We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The little things - make the difference between a grand trip or a mediocre one...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Ranked #20 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manhattan Beach, California
1 review
“The little things - make the difference between a grand trip or a mediocre one...”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We find ourselves visiting regularly as our eldest child decided to attend College at Beantown. Prior to our arrival - the Guest Relations Manager sent us an em - offering his services and hotel BMW for short trips should we need them. We did not avail of the car service, but did get immediate response to our query re: The Regatta. The suite was very comfortable and decorated in understated luxury. The small sitting area in the lobby with etchings of Old Masters like Picasso and Matisse...adds to the overall historic appeal of Boston's Grande Dame. We have enjoyed breakfast, brunch and lunch at the Oak Room during our different visits - but never tried it for dinner as it is always so crowded. I have to say - though...that the maitre' d hotel, and the waiting staff are always eager to please. The other reviewer was disappointed there was no tub - which is not an issue for us....as I do not use public tubs. Besides, unless there is room for a separate tub and shower, I would rather take the bathrooms the way it is. I wish though...they offered slippers similar to other competitive luxury hotels - particularly, if you are staying in a suite. That would have been an added touch but not really a deal breaker.... Overall, the little things that the staff do - like the em BEFORE your arrival - and what they do UPON your arrival is what makes a difference to me in determining if our trip was grand or mediocre. Next time, we will have to try the gold floor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m_kula2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Area Manager, Internet Marketing at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hello, and thank you for your feedback. I’m so thrilled to hear that enjoyed your stay, from the “little touches” and efforts of our Guest Relations Manager, to the elegant lobby and your newly renovated guestroom. Thank you, again, for your post and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,802
    689
    253
    111
    46
See reviews for
654
948
110
840
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

A family of three with a young child. Stayed three nights in a Signature Suite on Copley Square. The outside of the building is grand and the location on Copley Square is perfect. Walked inside the front door and didn't get the usual wow factor I have got from other Fairmont properties. Instead of a grand entrance, you walk up a long corridor to the front desk. All the grandness is hidden away in ballrooms/conference rooms that are inaccessible to guests not attending functions. The front desk staff were polite but not overly helpful. More interested in their computer screens that the people in front of them. The room itself was "supposedly" newly renovated but all I noticed was bubbling wallpaper, painted over older flaking paint, and missing grout between bathroom tiles. The worlds most complicated bath/shower fixtures seemed flimsy and almost broke causing a minor flood. Worst home renovation job I've ever seen. Copley Square is very noisy and the hotel faces a busy bus stop so you get woken up very early. There always seemed to be a cleaning cart in the hallway at all times of day or night, and left over room service items everywhere (trays, food wrappers, glasses, bottles, etc.). The only place to eat on premises was the long bar. We ate there one night and the ambience, food, and service was great. However, it is not appropriate for meals at any other time of day. Needs a proper dinning room and sitting room. Overall, very expensive and not a true Fairmont experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripapalooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Area Manager, Internet Marketing at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hello and thank you for sharing your feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. While I am sorry that you were not pleased with your recent stay, we don’t typically hear that our lobby and main entrance lack a “wow factor” and I’d like to point out that the lobby restrooms are indeed open and accessible to all guests, not just those attending functions. However, I’m disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with your guestroom and did not feel our front desk team was helpful – I have shared your post with our Front Office Manager and Director of Rooms as I think your comments could represent a valuable training opportunity for our colleagues in those areas. Thank you, again, for your helpful feedback and I hope you’ll consider giving us another chance on your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The lobby is beautiful and the rooms are "just fine" but I was underwhelmed.

We decided to go for the large suite on the Gold Floor which ends up being over $850/night. The condition of the room was fine but I was surprised there was no tub. The separate toilet wasn't separate and the windows weren't double paned. Although the view of the park was nice, we listened to constant traffic and some panhandlers playing drums and synthesizer for hours on end. The same 3 songs, thank you very much.

The staff is good and a shout out to the concierige for snagging tough-to-get restaurant reservations. The Gold floor serves great apps. and breakfast, too.

For that kind of big money, however, I'd probably book the Mandarin instead.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SurfergurlEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Area Manager, Internet Marketing at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hello, and thank you for your feedback. I’m sorry that you found your experience “just fine” as we strive to exceed our guests’ expectations in every way. While I’m pleased you found our staff to be very helpful, I’m disappointed to hear that we may have fallen short otherwise. I do hope you’ll consider giving us another chance to “wow” you on your next visit. Thank you, again, for your post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
281 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 563 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We liked the location and the entranceway and public areas are very impressive. At check-in our initial positive experiences were reinforced by the clerk who told us, at some length, about the huge refurbishment programme which had just been completed, the fabulous mosaic floors which had been revealed, the zillions which had been spent, etc, etc. But when we stepped out of the lift we returned to earth. The stairwell and hallways are exceptionally dreary and have not had a good makeover for years. Our room was somewhat better, especially the bathroom, but even so the makeover had been perfunctory - oldish furniture had not been replaced, large ancient chips out of the door frames had been painted over for the nth time rather than properly restored, etc. In fact we rather liked our room and found it comfortable though it was a step down from the 'public' face of the hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FoggMurphys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant hotel right in the centre of Boston. Staff are so helpful and food exquisite. Not overly expensive either.
The resident dogs Catie Copley and Carly make it extra special, all dog lovers will understand! Our special thanks to our concierge joe who literally went the extra mile and walked to the box office to get us tickets for Million Dollar Quartet.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Davina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
204 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the gold floor rooms codes and were very impressed with the staff, especially Emily and Allison. They made us feel at home and smoothed out any minor problems we encountered, as well providing some good recommendations. They really know the meaning of hospitality. The lounge was a great spot for their excellent breakfasts and their Happy Hour hours d'oeuvres. The room was well appointed but not special, but the quality of the staff made up for it. Even in the hallways, the cleaning staff greeted us cordially. A wonderful visit.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ed-TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Area Manager, Internet Marketing at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hello and thank you for your post. I’m so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay up on the Gold Floor, and especially that my colleagues Alison and Emily were so helpful. I look forward to sharing your comments with the team! Thank you, again, for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel is located in the heart of Boston. The staff is very helpful to tourists and offered great advice on what to do in the city. Food was great. Housekeeping did a good job. The highlight of our hotel stay was the golden retriever who calls the Copley his home. You can schedule a walk with him and he can take you (lead you) on a tour of the park and surrounding area and back to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kisses2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,283 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#21 of 83 in Boston
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
1,713 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Property: Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Address: 138 St James Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#12 Family Hotel in Boston
#14 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#14 Green Hotel in Boston
#15 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury downtown Boston landmark hotel has been a symbol of the city's rich history and elegance since its gala opening in 1912. Centrally located in Boston's historic Back Bay, Fairmont Copley Plaza sits steps away from the Boston Public Library, historic Beacon Hill, the Freedom Trail, and Newbury Street. Our Boston hotel offers 383 lavish guest rooms, including 17 elegant suites. Every room has a modern look, while keeping the downtown hotel's rich history and Back Bay location in mind. In addition to 24-hour daily in-room dining service, we are home to one of the hottest drinking and dining destinations in the city, OAK Long Bar + Kitchen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Fairmont Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston Hotel Boston
Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston
Fairmont Boston
Boston Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing