We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in a good location despite a few drawbacks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
John Jeffries House
Ranked #9 of 38 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in a good location despite a few drawbacks”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel is centrally located in downtown Boston. I stayed in a twin room with a colleague as we were in town for a conference. We found it quite comfortable and there was plenty of room for the two of us. The bathroom was especially spacious and there was a good shower. We appreciated that coffee and fruit were always available in the lobby, even outside of breakfast hours. Make sure you bring earplugs as the hotel is right next to a large hospital. Also, the beds could have been more comfortable but were adequate, and the breakfast was a meager offering of sweet pastries. We were happy with the price for value though, and there are plenty of other places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghosttoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    218
    43
    26
    13
See reviews for
92
168
41
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
105 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed three nights here and found the location ideal for exploring Boston. Charles T Station is just across the road and therefore links to the airport are excellent. The accommodation was very good. We had a clean, spacious apartment where we could self cater if we wished. Staff were very helpful and there is a lovely lounge where an adequate continental breakfast was served. Our only "problem" was noise from the road works on the busy road outside. All in all it was good value for money and the location couldn't have been better.

Room Tip: Try booking a room at the back on the Charles Street side which should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomric122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

While the price is good (for Boston) and the location is excellent, there are drawbacks. Do not count on air conditioning and open windows mean endless noise from traffic and ambulances headed to nearby hospital. Breakfast offerings are meager and full of sugar (i.e., no toast, yogurt, hot or cold food). Our suites had a kitchenette but no coffeemaker. This hotel does not offer computer for guest use. Hotel staff (with one exception) very unhelpful - we did not know there is a ramp entrance at back of hotel so we struggled up a long flight of stairs to lobby at front entrance. When we asked for help with suitcases we were told there's no one to help us. When we checked in, despite confirmation and emails from hotel manager (currently on leave) for 4 nights in a suite (1st night in suite with double bed and sofa bed, next 3 nights in suite with 2 beds), we were told our reservation was for 6 nights in suite with one double bed. The clerk haughtily informed us that all that mattered was what was in computer. After much discussion (and argument), we got back to the original 4-night reservation but were told we would have to move twice over the 4-night stay. However, they managed to keep us in second suite for last night (although we had checked out of room that morning and didn't know we could have kept our things unpacked in same room until we returned to hotel around 5pm). Our last morning there we were summoned to the asst. manager's office and treated like misbehaving children in the school principal's office. However, this meeting did end on good terms. When all is said and done, I wished we had paid more money for another hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rottmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

John Jeffries house was an excellent place to stay in Boston. The hotel is located right across the street from the MGH/Charles T station making it extremely convenient to get around Boston. I went to Boston for a conference and it only took approximately 15 minutes to get to the Conference Center in the Seaport district. It is located near Cambridge Street where there are several restaurants located. There is also a Whole Foods located nearby. They provide a very nice continental breakfast. If you have any problems about your room they are very quick to respond. All the desk clerks were very nice and helpful. This hotel is a great value and I cannot say enough about.

Room Tip: Some rooms may be too close to the street, asked which rooms may be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neko100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
185 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Hotel has a simple elegance with classic wood furnishings. Kitchenettes are compact and complete. There’s a Whole Foods store a few blocks away and some épiceries even closer. The hotel’s slogan is One of Boston’s Best Kept Secrets. I don’t know how secret it is, but we felt fortunate to be staying there. It’s lovely. Continental breakfast (pastries and juice) is eaten on couches and arm chairs in a common room that feels like a parlor of a grand manor home. Front desk staff were accommodating. One negative: Although October temps were unseasonably warm, the whole building’s air conditioning had already been turned off for the winter. We opened windows and used the large fan provided to ease some of the mugginess. A note about the parking garage JJH guests get a discount on: It is valet parking only, so think through what you will take in to the hotel before you take your car to the garage. We found the John Jeffries House to be reasonably priced for the city and ideally located for walking to historic sites and Boston Common. Also, you may be wise to reserve your room there months in advance; their secret is out!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 35805Jane_H_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We were booked into the JJH by Mass General. The first room we were given was a "Standard" room. Not even kidding, there was a small kitchenette in front of the door, a strangely large closet behind the door, an adequate sized bathroom, and the main room that held a double bed, settee, TV on a small dresser and table with 2 chairs was just about 10 x 12.

The only place to walk freely was at the end of the bed where there was 2 feet of space to access the bathroom. My husband sat on the double bed which squeaked terribly and the posters threatened to topple over. The room was on the ground floor, just above and next to the sidewalk.

We decided to ask if there was anything else available. There were 2 rooms.

We saw a Junior Suite, which had the same amenities but was larger; but still had just a double bed that promised backaches in the morning.

We saw the 4th floor Deluxe Sweet, larger still with a separate bedroom - but only the same poor quality double bed as the other rooms. Still, we took it, hoping for the best.

The bed was terrible - like sleeping on a cracker. I finally gave up around 4AM. Today - 24 hours later - I am still hurting from the abuse. This one fact makes every other fact irrelevant.

The hotel was lovely, the furnishings pretty. The location was not good - between the train station, the main round-about and the ambulance route. The coffee was fine and plentiful. I believe they make an effort to be a good place to stay, but just go buy some new mattresses!!

Room Tip: If they haven't replaced mattresses yet don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaMark811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

These apartments lie near Beacon Hill, close to an underground station, several supermarkets. From here it is possible to walk to most sightseeing places in town. Our apartment was composed by one bedrooms and a dining room with a sleeping sofa (not very comfortable actually). There was a nice functional kitchenette, excellent for preparing a dinner in the evening when we were too tired to go out with the kids. The bathroom was very spacious.
The breakfast room was disappointing however: it is the large dining room in front of the reception, without adequate space for hosting seated all the guests. The best thing to do is taking breakfast in the room. However, breakfast choice is limited.
A garage is available close to the Hotel with a significant discount on rates. The car in Boston is useless.

Room Tip: Ask for the most expensive type.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#55 of 83 in Boston
1,911 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
7,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
The Boxer Boston
#23 of 83 in Boston
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Jeffries House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Jeffries House

Property: John Jeffries House
Address: 14 David G. Mugar Way, Boston, MA 02114-3203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Beacon Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — John Jeffries House 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
John Jeffries House Hotel invites guests to experience the best that Boston has to offer. The stately red-brick building makes for a convenient base for exploring the thriving city, and when guests check in to this Beacon Hill hotel, Boston is at their fingertips. The 46 guestrooms at John Jeffries House Hotel resemble New England apartments, coupling traditional design and original detailing with modern amenities. Most rooms feature kitchenettes, allowing for extended stays at this downtown Boston hotel. Trained staff members ensure that every guest feels at home, providing a level of personalized service only found at a boutique hotel this size. In-the-know concierges, for example, can point couples to the city's most romantic date spots, or business travelers to the best cafés for getting extra work done. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your John Jeffries House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Jeffries House Hotel Boston
John Jeffries House Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing