We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a fabulous location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Fairmont Copley Plaza for 2 nights over Columbus Day weekend. We arrived fairly late on Friday night and USAirways did not manage to get our bags there with us. The young woman at the front desk was very nice and made arrangements for the bellman to hold our bags until the next morning so that we weren't awakened in the middle of the night. She also had toothbrushes and toothpaste sent up to the room. We had a lovely room on the fourth floor, which is their "gold" floor. The room was very large, modern but with nice original architectural elements. The beds were INSANELY comfortable!! I was a bit worried about noise, because that is sometimes a problem in old hotels, but it was very quiet despite the hotel being pretty much fully booked and at least 2 weddings going on while we were there. The bathroom was very nice with nice and plentiful products, large robes, and a big bathtub. MY only complaint about the room at all is poor water pressure in the shower. I don't understand why hotels put in these really nice showers but then put a pressure minimizer on the shower head.

Since we were on the Gold floor, we had access to the free breakfast buffet. It was so good! Everything was so fresh and delicious! Lots to choose from and the staff was incredible. The breakfast lounge was really pretty.

The lobby and common areas are beautiful and they have an adorable dog who lives in the lobby. Apparently you can take her for a walk if you want. Very cool. I am a huge Fairmont fan and our stay at Copley Plaza made me an even bigger fan!

Room Tip: Get a room on the Gold floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deathbycupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Internet Marketing Coordinator at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Hello, and thank you for sharing your feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. I’m so thrilled to hear that your recent stay with us was such a great one, even when faced with the frustration of delayed luggage! It’s never fun to go without the necessities when traveling, so I’m happy to hear that our Front Desk colleagues made sure you and your daughter had what you needed for the night. It’s also wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your room, as well as the complimentary breakfast buffet – I look forward to sharing your kind words with our Fairmont Gold team, as I’m sure they’ll appreciate your comments! Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,389 - 2,395 of 3,261 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

We spent 5 nights there and must say that the hotel didn't live up to our expectations. Though our room boasted 2 monstrous TV sets it was the little things we missed - like a tea-making facility that actually works without having to crawl on the floor in search of a wall socket (the power cord was too short to operate the electric kettle on the table). The location was very convenient for exploring Boston, though.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pirata4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Good location, fabulous sheets and pillows and walking to everything. Hotel bar is always way too busy but walking to other great food and drink establishments. The rooms are a decent size and all have been remodeled. Bathrooms are nice.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank CAgolfgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We spent five nights at the Fairmont Copley Plaza in a Gold room. The rooms are of a good standard. The breakfast and evening snacks provided in the Gold lounge are outstanding and we enjoyed an after dinner cocktail in the luxurious lounge each night (there is an honor system for the alcoholic drinks)

The Gold level concierges were extremely helpful. Both Nicholas and Jenny went above and beyond to enhance our stay. They are a credit to the Fairmont name.

The hotel is extremely well located with easy access to the subway system. The restaurant downstairs was the best meal we had during our visit to Boston. This restaurant is also very popular with the locals which provides for a good atmosphere.

We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank LuleGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Internet Marketing Coordinator at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Hello, and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us in this forum. I’m so pleased to hear that you had such a fabulous time staying with us on Fairmont Gold! I’ve shared your comments with Nicholas, Jenni, and the rest of the Fairmont Gold team, and they were thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Thank you so much for your post, and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

I have just returned from a 5 night stay at the Fairmont Copley Plaza. The hotel is in an excellent location. When you walk into the hotel you are greeted by a very opulent lobby area which is spotlessly clean. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The bedroom I stayed in had every amenity you could possibly think of, dressing gown, kettle, coffee maker, bathroom scales, DVD / CD player, large TV, safe, a newspaper was delivered and every night someone came and turned the bed down. The room was very clean and larger than average. I cannot fault this hotel at all and would definitely recommend it. I did not eat in the hotel but did have a cocktail in the Oak Lounge on one occasion. This lounge is always very busy and it was sometimes difficult to find a table in the afternoon / evening. I would definitely make a return visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FloJo654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Manager at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2014

Hello,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us here on TripAdvisor. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, from the grand lobby to our plentiful guest room amenities. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back to Boston soon.

Warm Regards,
Jennifer Zajac
Area Manager, Interrnet Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

One of the finest Hotels in the country. I have stayed there many times over the years. An old style luxury hotel with good service and food. Close to everything a great place to stay for the Boston marathon.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This hotel was absolutely beautiful. Apparently it is turning 100 years old this year but the restoration is impressive. I found all of the staff to be extremely customer friendly. The rooms were fairly spacious and elegant. The location is perfect and within walking distance of many sites in Boston. If you like to take mass transit, the T subway is literally 1 block from the hotel. They have a very nice roof top fitness center. It doesn't just have 1 treadmill. It has quite a few machines and a section with free weights, etc. Overall, great experience. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheGardners_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,428 reviews
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#35 of 84 in Boston
2,874 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 84 in Boston
2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#17 of 84 in Boston
3,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Address: 138 St James Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Boston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#13 Green Hotel in Boston
#14 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $192 - $679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury downtown Boston landmark hotel has been a symbol of the city's rich history and elegance since its gala opening in 1912. Centrally located in Boston's historic Back Bay, Fairmont Copley Plaza sits steps away from the Boston Public Library, historic Beacon Hill, the Freedom Trail, and Newbury Street. Our Boston hotel offers 383 lavish guest rooms, including 17 elegant suites. Every room has a modern look, while keeping the downtown hotel's rich history and Back Bay location in mind. In addition to 24-hour daily in-room dining service, we are home to one of the hottest drinking and dining destinations in the city, OAK Long Bar + Kitchen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston Hotel Boston
Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston
Fairmont Boston
Boston Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing