We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Fairmont in Boston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I love this hotel! i stay here as often as i can-this is the place that makes you feel like you are surrounded by old money but there are touches of the modern world. It is elegant yet cozy! The bar is understated and you are made to feel as important as anyone else! I love the food and have had nothing I wouldn't order again. Concierge service is spot on too!

Room Tip: They have renovated recently so go on line and check out their new rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcheney46052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,363 - 2,369 of 3,258 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Fairmont hotel is an awesome hotel! The staff was very friendly the concierge helped us find a restaurant for breakfast and how to get to a museum. The location is great the mall is a two blocks away and since, it was cold during our visit we were able to cross the street & enter the Westinand walk indoors to get to the mall.
The room was very clean and we had plenty of towels. The only negative comment would have to be the room thermostat we had to wait quite a bit to get the room to cool down on one day .
The Copley subway station is just on the other side of the library to get to downtown/Government station.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azulwater1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Internet Marketing Coordinator at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. It sounds like you had a lovely experience with us, and I’m especially happy to hear that you found our staff so helpful! Thanks for letting us know that you had some troubles with the thermostat – I’ve shared your post with our Director of Rooms, as this is certainly something we’d like to look into further. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay overall, and I hope we’ll be able to welcome you back soon. Thanks, again, for your post!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed at the Fairmont for a conference about once every three years and it just keeps getting better each time. Our last room with king size bed facing Copley plaza was huge with every amenity. The staff was very attentive and accommodating. We used the fitness center which was lovely but did not dine at the hotel. We ordered a simple dessert through room service which was terribly overpriced. The hotel is in an excellent location being near Newbury Street and the T.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank famtravs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went on a business trip stayed for 5 nights in October, the hotel is old but keeps its charm, my room was small but ok , bathroom was ok, lobby area was spectacular but one of the restrooms was broken and was broken during whose week, there is a dog in the lobby hat gives a touch of " house feeling" . Will probably repeat.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lsantiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I spent a week at the Fairmont for a course being held at the hotel and I felt right at home. I think it was just about perfect, can't complain about anything. The staff was always very helpful, the room was nice and clean and the bed very comfortable.
To top it off, this hotel is just about in the best place to be in Boston, in terms of shopping, so it's just about perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill7394u48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

She's wrinkled, she's lost a few inches but dresses up beautifully. This grand dame still shines even though the makeup is no longer enough to cover the flaws - surgery required. The rooms are spacious and beautiful. We weathered hurricane Sandy there and were thrilled with the high level of service we received from the veteran staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Internet Marketing Coordinator at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Hello, Kristen, and thank you for sharing your comments with us here on TripAdvisor. I’m so glad that your stay with us was a great one – and very pleased to hear that our colleagues made such a positive impression, even during a hurricane! Thank you, again, for your post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel if you want to be treated to a classic Boston experience. We really enjoyed our stay on the executive floor. It was worth the extra money. We were treated to superb personal attention, free internet access and a delicious hot breakfast. We stayed in a standard room and it was spacious and comfortable. I would have given them an excellent rating except that the shower had very poor water pressure. I opted to take a bath instead. I believe that removing the water savers from the showers would solve the problem.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muriel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,427 reviews
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#34 of 84 in Boston
2,874 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 84 in Boston
2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#17 of 84 in Boston
3,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Address: 138 St James Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Boston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#13 Green Hotel in Boston
#14 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $192 - $679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury downtown Boston landmark hotel has been a symbol of the city's rich history and elegance since its gala opening in 1912. Centrally located in Boston's historic Back Bay, Fairmont Copley Plaza sits steps away from the Boston Public Library, historic Beacon Hill, the Freedom Trail, and Newbury Street. Our Boston hotel offers 383 lavish guest rooms, including 17 elegant suites. Every room has a modern look, while keeping the downtown hotel's rich history and Back Bay location in mind. In addition to 24-hour daily in-room dining service, we are home to one of the hottest drinking and dining destinations in the city, OAK Long Bar + Kitchen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston Hotel Boston
Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston
Fairmont Boston
Boston Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing