We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Dame or Old Bag?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
A TripAdvisor Member
Manchester, Vermont
110
Reviewed December 8, 2005

As a Fairmont President's Club Premier Member, we were upgraded to a 950 square feet Park Suite. Space is nice, but age of the hotel showed. Dings, dents and the only internet access was at the desk in the bedroom with none in the living room meaning that I would awaken my wife early in the morning to get any work done. Bathroom has no forced air heat or a/c outlet and, with 20 degree weather outside, it was pretty darned cold. Housekeeping great, however, and empty fridge in pantry was nice. Service personnel, other than the "Oak" rooms (see below), are outstanding, but the resident Labrador Retriever, Catie, has a bit of an attitude (strange for a Lab!)

The Oak Room and Oak Bar are another story. Waiting 15 to 20 minutes for a drink in the Oak Bar most nights was such a hassle that we bypassed it. Dinner in the Oak Room was ok, but not spectacular and the table was too small for all the plates. Gave up on breakfast Sunday morning as it took 10 minutes for someone to take our names and to inform us of at least a 20 minute wait. Decamped to the Westin Copley Place and were seated at once.

Monday morning breakfast was outstanding in quality, but non-existant in service. Muslim "Steve Martin" in a busboy named Mohammed, who informed us 10 minutes later, that he "forgot" our request for cream and did not replace the cold coffee with hot. Waiter was "slower than molasses in January" and about as enthusiastic as a dead fish.

Bottom line is that if you want a "Grand Dame" with a long history and a "name", go over to the northwest corner of Arlington and Newbury Street and check into the renovated and refreshed Ritz-Carlton where you can have a heated bathroom, a drink on demand and breakfast that can be served in under two hours. The Fairmont (former C.P. Hotels) properties in Canada are better managed than most of them in the U.S. Chicago being the outstanding exception. No more, no way, never again and sorry to say it.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,260)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,994 - 3,000 of 3,260 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2005

We enjoyed every moment at the Copley Plaza where we celebrated our 3rd wedding anniversary. Everyone of the staff was helpful, friendly, courteous and professional..the valet parker, the doorman, the guest registrar, the bellhop, the room service waiter and the concierge. The bedroom and bathroom were recently renovated and very elegant. The bathroom had both a beautiful tub and a separate
glass/tile shower.
Previous reviewers have stated that the mini-bar is expensive as is the room-service breakfast. It's true, but the charges are the norm for any hotel in this class and price range. You can simply choose not to use them.
The quality of every aspect of the hotel and the professionalism of all the staff
will keep us coming back in the future and we would recommend it to anyone without any hesitation or qualifications at all.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank fjpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2005

Just returned from spending three glorious days at the Copley Plaza and were impressed from the moment we arrived and entered the extremely grand lobby area.
We were part of a group of 40 travellers and others in the group complained that the rooms were small but we had no complaints, with a spotless and very spacious corner room with two queen beds. The bathroom was marble and again with all the mod cons.
Try to get down to breakfast early as the Oak Room isnt particularly large. Service can be fairly laid back and the waiters dont seem to cope so well when things start getting busy.
No other complaints and we found it the perfect luxury base for a city break. Its also ideally located for all the shopping malls and attractions that Boston has to offer.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gusfenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2005

We stayed here in September 05 and had a wonderful huge room with large adjoining bathroom overlooking the square. The reception rooms are magnificent. This hotel had all the little extra touches that you would expect from a Fairmont. Breakfast in the Oak Room was very good and substantial with very efficient service. Check in too was efficient. The hotel is very convenient for sight seeing, the Prudential tower being a couple of blocks away, the Hancock tower next door and the Boston Public Library accross the street. We were overcharged by $200, but this was quickly rectified to our satisfaction. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Thelma&Louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2005

WOW!!! My daughter and I spent the weekend at the Fairmount Copley Plaza on the President's Club Floor. WOW!!! This hotel has so much class and grace. The bed was the most comfortable ever, including my own at home. Our room, basically a standard room, was huge, which is nonexistent in the newer chain hotels. The bathroom had been refurbished with beautiful black marble and had every toiletry provided, top of the line. We had a beautiful view of Copley Park from both the bedroom and the bathroom. The hotel is conveniently located adjacent to a lot of shopping and restaurants, but being on the club floor with the snacks and beverages, we only ended up eating out twice. The staff is usually what give a hotel it's character and the staff here is first class all the way. Treat yourself and plan a visit!

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank debbierich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2005

Well, I certainly had high hopes when I saw the lobby of the hotel - it was absolutely stunning upon arrival. Unfortunately the lobby (and the hotel's location) were the only things I can rave about.

For $475 night, I expected a clean, non-smoking room....nothing extravagent, considering the Boston prices are so high...what I found upon arrival was pet hair on the chair / bed, and smoke wafting in through the vents of my room. The bathroom was exceptionally small (to the point where you couldn't really have any items on the sink, and it's tiny size could truly only accomodate one person). The shower was old and moldy...tile cracked in the bathroom...clearly not my idea of a "recent renovation". I'd comment on the view, but there was none.

After a call to the front desk, we were upgraded to the "Club-level" which meant a slightly larger bathroom, and a larger room. As the bell-man let us into the room, we discovered 8 pillows lying in the middle of the room. Was there a party going on prior to our arrival? The room was very dusty, and clearly hadn't been used in a while. There was still smoke drifting in through the vents, but not as bad.

The Club level breakfast is quite lame...a few muffins and bagels and fruit. Honestly, the setting was nice, but the food was not noteworthy.

Upon leaving I was told I couldn't have a receipt for my room (as it was paid for on my Corporate Expedia account). I have never had that experience before - they are always more than happy to print off a receipt for me. Now that I am home, I just recently opened my Visa bill, and gues what - another separate charge of $385 in addition to my Expedia bill. I am curious to see how long it will take them to straighten that out.

Perhaps my visit was just a fluke, but be warned that the hotel is old, old, old, the rooms are not charming and have no view, and the bathrooms are the worst I've ever stayed in...if you must be in this part of Boston, do yourself a favor and stay at the Westin. It's by no means extravagant, but it's better than the Fairmont.

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Ings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Washington DC
15
Reviewed October 10, 2005

We have just booked rooms for our third visit this year to the Fairmont Copley Plaza. Staying there is reason enough to travel to Boston. The Gold Level is the best "club level" we have tried.
The Gomes Family.

Stayed: August 2005
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,428 reviews
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#36 of 84 in Boston
2,874 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 84 in Boston
2,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#17 of 84 in Boston
3,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Address: 138 St James Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#12 Family Hotel in Boston
#13 Green Hotel in Boston
#14 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $192 - $679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury downtown Boston landmark hotel has been a symbol of the city's rich history and elegance since its gala opening in 1912. Centrally located in Boston's historic Back Bay, Fairmont Copley Plaza sits steps away from the Boston Public Library, historic Beacon Hill, the Freedom Trail, and Newbury Street. Our Boston hotel offers 383 lavish guest rooms, including 17 elegant suites. Every room has a modern look, while keeping the downtown hotel's rich history and Back Bay location in mind. In addition to 24-hour daily in-room dining service, we are home to one of the hottest drinking and dining destinations in the city, OAK Long Bar + Kitchen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston Hotel Boston
Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston
Fairmont Boston
Boston Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing