We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
John Jeffries House
Ranked #10 of 39 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming B&B”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

This lovely B&B is both comfortable and reasonably priced. It is near some of the best sights in the Boston area. It is close to a railway station and only a few stops from Harvard Square. Book levels 2 and up (there is an elevator) because lower floors tend to be noisy and upper levels are very quiet. Rooms are spacious and welcoming. Staff are courteous and helpful. Safe storage of valuables is provided at the desk. Breakfast is not much, mostly pastries. Tea, coffee and fruit are always set out in the breakfast room for guests to have at any time. There is no guest laundry but there are laundromats a few blocks away. If you are looking for an inexpensive and comfortable place to stay, close to transport, with lots of character, then this B&B would meet your needs.

Room Tip: Book floors 2 and up only. Lower floors are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    217
    43
    26
    13
See reviews for
91
168
41
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

JJH is the perfect choice for travelers who want to be in the heart of Boston without having a heart attack over high hotel rates!
The inn is on a busy corner, but it's a half-block walk to charming Charles St. and the foot of Beacon Hill.
There is a post office, dry cleaner, and grocery within an easy two blocks. Starbucks and Beacon Hill Chocolates, too. Whole Foods is .3 miles down Cambridge St.
We walked to the Freedom Trail sites and to Symphony Hall.
The T (subway) is right across the street.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarvinAnchorage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We planned a long weekend to Boston and NYC and I needed to find a hotel for the Boston part of our trip. Room rates were crazy expensive for anything in the heart of the city. I somehow stumbled upon this hotel online and picked it because the location looked great and it was considerably less expensive than anything (anything!) else in the city. We were not disappointed. Super convenient - across the street from the Charles/MGH T stop, a CVS and a small grocery market. Plenty of cute shops and coffee along Charles Street and a very short walk to Boston Common and Newbury Street area. The old building has lots of charm and the rooms are clean, updated and quiet. How they combo the awesome urban location with this level of quiet was impressive all by itself. We had a comfy bed and a kitchenette in our room. The staff isn't over the top friendly but plenty pleasant and accommodating. The front door is locked / you are buzzed in. There is always coffee and tea in the main sitting area. Highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmp1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed one night at this B&B the night before disembarking on a Boston to Bermuda cruise on the NCL Dawn. The hotel was close to Beacon Hill and within walking distance of Boston Common and the State Capitol Building. The room we had was on the second floor (via a small elevator); however there were about 6-10 steps from the street level up to the loby level and with heavy luggage, it was quite a chore getting to the front desk! We arrived early in the day and the staff graciously allowed us to leave our luggage so that my wife and I could do some sightseeing. The breakfast fare was average continental breakfast....no hot food ws served. There was always coffee available in the common breakfast room. I would recommend this B&B as being an economical alternative to the high prices of most downtown Boston hotels.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BackHomeAgainInIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We have just come back from a trip to Boston and New England and the last three nights were spent at the John Jefferies. I was very pleasantly impressed with this nice, clean, hotel. The room was not big but we had a kitchette (seperate). There is a very nice complimentary breakfast of juice, coffee, tea and deliciously fresh pastries. All day you can help yourself to fruit and tea and coffee. We found the staff to be helpful and pleasant. In short.... a good, reasonably priced hotel and close to everything.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor which was really good for us as I was able to take our "breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice_Ch_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

John Jefferies House is superbly located in central Boston with easy access to the subway (less than 100 yrds) and with easy walking distance of the centre of Boston.You have a very pleasent walk up Charles Street to Beacon Hill park and the beginning of the Heritage trail. Loads of very nice and not too expensive restaurants close by to choose from. The hotel its self is basically self catering (most rooms I beleive have a small kitchen area) and the rooms are a good size and clean. However breakfast is not really breakfast but teas/coffees from thermos flasks and a selection of mini danish pastries/fruit from the side board in the guests common area which is furnished with sofas and coffee tables. I am not really sure if this could be clasified as breakfast as on several mornings there was nowhere to sit. My only other comment is the size of the bed in our room - it was a very, very small double bed (we had booked to two people) and on several nights I went and slept on the sofa. The bed area was so small you could only just get between the bed and the wall - maybe it is pushed against the wall for the rest of the time? This was disappointing and took the shine off our otherwise wonderful stay in Boston. I would recommend this hotel for business or single people but if you are a couple then check out the beds first - there is nothing worse than no sleep.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank busy1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

In October 2011 we stayed twice at the John Jeffries House. Both times for two nights.
It was a good alternative to all the overexpensive hotels in Boston.

The location right in Beacon Hill is perfect. A subway station is just a few footsteps away.
Logan International can be easily reached by public transportation. (A cab from the airport costs approx.30 $.) The city center is within walking distance as well.

As we stayed with 3 people (two adults and one child, 11 years) we booked a suite. They can only accommodate three guests in one of their suites. We had one queen size bed in the sleeping room and a sleep sofa in the sitting area. Both times our suite was located on the ground floor (basement) and although there are several windows in the sleeping room and the sitting area it was a bit dark in the room. As we spent most of the time outside the house this didn’t bother us too much.

The common room opposite the reception is a lovely, very charming room where they also serve breakfast. If you are only looking for a fast snack, breakfast can be recommended. They offer coffee, tea, hot chocolate, a variety of pastries, fruits (apples and bananas) and juice.

Recently, a new service was established. In-room dining for lunch and dinner is possible as well but we did not try it.

A small luggage storage room is located near the reception.

Friendliness of the staff is okay but not overwhelming.

The bottom line is that the John Jeffries House is a really nice Bed and Breakfast Inn with good price/performance ratio.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Passepartout_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
7,265 reviews
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#55 of 83 in Boston
1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
The Boxer Boston
#23 of 83 in Boston
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Jeffries House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Jeffries House

Property: John Jeffries House
Address: 14 David G. Mugar Way, Boston, MA 02114-3203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Beacon Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — John Jeffries House 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
John Jeffries House Hotel invites guests to experience the best that Boston has to offer. The stately red-brick building makes for a convenient base for exploring the thriving city, and when guests check in to this Beacon Hill hotel, Boston is at their fingertips. The 46 guestrooms at John Jeffries House Hotel resemble New England apartments, coupling traditional design and original detailing with modern amenities. Most rooms feature kitchenettes, allowing for extended stays at this downtown Boston hotel. Trained staff members ensure that every guest feels at home, providing a level of personalized service only found at a boutique hotel this size. In-the-know concierges, for example, can point couples to the city's most romantic date spots, or business travelers to the best cafés for getting extra work done. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your John Jeffries House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Jeffries House Hotel Boston
John Jeffries House Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing