We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Ranked #19 of 85 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 16, 2006

The service and accomodations were terriffic. Every interaction with staff was warm and friendly. From check in to room service to valet and bell everyone smiled and many times used our names. The location is perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbird4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,007 - 3,013 of 3,303 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2006

We started our tour of New England with a 2 nights stay at the Plaza. When we arrived the staff were very obliging and made us feel welcome.

A deluxe room on the third floor was beautifully appointed with quality furnishings and superb beds. Bathroom was also nice, if a little on the small side. Some traffic noise could be heard but this wasn't too much of a distraction.

The hotel is ideally located near Newbury and Boylston streets, and the Prudential Centre for great shopping. A Starbucks Coffee is just around the corner for breakfast!

Would definitely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank the_vostok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2006

My husband and I stayed 5 nights at this hotel to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. We booked a room on the Gold Level. When we checked in we were told we had been upgraded to a signature room. The room was very large and overlooked the square. We were personally shown to our room and on the table was a bottle of champagne and fruit and flowers which we thought was a lovely touch. Being on the gold floor gave us access to all the lounges which were beautifully decorated. Breakfast was complimentary and so were soft drinks, tea and coffe all day. In the evening there were tasty snacks put out. Some of the days we ate so much we did not need any dinner! There are only about 56 rooms on the gold floor and this gives you the idea that this is a hotel within a hotel. The lounges were very relaxing to come back to after a day of sightseeing. I must say that if you did not stay on the gold level there are no lounges in the main part of the hotel. Although there is a very nice bar and restaurant which we tried. If we went back to Boston we would stay there again, but only on the gold level. If anyone wants any more info let me know. My email is ruthlfraser@hotmail.com

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sticklegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2006

My husband and I chose the Fairmont Copley Plaza in Boston for a four day city break through Virgin Holidays. It really is a wonderful hotel. Very grand indeed. Lots of mirrors, gilt and chandeliers. The restaurants are fabulous, service is great and the standard of the food and wine can not be faulted. We had the most amazing Pinot Noir and I wish I had got the name as it's become an unsurpassed wine for me.

My only complaint about the hotel is the level of noise. You can literally hear everything that is going on outside your door which is a nightmare if you are trying to sleep. And yes, I would have to agree with the other reviewer who said the doors SLAM! They most certainly do.

If you do decide to go to Boston and stay at the Copley Plaza, do say "Hi" to Katie for me...she is the resident chocolate lab who sits on her very own cushion in the reception. Boston is a fabulous city of British & American history so do try to do as much as you can...it's well worth it I promise you!

  • Stayed: April 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank cburrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2006

We recently spent 1 week at the Copley with my 3 children all under the age of 7. We were in Boston celebrating my Fahter-in-laws 70th birthday, we celebrated in the Oak Room at the hotel.

The Copley staff went above and beyond. Every staff member we interacted with from making the arrangements, to the door man, to the waiter who served our party were courteous and efficient. The food the evening of the party in the Oak Room was outstanding. The rooms were spotless and spacious.

The location is the best in boston, walking distance to tons of activities and a 30 second walk to the T subway.

This hotel is well worth the trip to Boston!!!!

2  Thank Lisi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2006

We stayed at the Fairmont for 5 nights with our 4 children. We had connecting rooms. One was a King and the other 2 Queens. Beautiful lobby. Our rooms were at the end of the hall. Very queit. The bathrooms were updated, our rooms were very large. The kids room had a fireplace. The minibar is very expensive as you would expect. No problem because there's a 7-11 and CVS right down the street. Stop there on your way back to the hotel. We booked thru the hotel and asked for the Summer rate. I had to ask several times for the special rate. They first quoted me 429/night. We ended at 269. Still expensive but much better. Very well located, close to the T, we even walked to Fenway. Staff was helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steph66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2006

Stayed at the Fairmont Copley Plaza 7/4-7/6/06. Booked the "Only One Way Summer Campaign" rate on the Fairmont website. For $195/night, we were given a very large room with a comfy king-sized bed, a large work desk, and a fireplace. The room was beautifully decorated, and the bathroom felt high-end (with separate toilet, shower, and vanity areas). Nice toiletries and bathrobes. The staff was very helpful with directions and suggestions. The Copley Plaza location was ideal for touring the city. Close to the subway. One of the best hotels we've stayed in. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2006
6  Thank DanioCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 85 in Boston
3,449 reviews
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#36 of 85 in Boston
2,888 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 85 in Boston
2,429 reviews
Back Bay
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Address: 138 St James Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Boston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#13 Green Hotel in Boston
#14 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $195 - $725 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury downtown Boston landmark hotel has been a symbol of the city's rich history and elegance since its gala opening in 1912. Centrally located in Boston's historic Back Bay, Fairmont Copley Plaza sits steps away from the Boston Public Library, historic Beacon Hill, the Freedom Trail, and Newbury Street. Our Boston hotel offers 383 lavish guest rooms, including 17 elegant suites. Every room has a modern look, while keeping the downtown hotel's rich history and Back Bay location in mind. In addition to 24-hour daily in-room dining service, we are home to one of the hottest drinking and dining destinations in the city, OAK Long Bar + Kitchen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelPower, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston Hotel Boston
Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston
Fairmont Boston
Boston Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing