We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only place I'll stay in Boston!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
John Jeffries House
Ranked #9 of 37 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I've stayed at the John Jeffries House twice while travelling to see my son who attends UMASS. The rates are fantastic, I would say among the best in the city. The rooms are clean and well-appointed (beds are really firm, though). The hotel itself is beautiful and in an excellent location on Beacon Hill, just next to the Charles River - Beautiful grounds! It is also right across from the T and within walking distance to great shopping, restaurants and many landmarks. The only reason I didn't give this hotel an excellent rating is the staff, while not rude, do not go out of their way to be friendly. I'll be back in October!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KariLynn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 484 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

If you are looking for a good value in a good location in Boston, the John Jeffries house will deliver what you're looking for! We had a Superior Suite and enjoyed our stay. The Beacon Hill location is perfect for tourist activities, is near the T (Boston's subway), but is walkable to downtown and the harbor (about a mile). Walk up Charles street, peek in the quaint shops, and you'll be at Boston Common and the Public Garden before you know it! Or take the footbridge toward the Charles River for a nice walk or jog along the Esplanade.
The hotel staff was very nice and made accomodations for us to check-in early even though they had originally told us our room would not be available early. Our room was clean, updated, and quiet. Our room did not face the street though, which was just by luck. The pullout couch was not very comfortable, but the person sleeping in it just took the mattress off and put it on the floor, which worked out well.

Room Tip: If you definitely want a Queen size bed, choose the Junior suite. The Superior suites definitely ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LonoRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We have stayed at the JJH several times. When visiting Boston, our destinations are usually Cambridge and Boston Common area to Copley, all of which are easily accessible by the T or by walking. In fact, the Red Lines Charles/MGH T Station is steps across the street. We have always enjoyed walking down Charles St to Boston Common and the Public Gardens. The North End and Water Front areas are also an easy walk. The Staff at the JJH are very accommodating.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Let me get the admittedly minor gripes out of the way first. The beds are REALLY firm, to the point that several others commented that they were hard to sleep on. The breakfast is basically coffee, tea, juice and a selection of pastries. Frankly, I've had just as good in motels that are generally considered lower rung.
With those criticisms out of the way, the location is ideal for the 4th of July events along the Esplanade, and visiting Beacon Hill. It is within fairly easy walking distance of the Boston Common, Public Gardens, Museum of Science, etc.
The exterior is attractive and nicely landscaped. The interior is clean, secure and attractive; and there is someone at the desk 24/7. The front staff was friendly, courteous, professional and helpful. They even handled a last-minute request for early check-in with ease. We actually called with 10-minutes notice to request a check-in over 6 hours early. They got us in and acted like it was no problem at all!
The room was clean and nicely furnished/decorated, with all amenities clean and functioning. Despite the proximity to the Charles/MGH subway station, and to Mass. General Hospital; our room which faced both was quiet - except for fairly infrequent sirens.
I thought installing the TP dispenser some three feet from the commode to be odd, but we managed.
All things considered, we would gladly stay here again. Keep in mind that $160/night isn't to steep for Boston, and being literally a one-minute walk from the subway and parking garage is a nice plus. Besides, I probably don't really "need" more that a cup of coffee, muffin and newspaper for breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the building, being away from the subway and hospital are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HowlnBubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This lovely guesthouse is right in Beacon Hill. We took the subway from the airport. Right outside of the baggage pick up is a place to buy a T ticket (bus and subway). For $18 we got a 7 day pass for all bus and subway. We could easily take the silver line and then switch to the red line. The T stop is across the street from John Jeffries. There are elevators so available so suitcases are no problem. We had room 106 on the first floor. It was filled with sunlight, decorated lovely, and very clean. There is a separate bedroom, there is a sitting room with a tv, little couch, and two chairs, and a sofa table and end table. There is a little kitchen and a nice bathroom. Your will need to ask for the mattress pad on the bed. It is super hard but they will put a pad on the bed. You will need the fan to block out the ambulances going to the hospital near by. It worked and we slept fine. The people at the desk were very helpful and there was someone there all the time. There is a great Italian restaurant just about a block away called Artu. CVS and Whole Foods are both very close. Little shops are all around but shop first and then eat. The shops close between 5-7 pm and the restaurants are open later. Cheers Bar and Boston Common are close as well as Acorn Street.
If you walk over the bridge right next to John Jeffries you will be on the Esplanade. It has a great path to walk, playground, benches and it runs
along the river. Breakfast is lovely pastries, bananas or apples, plastic little containers of juice, tea and coffee. Fruit, tea, and coffee are out all the time. I would suggest they add milk, cereal, and yogurt. There are some homeless people in the area and were asking for money but I found that true all over Boston. I also found everyone from shopkeepers to people on the subway were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The basement is probably dark. Our room 106 was lovely and I loved having a sitting room and kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank McSmith4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

It was great to find fresh fruit in the lobby. They had a great supply of bananas and apples. I was also very happy to find a floor fan in the room, something I've never seen in a hotel before. I use one at home every night to block out outside noise. Since the hotel was right across the street from the train station the fan came in handy. Also the hotel staff was just wonderful. I would absolutely stay there again.

The bedroom was small (not a problem for me), but it was nice to have the living room area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelAB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We fly from the west coast to Boston twice annually, if not more, for medical follow ups at Mass General Hospital. We ususally stay at the ultra-nice 4 star Liberty Hotel as they have a great Mass Genl rate, but this time it was filled and we booked literally across the traffic circle at this place. Location is superb, if not better. Usual close walk to literally dozens of restaurants, shops, everything. Short walk to Boston Gardens. All that. Pros: location is A+. Price: about 1/4 - 1/3 of the many pricier hotels within a half mile - a terrific plus. Older, but clean and neat and recently repainted. Central air conditioning worked well - and it was 94 degrees and humid on our arrival in Boston. Decent continental breakfast in comfortable lobby. Cons: no parking whatsoever, but decently priced (decent for Boston, that is) parking couple short blocks away. Four steep steps from the street up to the locked door and seven steps from the door up a steep staircase to check in: with a lot of bags, expect this not to be fun. Desk staff not exactly rude but not overly friendly.Beds are hard but those of us who like hard beds are happy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeandSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Beacon Hill
Beacon Hill Hotel and Bistro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Boxer Boston
#21 of 86 in Boston
1,125 reviews
South End
Clarendon Square Inn
Clarendon Square Inn
#2 of 37 in Boston
559 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Oasis Guest House
Oasis Guest House
#6 of 37 in Boston
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Jeffries House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Jeffries House

Address: 14 David G. Mugar Way, Boston, MA 02114-3203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Beacon Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: $868 - $902 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — John Jeffries House 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
John Jeffries House Hotel invites guests to experience the best that Boston has to offer. The stately red-brick building makes for a convenient base for exploring the thriving city, and when guests check in to this Beacon Hill hotel, Boston is at their fingertips. The 46 guestrooms at John Jeffries House Hotel resemble New England apartments, coupling traditional design and original detailing with modern amenities. Most rooms feature kitchenettes, allowing for extended stays at this downtown Boston hotel. Trained staff members ensure that every guest feels at home, providing a level of personalized service only found at a boutique hotel this size. In-the-know concierges, for example, can point couples to the city's most romantic date spots, or business travelers to the best cafés for getting extra work done. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your John Jeffries House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Jeffries House Hotel Boston
John Jeffries House Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing