We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A trip down memory lane....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Verona's B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Verona's B&B
Ranked #21 of 39 Boston B&B and Inns
Delaware
1 review
“A trip down memory lane....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2009

At the end of the 80's we stayed several times at 82 Chandler with Dennis and Dominick. It was our "home away from home" as we traveled from Japan to see our son at BU. We loved the charm of the house, the decor and comfort of the rooms, the hospitality and good breakfasts afforded by the innkeepers, and the location. So, 18 years later, we were thrilled to book there once again and looked forward to meeting up with the innkeepers again.
We were disappointed. Dennis and Dominick were absent. The room we were given was clean but shabby looking. the window blind lacked a control to close it. The bedding was shabby, the pillows were "tired."
The breakfast was charming and congenial, but not as extensive as in years past. All in all, we thought the attention to detail and upkeep was not evident in our room. Don't know about other rooms. We don't know when or if we will be back, but hope Dennis and Dominick can put their hearts back into 82 Chandler.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NightingaleDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    26
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
36
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2009

We spent three nights at 82 Chandler St. celebrating our anniversary. This brownstone was located in a charming neighborhood within close walking distance to shopping and lots of great restaurants as well as the city transit system. Though the house needed some work and seemed "in progress" as far as decorating goes, the room was clean and adequate. Both hosts were friendly and the breakfast they offered included fresh fruit, cereal and toasted bagels or English muffins served family style in their attractive loft kitchen. For someone on a budget visiting costly Boston this place was a nice alternative.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick-Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2008

We have just returned from 82. The B&B was magnificent, cozy. We felt like at home. Our room was nicely decorated and very clean. Place is well kept. We have got good breakfast with lot of fresh fruits on the table. Inkeeper was very helpful but let us all the space we needed to feel free and content. Each room/studio has its own bathroom and kichenette, except the upper one which is near the place's major kichen/dinning room/penthouse. So it is not a problem to use this one.

This B&B is situated conveniently close to T station at Back Bay and very close to major park, shopping street and major mall.

Definitely the place to return.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spela_and_beno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2008

I saw the negative reviews that started with "awful” and I will tell you to be utter nonsense! I have stayed at 82 Chandler on “three” separate occasions and it was just great on each and every stay. The owner Dominic, could not be a nicer host, and the service is top notch - this along with the building and the rooms which are very nice. These are rooms with antiques, and so if you’re looking for a cold modern setting this is not the place for you. It is a B&B, and so you do have a great breakfast in the morning on the top floor with a great view. Dominic is open for conversation, as so are the other guest that may happen to be there. This place is a great way to start off your day and the location is awesome - you’re walking distance from everything. The price is right given the location. I will be staying there again on my next trip - it's just a nice, warm and cozy place to stay. "see attached photos"

  • Liked — great location, great service, great price
  • Disliked — the personal attention that made me feel at home. The location and the rooms were very nice.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pmonsivais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2005

We stayed at 82 Chandler in September. Not being able to find accommodations anyplace in the City that was reasonable, we opted for the B&B. At the last minute, something became available at 82 and we jumped at it. We arrived late and no problem getting into the building or getting to our room. We had been given excellent instructions. Breakfast was always prompt and delicious and it was great to meet others visiting the city. Dominic was a wealth of information and a lovely man to sit and chat with. The B&B was in an excellent location, close to the subway and within walking distance to restaurants, bars, shopping etc. The neighborhood is quiet and safe. The rooms are large and although they aren't the Ritz, they were more than suitable. A very comfy queen bed, air conditioning, mini fridge, and many other amenities. We would definately choose 82 Chandler again if we were ever i the Boston area.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Capebreton69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2004

I recently wrote and email to the owners, kindly telling them of our experience.I was not impressed, the home itself was great, beautiful and just as the pictures show it. that was not the problem, ther service was PATHETIC, I have never spent so much to be treated so poorly.Having just completed our 8 week trip of CA, and the New England states, I have spent $8,900 in accomidation and this was easily the worst place I stayed.I will give you a tip though, Boston is a great City and the best place we stayed in our 8 weeks was Bretton Woods/Mount Washington in NH. We would travel half way round the world again to stay in this hotel for just one night, It was fabulous.Murray Slatter

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2003

Throughout the years I have stayed at various B&B's throughout the country, most are great. Although "82" is in a good location, it was among the worst B&B's I have stayed in. Breakfast consisted of microwaved old croissants, the rooms have very worn out furniture and they do not change the sheets, my tv remote was missing (which the owners did not seem to care about), the heater did not work, and the bathrooms have limited amenities. When they said only personal checks or cash are accepted, I should have taken that as a huge red flag. I'm sure the owners on their own are great people, but "82" as a small business is awful and riddled with deceptions. Their website states that a parking lot is very close by and only costs $14, well it was double that, they promised me amenities and did not deliver, my key to the main entrance did not work and they insisted it did and spent a precious twenty minutes showing me the EXACT way to use it. Too much trouble. I'll chalk up to a bad experience altogether to be fair, but overall it was simply awful for me.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,232 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#55 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Verona's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Verona's B&B

Property: Verona's B&B
Address: Chandler St. at Clarendon St, Boston, MA 02115 (Formerly 82 Chandler Street Bed & Breakfast)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation rental This beautiful, historic, four-story brick townhouse in the South End in Boston was tastefully renovated in a traditional style that provides modern day convenience and comfort. The rooms are accessed from a lovely Victorian central stairway; and they are equipped with private baths with showers, kitchenettes, a comfortable queen bed, direct-dial telephone, high speed Internet, and individually-controlled window air conditioners. The lovely rooms are beautifully decorated in unique color schemes and are filled with antiques and appointments that evoke memories of the home's original era. Each room has a kitchenette with a Microwave, 2 burner stove, small refrigerator, sink, and a tea kettle. Unit 7, on the 4th floor is a private 2-room suite with bedroom with a queen and a single bed, bath with shower, and full kitchen. In the winter the rooms are rented for extended stay periods with one month minimums. The location is ideal for tourists and those attending events in Copley Square and the Hynes Convention center. It is near many shops and restaurants and a quick walk to the Back Bay Subway and Amtrak lines with easy access to the Boston Convention Center and other areas of Boston, Cambridge and Brookline. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing