We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like a visit to Taiwan without leaving Boston”
Review of Jo Jo Tai Pei

Jo Jo Tai Pei
Ranked #938 of 3,243 Restaurants in Boston
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Taiwanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Allston / Brighton
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Feels like a visit to Taiwan without leaving Boston”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We went to Jo Jo Tai Pei on a Saturday night. The place was packed with people - college students, families, couples having dinner.It was a great, high-energy atmosphere (albeit a little loud). The food was delicious. Lots of different spices and flavors. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelerWithOpinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Have had Sunday brunch/lunch here several times. There are many unusual selections on the menu and everything I tried was very good to excellent. The turnip cakes are especially good. The prices on the brunch menu are quite low, and some of the dishes are larger than you'd expect for the price. I have been to Asia a fair amount, and the food at Jo Jo Tai Pei compares very well to some of the best I've had there (although I have not been to Taiwan).

The ambiance and service are nothing special, and others in our party said the scallion pancakes were greasy (I did not try them), but overall I don't think you can go wrong here if you're even slightly in the mood for Chinese food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xman_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Delicious”
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

We went to here last night. The service and the food in Jo Jo Taipei are really good and tasty. There r many kind of food on the menu which makes me so excited cuz all of them on the menu seems delicious. And some of them we had was really delicious.

Helpful?
Thank Freezefog
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Good Authentic Chinese Food”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Had dinner at Jo Jo Tai Pei last week while in Boston on business. It compared well to Chinese food I have had in Beijing and Nanjing. The salty/crispy chicken made a nice appetizer. The shrimp and mango was subtle and mild, while the Szechuan Pork was very tasty and quite spicy. Very enjoyable experience (although, a little difficult to find from I-90).

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank glftrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Taipei food at boston”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Jojo Taipei is one of the best Chinese food at boston.
The famous "three cup chicken" is just like the taste at taipei.
The beef noodle soup is also very tasty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leyong t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jo Jo Tai Pei also viewed

 

Been to Jo Jo Tai Pei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing