We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not My Favorite Fairmont”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Ranked #22 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Not My Favorite Fairmont”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This Fairmont is greatly improved, the room decor is very nice, compared to when I stayed a few years ago thanks to the expensive renovation, but overall, the hotel service and rooms fall short of the Fairmont standard found in their other hotels. This is particularly true of the service at this hotel, the serving at group events is slow, the food OK, room service poor, and they did not allow late check-out for Fairmont president members. Despite the renovations, the rooms remain an awkward shape and the walls remain paper thin, it is unfortunate they didn't invest in some sound proofing so be sure to get a room away from the noise of the elevators. The light from the hallways together with the noise comes easily through the inch gap under the door. Paid for a higher end room but ended up with a room overlooking the interior due to lack of availability. It is not my favorite Fairmont and I am holding it to a higher standard due to the room cost, but you could certainly do worse for a hotel in Boston.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators due to thin walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,868
    700
    257
    116
    47
See reviews for
679
969
112
872
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lexington, ky
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

we attended a seminar here and it was a delight the hotel was very helpful the catering food was top notch and the location was great. the fair and market taking place in the square was an added bonus. also it is within walking distance of the mall at the prudential complex and you must go up in the tower to get the best views of boston.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkcraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Excellent location accross from trinity church and public libray and a short taxi or no more than 30 minute walk to almost every great historic, kid friendly, (as in the acquarium!) and shopping areas of boston. Although old school, it has a bit of a hip feel due to the newly renovated oak room restaurant and a perfect rooftop state of the art gym. Rooms are urban center smaller than you would expect, but it's Boston and the rooms are quite.... Excellent food (and night scene) at the restaurant. Staff was very friendly and understood our needs of entertaining a 6 year old. Room service menu had vegan, raw etc choices which really showed that the hotel could combine early 20th century charm with todays choices. if the weather is miserable, it's a quick dash accross the street to the main high end mall that hosts Barneys, Neiman and the Westin hotel. So kid friendly, business perfect, and we'll be back!

Room Tip: join the fairmont President's club to get first choice on comp upgrades
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddyh86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer Z, Internet Marketing Coordinator at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hi there, and thank you for sharing your comments with us here on TripAdvisor. Traveling with small children can be quite stressful, so I’m happy to hear our staff was able to anticipate your needs and make your stay so enjoyable! I’m also glad you had a chance to check out our new restaurant, as well as some of the historic sites in the neighborhood. Thank you for your post, and I hope we’ll be able to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Recently spent a weekend in Boston staying at the Fairmont Copley Plaza.
This is a very elegant hotel in a good location just a short walk from Newbury and Boylston streets where you can find some excellent restaurants and bars.
Also close to the Prudential Building where you can pick up the Boston Duck Tour for a really informative and fun tour of the City.
The Hotel staff were all friendly and very helpful.
The Bar has been refurbishment and it was certainly buzzing on the evening that we were there.
Hotel is relatively expensive but probably what you would expect for a City centre hoetl of this calibre.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianT55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neutral Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This was the best hotel we stayed in during our month holiday of the US.
We spent 3 nights here & we were blown away by the beauty of the property such a grand old place.
Our room was fantastic the shower so spacious and loved the double basins!
Loved the free Wi-Fi for President Club members (free membership online)
Valet parking was expensive but pretty much standard in Boston, it was a good quick service.
The only thing which slightly tarnished my stay was that I had to make a 3 minute phone call to Australia which cost me $30 I was very disappointed with this considering it would cost me $2 to make that same call from home to the US.
The location was great close to Newbury Street and close to subways which we caught to Boston Common and also Fenway Park
I would love to stay at this property again if I was in Boston!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eeliechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The architecture is stunning and charming. The hotel is well located opposite the historic Trinity church and near subway stations. The room is not big but adequate and well appointed. The bed is big and comfortable.

Room Tip: We were allocated a lower floor room initially which wasn't very nice (despite our original spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittyhawkCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We spent 4 nights at this hotel, and we will be staying there every time we go to Boston. In my eyes, the location is perfect. It also offers a pretty good value for money, considering what accommodation costs in Boston.

The only downside is that, this being an old property, the bathrooms are less than perfect. Despite obvious recent renovations, one can still see where they tried to save money - in our bathroom the two light fixtures didn't match and there were two different types of ceramic tiles. The bathtub was a bit beaten up. The bathroom still looked clean, just not very impressive.

On the upside, the rooms seem to be from another era too - in a good sense. Our room was a lot bigger than any room one can ever get in a new hotel. It made for a very comfortable stay with our two children.

Location is excellent. The hotel is a few minutes walk away from Boston Common, and it's also the best place to be if shopping is what you are after. Many excellent dining choices are within walking distance as well.

We even walked to the children's museum, but we did need a stroller for our 2-year old, as it took a bit more than 30 minutes. Half of it was a very pleasant walk through the park, but the other half took us through some not-so-touristy areas of Boston. But I guess that's how one gets to know a city!

Overall, we really liked the Copley Plaza - it offered the perfect location with good facilities. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bringing_the_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,300 reviews
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#19 of 83 in Boston
2,237 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,274 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Property: Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Address: 138 St James Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Boston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#14 Green Hotel in Boston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury downtown Boston landmark hotel has been a symbol of the city's rich history and elegance since its gala opening in 1912. Centrally located in Boston's historic Back Bay, Fairmont Copley Plaza sits steps away from the Boston Public Library, historic Beacon Hill, the Freedom Trail, and Newbury Street. Our Boston hotel offers 383 lavish guest rooms, including 17 elegant suites. Every room has a modern look, while keeping the downtown hotel's rich history and Back Bay location in mind. In addition to 24-hour daily in-room dining service, we are home to one of the hottest drinking and dining destinations in the city, OAK Long Bar + Kitchen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Fairmont Hotels, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston Hotel Boston
Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston
Fairmont Boston
Boston Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing