We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, great staff, amazing location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
John Jeffries House
Ranked #8 of 38 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great price, great staff, amazing location!”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Recommended to me by a Bostonian, this place is in a great location, just off fancy Beacon Hill at the end of Charles Street. Take the red line to Charles MGH stop and it's just outside. So easy to get to. 10 minutes from Boston Common and all the great sites this city has to offer.

Staff really friendly. I arrived early and was allowed me to stow my bags while waiting for room to be prepared. Room was nice, with fridge, cooker and microwave. Comfy bed. Nice bathroom. Quiet and roomy. Very reasonable price compared to Boston hotels.

Breakfast is included, coffee and doughnuts with fruit and yoghurt. Basic but does the trip. All in all, I would highly recommend this place and will definitely be back

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AidanHar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    223
    43
    26
    13
See reviews for
93
168
44
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

A quaint, clean, well cared for cozy secluded property tucked at the bottom of a footpath leading you to the Esplanade. The Charles is visable from the sitting room where in the morning fresh pasties, fruit, juice, hot coffee and tea are available. A very pretty landscaped outdoor hidden sitting area provides nice place to view the city.
While we were there, we stayed in two different rooms. Both rooms were modestly priced, clean, and very comfortable. Each room had a small kitchenette equiped with a 2 burner cooktop, microwave, and small refrig allowing the ability to make simple meals. The one problem we encountered in both rooms, was the refrigerator freezers needed to be defrosted.
If you are planning on spending a fair amount of time in your room, I would suggest not staying in the rooms located in the basement of the building due to window size and lack of view.
The location is wonderful! Within easy walking distance to Mass Eye and Ear and MGH, restaurants, and the Esplanade. The Red Line is literally right across the street.
The staff was very welcoming and a bowl of fresh fruit and a hot cup of coffee greeted you upon arrival in the sitting area.
The building was quiet and check out was easy. We will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are staying in your room for any length of time, I would suggest not staying in the basement...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coveview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Springs, MO
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This was a great place to stay while in Boston. The red line subway system is right across the street, the Charles River Park where free summer concerts are held on Wednesdays is just a-bridge-over-the-freeway walk away, Boston Commons where Shakespeare in the Park is held and the Public Gardens are a 10 minute walk. The Old Time Trolley stop is 2 blocks. You are in Beacon Hill so there are restaurants, ice cream shops as well as antique shops very close.

The garden area is very nicely planted, a nice place to sit and have coffee or tea. A wide variety of teas, 2 types of apples, bananas, and coffee are available 24/7 in the breakfast room. Cereal, yogurt, and at least 6 different kinds of pastries were available for breakfast.

Our room was in the basement. The room was quite spacious with a couch, coffee table, upholstered chairs, table and chairs, kitchenette with stovetop, microwave, and mini-frig along with dishes, bowls, silverware, and 2 twin beds. Both the main room and the bathroom were very clean. The maid mopped the bathroom floor and vacuumed each of the three days we were there in addition to regular cleaning. She also washed the dishes we had left in the sink; I had planned to wash them when we returned from breakfast.

The staff was very helpful. Our door stuck because of recent painting. We told the maid, and a person quickly arrived to sand it so that it would open more easily for us.

In short, breakfast was tasty, service was very good, room was spacious and clean, and location was fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RetiredEngTeacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

My finance and I stayed here for two nights while in Boston. We loved the area, it is within walking distance from many attractions, and Charles street has many great shops and restaurants. The rooms were a bit dated, but clean. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here because of its proximity to Mass Eye and Ear and were very interested in its historical significance as the original location of that hospital. We stayed in the very affordable deluxe suite and found it very comfortable and clean. The kitchenette was sufficient for quick meals, the flat screen TV was adequate - not too much in the way of cable channels but we are not big on TV anyhow - we were able to catch the Olympics so that made us happy.

The hotel is super convenient to the Beacon Hill area, Charles Street with its shops and restaurants is right outside the door even thought the hotel is tucked into a little corner that makes it feel secluded and private. Nice landscaping. T-stop right on opposite corner.

Good continental breakfast. Coffee and tea available 24 hours. Friendly, helpful staff. Will most likely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cranville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I would give it a 3.5 star if that was possible. The hotel is at a great location - very convenient to the T in Beacon Hill neighborhood. The room was very average - reasonably clean, but very basic. I got a single room, which literally was a single bed that wasn't super comfortable. There was a small kitchenette in the room. The bathroom looked reasonably clean. My room faced the river and the road, but the double paned windows blocked out most of the noise. The TV looked like it was from the 1980s. The staff was okay - not overly friendly. Overall, it's a good choice for the location and price (around $120/night) but it's nothing to write home about.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Booklust415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I could not find an affordable hotel for my trip and happened to find this Bed and Breakfast, the price was amazing. The location is just the best, right in the heart of Beacon Hill just around the corner from Charles St where you will find restaurants, shops, bars, minutes from Boston Common, Public Gardens, you can pick up the Freedom Trail in minutes. Close to public transportation. The breakfast is continental, pastries, juices, fruit. Coffee, tea and fresh fruit are available all day. My room was small, spotless well maintained with a kitchenette. My room was airconditioned, maybe some of the other rooms are not. Staff on hand at the front desk 24 hrs. I sure would like to keep this place a secret, they sell out fast. On the downside, some of the road noise could be heard, but it's not a deal breaker.

Room Tip: Ask ahead of time for airconditioned room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SiSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#56 of 83 in Boston
1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
7,398 reviews
The Boxer Boston
#23 of 83 in Boston
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Jeffries House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Jeffries House

Property: John Jeffries House
Address: 14 David G. Mugar Way, Boston, MA 02114-3203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Beacon Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — John Jeffries House 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
John Jeffries House Hotel invites guests to experience the best that Boston has to offer. The stately red-brick building makes for a convenient base for exploring the thriving city, and when guests check in to this Beacon Hill hotel, Boston is at their fingertips. The 46 guestrooms at John Jeffries House Hotel resemble New England apartments, coupling traditional design and original detailing with modern amenities. Most rooms feature kitchenettes, allowing for extended stays at this downtown Boston hotel. Trained staff members ensure that every guest feels at home, providing a level of personalized service only found at a boutique hotel this size. In-the-know concierges, for example, can point couples to the city's most romantic date spots, or business travelers to the best cafés for getting extra work done. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your John Jeffries House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Jeffries House Hotel Boston
John Jeffries House Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing