We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel in convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Ranked #20 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Superb hotel in convenient location”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Fairmont Copley Plaza is a luxury hotel which welcomes families with small children, a rarity among upscale hotels. The resident black labrador welcomes kids and makes a stay fun. The location is good, across the street from Copley Mall and the library. The only down side is the overly expensive breakfast, however there's two starbucks within a block so that shouldn't deter you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrankw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,802
    688
    253
    111
    46
See reviews for
654
948
110
839
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

If I could rank this hotel a 10 I would. Everything about our stay was perfect and that's no exaggeration. From the doorman to the front desk personnel to the gift shop attendant, and the personal attention from the concierge, this Fairmont knows what they are doing and does it well. They make you feel like you are royalty, and for the night we stayed we were.

Upon arrival, we were upgraded to the Catie Copley Suite and were we ever impressed! The room(s) were gorgeous (just recently renovated) and the designers did not miss a thing (from high end toiltetries to THE most comfortable bed and bedding, to personal photos of the star Catie Copley herself). Catie is probably one of the sweetest dogs we have ever met and my kids spoke of her for a week after wondering if we could go back just to walk her. Their own dog was probably getting a complex. We did book a package to include our own pup and the hotel treated him like family as well.

We ordered room service for both dinner and breakfast and as you would suspect the price was a bit high, but worth it to eat in front of the huge window overlooking the park with the city of Boston in view.

If we take another staycation to Boston, we will not stay anywhere else. LOVED THE FAIRMONT COPLEY PLAZA!! Bravo Fairmont! This hotel is probably one of the best we've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clamchowda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne W, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Fairmont Copley Plaza. We were delighted that your family (including your four-legged family member) enjoyed your stay with us. We will be sure to share your kind words with our colleagues. Thank you, again. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I spent a few days in this hotel on a business trip. This is my fourth visit to this hotel. Hotel decoration is excellent, classical elegant look with beautiful chandeliers, marble flooring etc.
Overall, very rich and classy look. Room was clean, big and with a nice view. Wireless network is fast and reliable.

The service and staff in this hotel is impeccable. It is one of the main reason why I keep coming back. I always feel welcomed.

There is a restaurant called "Atlantic Fish" on Boylston St. which is walking distance from the hotel. Highly recommended if you like seafood, reservation recommended.

Room Tip: If you can afford, get "de luxe" room. It was only $50 more when I booked, but it is bigge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanT99007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
297 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The minute we got out of the cab we knew we were going to love this hotel. Grand is a fitting word. Everything about it is beautiful. Check in was great. Room was extra big with huge walk in closet which was a nice touch. I don't think I've ever stayed in a hotel room that actually had a glass chandelier. Seems like its always many lamps instead. Hotel was in a great location close to shopping and historical sights. Would definitely stay here next time we visit Boston

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCM327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire Seacoast
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here recently for both business and pleasure. From the moment you approach the door you are warmly welcomed. Lawrence at the front desk was gracious and informative, providing the details about Catie, the hotel's canine ambassador, so that our children could meet and walk with her. A special thank you to Vincent, one of the Concierge, who was incrediby attentive to my family during our stay. The hotel is 100 years old but has been recently renovated. The charm and character have been retained but the rooms have all of the modern ammenities. The hotel is ideally situated in the Back Bay, across the street from the Boston Public Library, Boylston and Newbury streets. Our room was located on the main street side so some street noise was noticeable. Also, because of the hotel's age, some noise and light make there way into the room from the door to the hallway. But overall, the lasting impression is the great service we received from all of the hotel staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodies4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Internet Marketing Coordinator at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hello and thank you for sharing your feedback with us in this forum. I’m so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed such a fabulous stay with us! I’m especially pleased that you’ve recognized two of our colleagues for their outstanding service and I look forward to sharing these comments with Lawrence and Vincent. Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Took the wife here for a valentines day treat. Check in was great with no fuss...room was fantastic...spacious, modern and the bed so comfortable. We loved the decor of the reception and it certainly is grand. We ate at the long bar/oak room...the service was excellent....the meal was a little pricey but the atmosphere was great. The concierge was very helpful and booked us an amazing brunch place nearby called Acquitaine on Tremont street..this was a great find !

We're a massive fan of the Fairmont chain !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

The Fairmont Copley Plaza is in an ideal central location to permits easy walking to many Boston attractions. The new Oak Bar is fantastic for food, beverages and atmosphere.

The staff at the Copley Plaza, especially the Gold Floor, really provide insights on things to do, places to go and events to attend. We enjoyed many things recommended by the staff. The staff is very attentive to making every guest's stay a memorable stay.

Next time you are in Boston the Fairmont Copley Plaza is the place to stay!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,282 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#21 of 83 in Boston
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
1,712 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Property: Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Address: 138 St James Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Boston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#14 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#14 Green Hotel in Boston
#15 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury downtown Boston landmark hotel has been a symbol of the city's rich history and elegance since its gala opening in 1912. Centrally located in Boston's historic Back Bay, Fairmont Copley Plaza sits steps away from the Boston Public Library, historic Beacon Hill, the Freedom Trail, and Newbury Street. Our Boston hotel offers 383 lavish guest rooms, including 17 elegant suites. Every room has a modern look, while keeping the downtown hotel's rich history and Back Bay location in mind. In addition to 24-hour daily in-room dining service, we are home to one of the hottest drinking and dining destinations in the city, OAK Long Bar + Kitchen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Fairmont Hotels, Priceline, HotelPower, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston Hotel Boston
Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston
Fairmont Boston
Boston Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing