We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
John Jeffries House
Ranked #9 of 39 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Very Good Value”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I had to come to Boston on short notice recently when a friend passed away suddenly. The funeral was to be held at Copley Square so, not being very familiar with Boston/Cambridge, I wanted a hotel that was either nearby or close to public transit. Given the unplanned circumstances around my visit, I didn't want to bust my budget and all the hotels in the Back Bay are very expensive. Then the name of this hotel came up during a TripAdvisor search. The man who answered the phone when I called to inquire about availability and make a reservation was rather surly and that put me off a little, but in the end, I could not have been happier to discover this place. I would have been fine with one of their smaller rooms, but the only thing they had available was a Superior Suite. Compared to the rates of other hotels in the vicinity, the price of a suite was still cheaper than a single occupancy room just about anywhere else.

The hotel is steps away from the Charles/MGH T station with a CVS drugstore across the street and an upscale deli called Savenor's Market adjacent. The woman at the reception desk was friendly and helpful. My suite was on the 2nd floor, overlooking a highway exit ramp and the entrance to a footbridge that crosses the Charles River, but the building is surrounded by trees on that side and the windows are double paned so I didn't hear any noise at all. Even with Massachusetts General Hospital nearby, I didn't hear any ambulance sirens or helicopters. The rooms were clean, the bed was very comfortable, and the living area was well-furnished with a loveseat, table, microwave, refrigerator and bar sink. The bathroom was functionally sized and included lots of towels, a hairdryer, and many little bottles of Pantene shampoo. Water pressure was good. Extra blankets and a luggage rack were in one of two very large closets. The TV was the old CRT kind and the reception wasn't great, but I wasn't there to watch TV. The bedroom included a clock-radio and a separate iPod dock unit which I unplugged as it had a really bright display that would have affected my sleep. The temperature control worked fine too. Free wi-fi is available throughout the building and local telephone calls are also free. A continental breakfast is included at this hotel until 11:00 AM, and the offerings included a variety of croissants, muffins and danish, coffee, tea, juices and fresh apples and bananas - nothing special but perfectly fine. The sitting room where the food is set out is comfortably furnished with lots of seating and a choice of newspapers. Most of the other guests appeared to be affiliated with the hospital so it was a quiet, older, professional crowd. Besides the convenience of having a drugstore and deli so close by, Charles Street is a cute street with lots of charming shops and cafes and a very nice scale in that old Boston brick townhouse way. Getting to and from the airport was very easy with the T system (one transfer from the Red Line to the Silver Line, costs $2.50) and took about 40 minutes door-to-door.

If you are looking for luxurious amenities, this hotel is not for you. However, if you just want a clean, comfortable and very reasonably priced place to stay in Boston, I highly recommend John Jeffries House. I stayed for 2 nights, but this would be a great value for longer stays.

Room Tip: I was on the second floor in the NW corner of the building. My suite overlooked both a highway and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pigcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    215
    42
    26
    13
See reviews for
90
167
41
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We spent three nights at the end of our New England states trip and had a terrible time. First, I had requested for rooms close to each other as early as August (more than 2 months ahead of scheduled arrival). While I understand they cannot guarantee specific requests, but would it really be difficult to at least put us on the same floor? My husband and I were placed at the highest floor (4th) and our daughters at the ground floor (equivalent to basement). To top it all, the person in the front desk was not even apologetic about it. We got a Jr. suite for us and a Standard room for our kids. The standard room had a full sized ref, our Jr. Suite had a mini ref. (one would expect the suite would have better amenities).
The next day after going around we came back to the room and saw that the garbage can in the kitchen had not been cleaned. We told the front desk to have it cleaned as we went out to dinner. When we got back two hours later, it was still there. The next day, we saw the housekeeping lady and told her about it. She said, yes, she was told and apologized and told us to just leave our trash outside our room. I think it's bad enough to have trash in the room and I didn't intend to share it with the other occupants in my floor.
Positives: good location, was accessible to good restaurants and reasonable rates. Negatives: aside from the above experience, breakfast was the same muffins, pastries each day, and poor customer service. Will definitely not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cespdelrosario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Staff in general were pointedly unhelpful, including the manager (who watched us struggle with luggage & stroller up & down 2 flights before telling us about the service elevator we could've used).
Good location on the edge of Beacon Hill & clean despite being dated, but not worth the negatives. We'd seen photos beforehand so weren't expecting much for our money (it was pretty expensive, particularly for a young couple with a new baby, but fairly standard for the area).
This was our 1st holiday with our 3-month-old baby and we'd brought 2 boutique dresses which were gifts from grandparents. We couldn't find one of them when we were packing up to leave & thoroughly searched the room but left assuming we'd packed it earlier. When we got home, however, we noticed that both these expensive dresses were missing & could clearly remember having them at the hotel. It took more than 5 phone calls & 3-4 voice messages to the hotel managment for us to realise that we were going to get no reasonable resolution from this hotel; in fact the manager resorted to transfering us to his own voicemail when he happened to answer the phone.
Breakfast was impressively sub-standard and there's no parking to unload bags near the hotel.

If you have nothing worth stealing, no tastebuds, no time for aesthetics, honesty or decent customer service or indeed moral values, this is the perfect place for you. If, however, you are a member of the human race and weren't brought up in a sewer, look for somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booked to stay here on recommendation by colleague. Was a bit concerned because the website makes it look a bit old and drab. All they had was a room with a "twin bed" in England that means a single bed. I'm 6ft 4 and the bed was long enough for me to sleep very comfortably. The room had a small kitchen and the bathroom was nice and newly renovated. Location is perfect to get over to the biotech area of Cambridge and in a lovely part of Boston. I would recommend anyone stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukelb1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is an excellent value when you compare prices of most hotels in the Boston area. You can walk to Mass Gen Hospital easily, as well as many varied restaurants. It is comfortable and cozy. The breakfast is bare-bones, which is strange as they call themselves a bed and breakfast, but met our needs. Note: They will suggest parking at the Charles Street Garage for $27 a day, but if you are here for procedures at MGH, park at the Fruit St Garage for $10 per day. They must have a deal with Charles Street because they never mentioned the Fruit St. Garage to us. We were there for 4 days and never got our car out - we walked to the Museum of Science, the Boston Duck Tour, and several restaurants easily. It is directly acros from a Red T station. One problem is the noise at night. This is a college town and the ruckus in the streets begins around midnight. Coupled with the constant ambulance sirens it is hard to get a good night's sleep. We still think it's a good value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BearUpstateNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

You can't beat the price & location of the Jeffries House. It's located around the corner from Charles Street, which has every type of establishment you can imagine: great restaurants, coffee shops, a post office, laundromat, hardware store, antique & specialty shops, drug store, parking garage, and best of all -- Savenor's Also, a subway stop is conveniently located across the street from the House. The continental breakfasts included fresh fruits, assorted pastries, rolls and juices, coffee and tea. Fruits, tea and coffee are also available at all times during the day in that same dining area. The entire staff (front desk, housekeeping, maintenance) were professional, friendly and very helpful. Our room was clean and large. Besides 2 beds, it had an overstuffed couch and chair, coffee table, and table and chairs for dining, The kitchenette had a refrigerator, microwave, stove, dishes, utensils, dishtowel and even dishwashing detergent. We highly recommend this B&B and will stay here again if we're ever in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mwyito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Three of us just got back from a two night stay at the John Jeffries and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The staff was very warm and helpful; especially Andre who gave us good travel advice on where to eat, what to see, etc. We highly recommend this hotel to everyone who is traveling to Boston and want to stay in a clean, safe, well priced bed and breakfast. The T line is right across the street which makes for easy travel within the city and the continental breakfast was great. We have no complaints!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stroudmss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#57 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,735 reviews
The Boxer Boston
#23 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Jeffries House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Jeffries House

Property: John Jeffries House
Address: 14 David G. Mugar Way, Boston, MA 02114-3203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Beacon Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — John Jeffries House 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
John Jeffries House Hotel invites guests to experience the best that Boston has to offer. The stately red-brick building makes for a convenient base for exploring the thriving city, and when guests check in to this Beacon Hill hotel, Boston is at their fingertips. The 46 guestrooms at John Jeffries House Hotel resemble New England apartments, coupling traditional design and original detailing with modern amenities. Most rooms feature kitchenettes, allowing for extended stays at this downtown Boston hotel. Trained staff members ensure that every guest feels at home, providing a level of personalized service only found at a boutique hotel this size. In-the-know concierges, for example, can point couples to the city's most romantic date spots, or business travelers to the best cafés for getting extra work done. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your John Jeffries House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Jeffries House Hotel Boston
John Jeffries House Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing