We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No napkin or peanuts at the Oak Bar??”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a lovely, well run, hotel. However, as I sipped a $13 cocktail, I asked if there were any peanuts. I was sweetly told that since the renovation they don't serve peanuts. The cocktail was serve without a napkin. Really??? At these price points? Take a page from other first class hotel bars and embellish your cocktails. The Oak Room is a national
treasure.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mecmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,167 - 2,173 of 3,176 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed at the Copley Plaza for three nights during a business trip. The hotel is in a great location, right across the street from Copley square. The lobby and public areas are stunning (think beautiful chandeliers, heavy fabrics, lots of seating nooks, etc.). The doormen were extremely friendly and helpful.

My room was good sized and I had a nice view of the city. Bed was extremely comfortable. Business conveniences included outlets on the SIDE of the nightstands (very nice); but you have to know to look for them. Bathroom was small, but luxurious with marble flooring and a wonderful tub.

Flat panel TV, but the local news channels weren't in HD (so morning news was difficult to watch if you were sitting at the desk); ESPN channels are in high def, as well as HBO, etc. No HGTV for those of you who are fans.

I had breakfast each day, ~$35 for the American breakfast. one disappointment is that i'm a very small person, so my normal breakfast at home is ONE egg, ONE piece of Bacon and ONE piece of toast. I simply could not get them to deliver this order; they were insistent I had to order the huge American breakfast, so I felt very wasteful each day. I did not have time to go elsewhere. Take a note from Ritz; they will do this based upon your dietary needs vs. forcefeeding you or being wasteful.

Housekeeping was efficient; left extra coffee each day for the in room Keurig (nice!).

It take take a bit for the temperature to warm up (literally two days); but I like an extremely warm room.

The Oak Room was FANTASTIC>. I ordered the Yankee pot roast and honestly, it was the best pot roast I've ever had in my life. They also serve muffins with a Chipotle Aioli that was yummy. With a glass of pinot noir, my dinner was ~$50. Definitely would visit again.

This hotel is within walking distance of great restaurants, coffee shops, and shopping. It's right across the street from the John Hancock building, so extremely convenient for me for work as well. Definitely will be back.

Room Tip: One facing Copley Square if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Internet Marketing Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Hello! Thank you so much for sharing such a detailed review of your stay with us. I’m thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit, overall, but I’d like to take this opportunity to address your in-room dining experience. You certainly should have been able to order a smaller breakfast, so I do apologize. I’ve shared your post with our In-Room Dining Manager, Stefan Carstens, who will ensure this is communicated to his team. Thank you, again, for your feedback, and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at the Copley Plaza for 3 nights in May prior to leaving on a cruise. We had booked the hotel through the cruise line - the room we were assigned was not what we expected so asked for a better room - which, of course, cost more but was well worth it. Of particular note was the exceptional service provided by Vincent at the concierge desk. He was very helpful, accommodating and had a great sense of humor. We also loved the Oak Bar - very noisy on Saturday night but service and food were very good and the atmosphere & decor were wonderful. Location was perfect - many destinations were easily walkable. Would certainly choose the Copley Plaza when we next visit Boston.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Arizona0740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have stayed at the Fairmont at DC before but chose Boston as a treat for our 35th Anniversary. Booked a room on the Gold floor which gives complimentary access to the Gold Lounge. Room was pleasant and had a bottle of chilled Prosecco waiting for us. Very pleasant staff especially in the Gold Lounge. Nothing too much trouble, whether it be directions or restaurant bookings. My wife was looking for a particular 'crafting' product but could not find it. Denice from the Lounge found a source for us - 2 blocks from the Hotel. Only downside is noise from the a/c plant in the hotel but I think all inside facing rooms may have this problem. It was 94 degrees most of the time so maybe the a/c working overtime. All in all a really good stay.

Room Tip: Try the Gold floor - more expensive but there are some complimentary benefits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AviatorHouston_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Internet Marketing Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Hello and thank you for your post. I’m so pleased to hear that you had a great experience with us – especially that one of our colleagues went so above and beyond! I’ve shared your comments with our Fairmont Gold Manager, to ensure that Denise receives appropriate recognition for your praise. Regarding the noisy AC, we want to make sure our guests are staying cool during Boston’s occasional summer heatwaves, but I do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Thank you, again, for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great service at Reception. Big bedroom, tiny bathroom. Great Continental breakfast upstairs. Wonderful bar & restaurant downstairs. Great location. Wonderful, helpful Concierge. Not cheap. Not modern. Not funky. Just a grand old lady of a hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiallJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Internet Marketing Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Hello and thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I’m thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay up on our Fairmont Gold level, from the complimentary breakfast to the private concierge. Thank you, again, for your post. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

During my stay in Boston, I had some solo time and as a Fairmont Platinum member, I thought the Fairmont Copley Plaza would be a very central (close to subway) and posh place to stay during a business / study trip trip. I must say, it was so pristine and clean and totally close to all the hip restaurants and shopping. Also nice desk to plug in and stay up to date on work after long hot day in the city. Great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel used to be a wonderful place to stay but it has changed and not for the better. The doormen are rude and unhelpful. One actually stood inside away from the rain & cold & watched my 80 year old mother struggle out of a car with luggage & never offered to help till she got to the hotel door (yes we were on St James St right at the hotel entrance). This happened multiple times. Apparently they could not be bothered to help a guest. The restaurant is absolutely horrible except as a bar scene. The food is awful & the place is so loud you can not hear. The service for dinner is even worse (breakfast is slightly better). Limited menu & completely unappetizing. I suggest to anyone, that they go elsewhere to eat. Even Starbuck's would be preferable. The rooms are nice but overpriced. The location of the hotel is fantastic though. All in all, there are many more hotels in Boston that are better and have a good location. Sad to see such a beautiful old hotel that is so historic go so downhill. Would not suggest to any of our out of town guests to stay here ever again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Internet Marketing Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Hello Elynn and thank you for sharing your feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. I’m very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay. In regards to your experience with our doorman, I’d like to personally apologize. Our colleagues know better – I’ve shared your post with our Front Office Manager, as what you describe is unacceptable. I’m also sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your dining experience. Our restaurant is a popular spot for locals and visitors alike, and we would have been happy to recommend a less lively dining option for you. Thank you, again, for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,387 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#17 of 84 in Boston
2,354 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#33 of 84 in Boston
2,848 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#25 of 84 in Boston
1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Address: 138 St James Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Boston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#13 Green Hotel in Boston
#14 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $207 - $865 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury downtown Boston landmark hotel has been a symbol of the city's rich history and elegance since its gala opening in 1912. Centrally located in Boston's historic Back Bay, Fairmont Copley Plaza sits steps away from the Boston Public Library, historic Beacon Hill, the Freedom Trail, and Newbury Street. Our Boston hotel offers 383 lavish guest rooms, including 17 elegant suites. Every room has a modern look, while keeping the downtown hotel's rich history and Back Bay location in mind. In addition to 24-hour daily in-room dining service, we are home to one of the hottest drinking and dining destinations in the city, OAK Long Bar + Kitchen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston Hotel Boston
Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston
Fairmont Boston
Boston Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing