We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"we'll be back"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Ranked #20 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Andover
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"we'll be back"”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

celebrated a 25th wedding anniversary....we were greated by name, given a corner room (very quiet) without asking, our room had champagne & chocolate covered strawberrys (f/o/c) & parting wine glasses

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,802
    688
    253
    111
    46
See reviews for
654
948
110
839
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed in a gold room, which included breakfast and honor bar and hors d'oeurvres. That was excellent,with high quality food and lovely facilities. The public spaces are gorgeous. The room was so-so. For the price, it was small, didn't have a dresser to hold clothes, was missing a light fixture in the bathroom, and had a loose makeup mirror in the bathroom nearly falling off the wall. One would expect better maintenance in a room costing nearly $500 a night. The room did have nice decor and amenities including. Keurig to make tea or coffee. The internet was free on the gold floor, but painfully slow.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank birdnscrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. While I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall, I'm sorry to hear that you had a few issues with your guest room. I have shared your feedback with our Director of Rooms in order to facilitate further internal review. Thank you, again, for your post!

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading,MA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Had a wonderful stay at the Fairmont Copley Plaza. We checked in about 3:30 and our room was not ready but were comped drinks at the Oak Long Bar. Room was beautiful with a city view updated and modern. Beautiful marble bathroom. Keurig and fridge. The 20 million renovation was tastefuly done and a lot of the orginal architectual structures were left. The hotel is listed as one of the United States historical hotels. It offers so much history and charm.
The location is so convienant. You can walk to theatre district, newbury street with in minutes. We ate at Flemmings which is about a 10 minute walk up to the theatre district. The next morning we took a 2 hour walk l enjoying the public gardens, newbury street and Boston Common. We can't forget about Katey and Karley the Hotels Black labs. They live at the hotel and are taken care of by employees. It made the hotel a personel and homey feel. I would highly recommend staying at the Fairmont Copley Plaza and can't wait to return. If you become a presidential club member (free of charge) you get free internet access also take advantage of becoming a Fairmont Credit card holder and you get 2 free nights and a free night annually. Lots of perks!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank disneygirl41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! I am so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit, from our historic charm and renovated facilities to our central location and welcoming staff - including our canine ambassadors! Thank you, again, for your post and we look forward to your return.

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We had our wedding here and Everything was perfect. We go back every year for our anniversary and it is perfect every time.
I have stayed here several times, and everything from the service to the rooms, to the Oak Room... Outstanding.

A side note... Those that complained the rooms were small... Probably price lined, name your own price and lucked out with this hotel, but you want a huge room too...lol you get what you pay for which is the smaller end rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Hello Deborah,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It's wonderful to hear that we have become such a special place for your and your family - from wedding day to anniversary celebrations! We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back for many more anniversaries to come. Thank you!

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We booked last minute at Fairmont Copley due to a problem at another hotel. we were thrilled to find a suite available for our family of 5 - surprisingly a hard set up to find. hotel was lux, beautiful, clean and with amazing views. the hotel dogs were adorable and made for a fun stay for our kids. Loved the location. Only downside was the noise from street level on friday night - think it was prom night in Boston! Would definitely stay here again - a little pricy but totally worth it!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Pretty. Incredible. Pretty incredible stay. I was there for a business conference and the hotel exceeded my expectations. It is very old and has been redone tastefully to update for modern conveniences but not change the feel of the hotel. Every part of the hotel that I was in looked fresh, not dated, as other reviews indicate. Maybe I was just lucky and got a renovated floor?

Fantastic location too! For the extra special touch, they have 2 black labs that hotel guests can "borrow" to take on a walk if you are missing your pup while away from home. The dogs just hang out by the front door and in the lobby. Love this!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Hello Kristy,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us here on TripAdvisor. I am thrilled to hear that you found your stay to be "pretty incredible" and that we exceeded your expectations! As you point out, we did indeed complete an extensive renovation of the hotel recently, which included all guest rooms and many public spaces. I'm so glad you enjoyed our canine ambassadors, Catie and Carly, as well. Thank you, again, and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Chose this hotel because we love the Fairmonts in western Canada.

This one has a plush lobby and a grand restaurant/ bar with some nice historic touches, but the 5th floor where we stayed looked tired despite some refurbishments. Suggestion: new carpet down the corridors.

Skip the breakfast which was of average quality only. As well, the waiter got our order wrong, and then didn't clear our plates when we finished. We had to go to the cashier to sign. Instead, have breakfast along nearby Newberry St.

Before staying here make sure you join the Fairmont's Presidents club which is free and gets you complimentary wifi and daily newspaper.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms seem to have premium features
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Hello Peter,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your recent stay - as you point out, we did complete a major renovation of our guest rooms and public spaces quite recently. As for your experience at the restaurant, I'd like to assure you that I have shared your post with our Manager there as I believe your comments could represent a valuable training opportunity. Thank you, again, for your feedback.

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,284 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#21 of 83 in Boston
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
1,712 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Property: Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Address: 138 St James Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#12 Family Hotel in Boston
#14 Green Hotel in Boston
#14 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury downtown Boston landmark hotel has been a symbol of the city's rich history and elegance since its gala opening in 1912. Centrally located in Boston's historic Back Bay, Fairmont Copley Plaza sits steps away from the Boston Public Library, historic Beacon Hill, the Freedom Trail, and Newbury Street. Our Boston hotel offers 383 lavish guest rooms, including 17 elegant suites. Every room has a modern look, while keeping the downtown hotel's rich history and Back Bay location in mind. In addition to 24-hour daily in-room dining service, we are home to one of the hottest drinking and dining destinations in the city, OAK Long Bar + Kitchen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelPower, Fairmont Hotels, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston Hotel Boston
Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston
Fairmont Boston
Boston Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing