We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, amazing staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Ranked #18 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This was the third time we've stayed at the Fairmont Copley in the last year. The hotel lobby is something to see, absolutely beautiful. The hotel is over 100 years old but has been refurbished in the recent past. We joined their President's Club on our first trip and we were upgraded to a suite this trip. The suite was tremendous with a great view of Copley Square. The location of this hotel is very central, easy to get to the T station at Copley or Back Bay. Newbury St is a few blocks away and The South End is a short walk away as well. The best part of this hotel is the staff, from the front desk crew to the bellmen. The concierges we've dealt with have always been extremely helpful in helping us plan a meal or a place to go. My wife and I really love this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Copley Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulrob2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Hello,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us here on TripAdvisor. I'm thrilled to hear that you've enjoyed your three stays with us this year! In particular, it such a pleasure to know that you find our staff to be "the best part." I look forward to sharing your post with my colleagues, and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you, again.

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,053 - 2,059 of 3,341 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2014

Staff was exceptional as was the service. The rooms were large but the bathrooms were to small. Breakfast on the 4 th floor was more than I expected with a good variety of foods and o' devour s to choose from. Menu at the restaurant for lunch a but meager and overpriced. Ate there only once for lunch. Good location and central. Overall I would reccomend the hotel if you can afford the price. $ 420 a night is a bit overpriced :0)

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Julide C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

A wonderful hotel in the Copley section of Boston. Great service, beautiful decor and terrific/helpful staff. The concierge desk was very helpful with getting tickets for the Bruins game and the the canine greeters were fabulous.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank bigboydlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Hello,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit, especially that my colleagues at the concierge desk were particularly helpful in acquiring those coveted Bruins tickets! We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I stayed here recently during a conference. The location is perfect, a short walk to a large mall, many historic sights, many bars and restaurants and the T (Boston Subway). Staff is professional and helpful. Room was large and clean, bed comfortable. My complaints were that I was given a room with a view of the roof, the shower was a somewhat small and walls a bit thin. Price is slightly higher than average but you generally get what you pay for. Overall a very good stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cng8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

I was very impressed with this hotel. Large rooms, friendly staff, impressive public spaces, a great bar. Location very good for the shops and about 30mins walk from the main historic sights. It felt very welcoming. I will certainly use again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank HolidayJunkie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

What a property-- second time I have stayed here in the past 6 months-- staff incredibly friendly,helpful, professional. I highly recommend joining President's Club- their loyalty program- they treat you like family.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank TAT128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

Hello,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us here on TripAdvisor. I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed both of your recent visits, and that my colleagues made you feel "like family." Thank you, again, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Internet Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

If business or pleasure takes you to Boston's Back Bay neighborhood, I heartily recommend this hotel. They have maintained the beauty and grandeur of this old hotel while tastefully updating the rooms. You'll have a hard time finding a nicer bar than the Oak Room (however, be prepared to pay $21 for a cocktail). All in all, a great stay at a fair price - an excellent overall value.

Room Tip: Try to get a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LudicrusSpeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 86 in Boston
3,470 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#39 of 86 in Boston
2,898 reviews
Back Bay
Loews Boston Hotel
Loews Boston Hotel
#15 of 86 in Boston
1,769 reviews
Back Bay
Boston Marriott Copley Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Address: 138 St James Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Boston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#13 Green Hotel in Boston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $198 - $713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury downtown Boston landmark hotel has been a symbol of the city's rich history and elegance since its gala opening in 1912. Centrally located in Boston's historic Back Bay, Fairmont Copley Plaza sits steps away from the Boston Public Library, historic Beacon Hill, the Freedom Trail, and Newbury Street. Our Boston hotel offers 383 lavish guest rooms, including 17 elegant suites. Every room has a modern look, while keeping the downtown hotel's rich history and Back Bay location in mind. In addition to 24-hour daily in-room dining service, we are home to one of the hottest drinking and dining destinations in the city, OAK Long Bar + Kitchen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston Hotel Boston
Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston
Fairmont Boston
Boston Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing