We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Ranked #21 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Old grand hotel. The room was big , and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was small (the hotel was built in the 1910's) but elegant. Room service was fast and the room was always good. The location of the hotel is fantastic,,,as long as you do not have to walk outside during a winter snow storm,,,LOL. Their express lunch offer is a real deal,,,I could not have enough of their clam chowder! Of course,,,there is a price attached to their service. An elegant hotel. Across the street from Copley Place Mall,,,so you also can do shopping and dine out.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaxLatino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,766
    677
    251
    107
    46
See reviews for
641
931
109
823
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed February 4, 2011

Very enjoyable stay and over the top wedding w/all that we had hoped for.When arriving after driving thru a snow storm for 5 hours the bell men where very friendly and helpful.Room was bigger then expected and the bed was SUPER.The bath room was new and big enough for a party. Room service was friendly and on time. The concerige Vincent was excellent.Very helpful and even walked us out to show us the stop for the Hop on Off trolley.He gave us excellent recommendations for brunch on Sunday.Wedding was a movie set in true classic style.Everyone that worked on this event should be recognized.Very impressive. Especially the wait staff....Oak bar was alot fun and the oysters the best. The Saturday brunch in the Oak Room needed more professional management. Slow and unorganized.I am guessing that there was a challenge there that am,because it did not represent the Fairmont to its best. Thank you for everything we will be back.LOCATION<LOCATION<LOCATION

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hyheidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Two nights. Hotel front entrance currently undergoing renovation. Absolute mess outside but little disruption to inner workings after hours as far as I could see, only annoyance was having to enter through side door. I did not buy the old world charm here at all. Old world charm? Try Peninsula HK, or FS Paris, or Bristol etc. This is tacky and run down. Reminds me of Claridges London before renovation. Checkin superb, professional, courteous and knowledgable. Jefferson was front staff on various occasions. This young chap should be commended. Also allowed me to get another room was not happy looking at second floor air con vent. Bed felt clean and quite comfortable. Mattress must be newer than other furnitures in the room (thank God they updated what counts...). Carpet typical patterned affair but just feels worn out... Bathroom clean. In room dining 20 minutes late, nearly missed meeting. Oak Room restaurant was good value. Great service too. If travelling alone you could do much worse than eating here. Great access to shopping with the whole Copley Square complex stone's throw away (of course you could do Westin or Marriott).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kowkowzeiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricaRothschild, Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Fairmont Copley Plaza. We are currently undergoing repairs to our sidewalk and apologize for any inconvenience that may have caused. We were particularly pleased to see your comments about our service at the front desk and in the Oak Room, and are delighted that our colleagues were able to meet your expectations. We have shared your feedback with our operation team. Again, thank you for your valuable feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
212 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Loved this hotel for it's location, history and elegance. The rooms were appointed in true Fairmont fashion. Fairmont President's Club amenity was a bag of the most amazing salt water taffy. I would say by far the best from Fairmont I have seen to date (great local amenity). Clean and comfy rooms - interesting city views.

My love for this property really stopped at the historical aspect. I found the hotel staff with the exception of the bell staff ... to be extremely pretentious. As a tourist, I found the concierge to be unhelpful and judgemental. As the highest tier of their loyalty program, I didn't feel any love from the staff here that I am accustomed to.

Rooms were charming yet lacked basic amenities such as tea and coffee. I thought that was a bit strange, as Fairmont prides itself on their teas - strange not to see it represented in the room.

For the right price, I would recommend this hotel, but there are many better options in Boston.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meritagebc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricaRothschild, Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. While we are delighted to see that you enjoyed the history and elegance of The Fairmont Copley Plaza, we were disappointed to see your comments on the service. We have shared your feedback with our operations team as they are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience. Tea kettles and Fairmont Tea are also available in rooms upon request. Your service experience is not typical of our hotel, and we would welcome the opportunity to demonstrate that should you elect to give the Fairmont Copley Plaza another try next time you visit Boston. Again, thank you for your comments, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Checked in to the hotel for our 1st anniversary. The girl checking us in was horrible, barely said 2 words to us and seemed annoyed we were bothering her. Later in the stay we over heard her saying she was transfering to a different department, no excuse to do your current job poorly. The room was clean and very nice, view was of the AC unit but didn't mind since the unit wasn't loud. Disappointed with the ala carte sunday brunch, went to another hotel for brunch instead. Room service staff was fantastic and so was the menu. Catie Copley is the most adorable dog! She is a great addition to the lobby especially if when you have Ms. Personality at the front desk. Concierge was very distracted, halfway through helping us he stopped and was getting information for someone else, we waited 5 minutes before he returned to us. The female concierge was the greatest, she deserves a raise. Doormen were very friendly and were very helpful with directions.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Low09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricaRothschild, Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and Happy Anniversary! We were disappointed to see that your service experience with our front desk did not meet your expectations, but were delighted to hear that Catie Copley and our concierge and door staff helped make your stay enjoyable. We are always looking for ways to enhance our guests’ experience and have shared your comments with our front office and restaurant teams. We hope that you will be able to visit us again for another anniversary celebration. Thank you for sharing your feedback in this forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Stayed for a long weekend after being snowed out of trip to San Juan. Stayed on Gold level and upgraded to huge suite with separate bedroom, large corner living room and nice views of Copley Plaza. Gold level worth the extra with attentive service, lovely fireplaced lounge and great food service. Complementary Friday night appetizers were crab claws, marinated veggies, coconut shrimp, to name just a few of the delights. Breakfast on Saturday was generous with hot and cold items. Dinner first night in Oak Room very nice - atmosphere and service is first rate. Drinks in Oak Bar next night after symphony was great - live piano - clubby atmosphere. If you like historic, elegant hotels, this is the best in Boston.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank havaneserule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2011

The service was excellent and our room was nice. We hung out in the Oak Bar in the evening and enjoyed the band. I ordered a gin martini which was great, but I got a ceasars salad that was unbelievably bad. My cousin ordered the lobster roll and it could not be recommended either.
The next morning we went down to the lobby looking for coffee and were told that we had to go around the corner to Starbucks-it was 10 degrees out there! I also had hoped there would be a newspaper outside my room, but I had to get that at Starbucks too.
For me these issues aren't deal breakers, but I was a little surprised.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctmkilday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricaRothschild, Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for sharing your concerns. We were disappointed to see that your dining experience did not meet your expectations. I have shared your comments with our food and beverage team. Again, we thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#34 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Property: Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Address: 138 St James Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Boston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#14 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#14 Green Hotel in Boston
#15 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury downtown Boston landmark hotel has been a symbol of the city's rich history and elegance since its gala opening in 1912. Centrally located in Boston's historic Back Bay, Fairmont Copley Plaza sits steps away from the Boston Public Library, historic Beacon Hill, the Freedom Trail, and Newbury Street. Our Boston hotel offers 383 lavish guest rooms, including 17 elegant suites. Every room has a modern look, while keeping the downtown hotel's rich history and Back Bay location in mind. In addition to 24-hour daily in-room dining service, we are home to one of the hottest drinking and dining destinations in the city, OAK Long Bar + Kitchen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston Hotel Boston
Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston
Fairmont Boston
Boston Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing