommodation was very good. We had a clean, spacious apartment where we could self cater if we wished. Staff were very helpful and there is a lovely lounge where an adequate continental breakfast was served. Our only "problem" was noise from the road works on the busy road outside. All in all it was good value for money and the location couldn't have been better.

Room Tip: Try booking a room at the back on the Charles Street side which should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomric122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

While the price is good (for Boston) and the location is excellent, there are drawbacks. Do not count on air conditioning and open windows mean endless noise from traffic and ambulances headed to nearby hospital. Breakfast offerings are meager and full of sugar (i.e., no toast, yogurt, hot or cold food). Our suites had a kitchenette but no coffeemaker. This hotel does not offer computer for guest use. Hotel staff (with one exception) very unhelpful - we did not know there is a ramp entrance at back of hotel so we struggled up a long flight of stairs to lobby at front entrance. When we asked for help with suitcases we were told there's no one to help us. When we checked in, despite confirmation and emails from hotel manager (currently on leave) for 4 nights in a suite (1st night in suite with double bed and sofa bed, next 3 nights in suite with 2 beds), we were told our reservation was for 6 nights in suite with one double bed. The clerk haughtily informed us that all that mattered was what was in computer. After much discussion (and argument), we got back to the original 4-night reservation but were told we would have to move twice over the 4-night stay. However, they managed to keep us in second suite for last night (although we had checked out of room that morning and didn't know we could have kept our things unpacked in same room until we returned to hotel around 5pm). Our last morning there we were summoned to the asst. manager's office and treated like misbehaving children in the school principal's office. However, this meeting did end on good terms. When all is said and done, I wished we had paid more money for another hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rottmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

John Jeffries house was an excellent place to stay in Boston. The hotel is located right across the street from the MGH/Charles T station making it extremely convenient to get around Boston. I went to Boston for a conference and it only took approximately 15 minutes to get to the Conference Center in the Seaport district. It is located near Cambridge Street where there are several restaurants located. There is also a Whole Foods located nearby. They provide a very nice continental breakfast. If you have any problems about your room they are very quick to respond. All the desk clerks were very nice and helpful. This hotel is a great value and I cannot say enough about.

Room Tip: Some rooms may be too close to the street, asked which rooms may be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neko100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#56 of 83 in Boston
2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
7,420 reviews
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Jeffries House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Jeffries House

Property: John Jeffries House
Address: 14 David G. Mugar Way, Boston, MA 02114-3203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Beacon Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — John Jeffries House 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
John Jeffries House Hotel invites guests to experience the best that Boston has to offer. The stately red-brick building makes for a convenient base for exploring the thriving city, and when guests check in to this Beacon Hill hotel, Boston is at their fingertips. The 46 guestrooms at John Jeffries House Hotel resemble New England apartments, coupling traditional design and original detailing with modern amenities. Most rooms feature kitchenettes, allowing for extended stays at this downtown Boston hotel. Trained staff members ensure that every guest feels at home, providing a level of personalized service only found at a boutique hotel this size. In-the-know concierges, for example, can point couples to the city's most romantic date spots, or business travelers to the best cafés for getting extra work done. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your John Jeffries House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Jeffries House Hotel Boston
John Jeffries House Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing