We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant old Hotel with great location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Ranked #22 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, UK
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Elegant old Hotel with great location and service”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have stayed at the Fairmont at DC before but chose Boston as a treat for our 35th Anniversary. Booked a room on the Gold floor which gives complimentary access to the Gold Lounge. Room was pleasant and had a bottle of chilled Prosecco waiting for us. Very pleasant staff especially in the Gold Lounge. Nothing too much trouble, whether it be directions or restaurant bookings. My wife was looking for a particular 'crafting' product but could not find it. Denice from the Lounge found a source for us - 2 blocks from the Hotel. Only downside is noise from the a/c plant in the hotel but I think all inside facing rooms may have this problem. It was 94 degrees most of the time so maybe the a/c working overtime. All in all a really good stay.

Room Tip: Try the Gold floor - more expensive but there are some complimentary benefits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AviatorHouston_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Internet Marketing Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hello and thank you for your post. I’m so pleased to hear that you had a great experience with us – especially that one of our colleagues went so above and beyond! I’ve shared your comments with our Fairmont Gold Manager, to ensure that Denise receives appropriate recognition for your praise. Regarding the noisy AC, we want to make sure our guests are staying cool during Boston’s occasional summer heatwaves, but I do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Thank you, again, for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,865
    696
    257
    116
    47
See reviews for
677
965
112
871
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great service at Reception. Big bedroom, tiny bathroom. Great Continental breakfast upstairs. Wonderful bar & restaurant downstairs. Great location. Wonderful, helpful Concierge. Not cheap. Not modern. Not funky. Just a grand old lady of a hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiallJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Internet Marketing Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Hello and thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I’m thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay up on our Fairmont Gold level, from the complimentary breakfast to the private concierge. Thank you, again, for your post. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

During my stay in Boston, I had some solo time and as a Fairmont Platinum member, I thought the Fairmont Copley Plaza would be a very central (close to subway) and posh place to stay during a business / study trip trip. I must say, it was so pristine and clean and totally close to all the hip restaurants and shopping. Also nice desk to plug in and stay up to date on work after long hot day in the city. Great stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel used to be a wonderful place to stay but it has changed and not for the better. The doormen are rude and unhelpful. One actually stood inside away from the rain & cold & watched my 80 year old mother struggle out of a car with luggage & never offered to help till she got to the hotel door (yes we were on St James St right at the hotel entrance). This happened multiple times. Apparently they could not be bothered to help a guest. The restaurant is absolutely horrible except as a bar scene. The food is awful & the place is so loud you can not hear. The service for dinner is even worse (breakfast is slightly better). Limited menu & completely unappetizing. I suggest to anyone, that they go elsewhere to eat. Even Starbuck's would be preferable. The rooms are nice but overpriced. The location of the hotel is fantastic though. All in all, there are many more hotels in Boston that are better and have a good location. Sad to see such a beautiful old hotel that is so historic go so downhill. Would not suggest to any of our out of town guests to stay here ever again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Internet Marketing Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Hello Elynn and thank you for sharing your feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. I’m very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay. In regards to your experience with our doorman, I’d like to personally apologize. Our colleagues know better – I’ve shared your post with our Front Office Manager, as what you describe is unacceptable. I’m also sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your dining experience. Our restaurant is a popular spot for locals and visitors alike, and we would have been happy to recommend a less lively dining option for you. Thank you, again, for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Copley Fairmont is a great mixture of elegance and cool. Lobby area is worth a stroll through even if you are not staying, very grand. then the Oak room bar has been renovated and is now very classy although does get crazy on weekend nights. at quieter times, its a great bar to sit comfortably and enjoy a drink and the paper. the room was a deluxe copley square view and it was perfect. newly renovated, great view, spacious, beautiful bathroom. for a high end chain hotel there is nothing else that I would have asked for. that is to say it doesnt really have any character, it is formulaic but given that is the type of hotel we are talking about, it rates highly. the gym was great too, decent views of downtown Boston rooftops while you run and water and fresh fruit offered gratis. Lastly, location is everything, Copley Square is just a great place to be if visiting Boston, can walk literally everywhere in the city from there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spurssox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The Hotel was centrally located to everything while providing a clean and beautiful hotel to stay at. Go right down the road and visit Cheers or the Boston Garden or even shop down one of their historic streets. The hotel has a great fitness center and restaurant too. Enjoy it all.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the Fairmont Copley the weekend following the tragedy at the Boston Marathon. We were in Boston for a wedding. The Copley and all the staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating even in light of everything that we happening in and around Boston (no taxi service, city was in lock-down, no mass transit). Rooms were very clean, service was impeccable and the bar area was well manned. This is an older hotel so some of the luxury of an ultra-modern place is replaced with charm. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToonPgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Internet Marketing Coordinator at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hello and thank you for your post! While that was certainly an unusual weekend here in Boston, I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We certainly appreciate your patience and understanding, as our colleagues went above and beyond to ensure our guests were looked after during this unpredictable time. Thank you, again, for your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,299 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#20 of 83 in Boston
2,235 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,273 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Property: Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Address: 138 St James Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Boston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#14 Green Hotel in Boston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury downtown Boston landmark hotel has been a symbol of the city's rich history and elegance since its gala opening in 1912. Centrally located in Boston's historic Back Bay, Fairmont Copley Plaza sits steps away from the Boston Public Library, historic Beacon Hill, the Freedom Trail, and Newbury Street. Our Boston hotel offers 383 lavish guest rooms, including 17 elegant suites. Every room has a modern look, while keeping the downtown hotel's rich history and Back Bay location in mind. In addition to 24-hour daily in-room dining service, we are home to one of the hottest drinking and dining destinations in the city, OAK Long Bar + Kitchen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston Hotel Boston
Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston
Fairmont Boston
Boston Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing