We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a tourist. V.comfy bed. Try the "Fairmont Gold"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 15, 2008

After browsing the reviews here, we decided to book a Gold Signature room at the Fairmont Copley Plaza for our 5 night stay in Boston in mid December and we were certainly not disappointed. As we had a long flight from Australia to Boston, we decided to arrange for a car to meet us at the airport. I called the hotel concierge a week before to arrange this and the driver was there to meet our late night flight which was most welcome after our very long day of travelling.

The hotel was really well located for a tourist in Boston. Many attractions are within walking distance, a subway station is across the street and the Amtrak rail station is a couple of blocks away. We hired a car from Avis when we left Boston and it was also walking distance near the Amtrak station.

The hotel is a beautiful historic building - only 6 0r 7 storeys high - with lots of ambiance. It reminded us of the Willard Hotel in Washington DC, where we have stayed previously. The rooms have all been renovated but still have that classic style rather than a modern look. Our room was a good size and the King bed was extremely comfortable. We slept very soundly during our stay. The Fairmont Gold concept is excellent. The whole of the 4th Floor is devoted to Fairmont Gold rooms and the dedicated concierge, lounge and breakfast room is based at one corner near the elevators. We had a room facing Copley Square which provided excellent views. The windows are double glazed, so it was very quiet.

While the cost of the Gold rooms is more than the normal guest rooms, the inclusions make up for the difference. For example, the buffet breakfast with waiter service is free, the internet is free, overnight shoe shine is free and you have access to a large lounge area with an open fire, newspapers, games etc. The breakfast was excellent and it was very easy to walk from your room to the lounge area each morning. The Gold staff was delightful, friendly, personal and extremely helpful. For example, we locked our selves out of our room one morning and they prepared two more keys while we had breakfast, wrapping them in a huge red ribbon so we wouldn't miss them. The concierge even remembered our room number.

Our experience at the Fairmont Copley Plaza was wonderful and really made our visit to Boston an enjoyable one. We would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a 4/5 star experience in Boston. We got an excellent rate online at the hotel's website and felt the rate was very good value when considering all the inclusions.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank AusTravellerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,895 - 2,901 of 3,261 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2008

I loved staying in this hotel. I was booked here purely by accident for the final night of a week-long business trip to Boston, and loved it. The service was top-notch, the room was plush, and the amenities left nothing to be desired. I would stay here again under any circumstances. I loved the room's decor and layout; the bathroom was stunningly designed (I even took photos for inspiration in my own home), and of course the hotel itself is remarkable to behold. The location is certainly convenient to many Boston attractions, such as the Public Garden. Great hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank snoussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2008

On approach to this hotel i wasnt really impressed by the exterior . While fine it just didn't seem to live up to the pictures I'd seen on the hotel website.

Well the old phrase, never judge a book by its cover was never more appropiate.

On entering we were ushered in by tradionally uniformed doormen to a beautiful lobby and checked in. Our room wasnt ready and was asked to wait in the Oak Bar. Thirty inutes later i enquired if it was ready yet and they were extremely appologetic as it was not and handed me a token for free drinks.

This was no hardship as the Oak Bar was beautifully resting with oak panneling and tradionally furnished in a gentleman club type manner or in a very tradional London hotel style manner.

We were to spend a few evenings there and found it to be both vibrant with a classy air and popular with Bostonians. The cocktails may appear expensive but they are large and strong.

In the lobby we noticed a black dog a labarodor i think and was informed that it was the hotel mascot called Catie Copley. Well i want that job as she was rubbed and loved by everyone and when not being cooed over she was asleep in her kennel.....a fantastic mascot.

The room was ok, a mini suite but as it was on the inside overlooking a roof it seemed dark. The hotel has been renovated recently and though you knew that, the decorating seemed a little sombre. But the comfort and quality could not be faulted. I was a little disappointed that the internet wasnt free as in many American hotels but it wasnt as expensive as some European ones.

We didn't dine in the hotel, but brunch was fantastic and the Oak Room was as classy as the Bar.

The location of the hotel was fantastic close to many of Bostons sights and within walking distance of the city centre. If you are a shopper then there were two malls close by and of course Newbury Street which even with the £/$ rate in your favour will give your credit card/wallet a severe going over.

The staff were attentive personable and above all professional.

I would high recommend this hotel as a bastion of tranquility over and above the, seen it a million times sameness of the big chains

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 747wade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2007

The Fairmont Copley Plaza is a magnificient hotel for its location, its building and for service. The hotel, a magnificient Renaissance building, stands in Copley Plaza near Boston Public Library, Trinity Church and Hancock Tower. Everything is within walking distance. The lobby is absolutely superb. Even if you don't stay at the hotel you should walk in !

So is the service from the door to your room ! Great Fairmont service. Check-in was courteous and rapid.

The room, although this is an historic building, is modern (obviously renovated) and spacious with all marble washrooms ! The bed is really confortable. The desk though is a little tight for work. There is internet access in the room. You really feel like your living a good life when you stay there !

The fitness center is well equipped although in a small room.

So fabulous historic hotel with modern amenities and superb service. I really enjoyed my stay at this Fairmont.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Sylvainautourdumonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2007

Stayed in one of the 'Gold' rooms - which means you have your own floor with its own reception and also a dedicated lounge for all the people on the floor. First impressions of the hotel were that the location was excellent - right in the heart of Boston and a very nice looking building from the outside. We walked into a massive lobby which did not appeal to me at all. It has a large busy railway station type vibe. Luckily we had our own check in on the 'Gold floor' - this went very smoothly and we were taken to our room (a double room for 2 people). We were very surprised by how tiny the room was! So we asked if we could change rooms and this was gladly done by the very nice and efficient lady at reception. We were taken to another room which was double the size! It had a few issues though. There was absolutely no storage space, the shower power was poor, and the TV was in a very odd position and very far away from the bed so we never even ended up watching it at all. However we had a great stay and the service was excellent - including the reception and room serice. I would definetly return.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Meheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2007

This is a classy hotel in a great location in the center of the city. We stayed here just for a one night getaway and we were happy. The room was very nice, large, incredibly decorated and clean. The steak house in the hotel is one of Boston's best and the dog that lives in the lobby is fun to play with. It is in a great location where you can walk to a lot of things and is near several stations and also the Amtrak/commuter rail station.

  • Stayed: October 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soxskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2007

I recently stayed at the hotel. The standard room although renovated was still shabby in some detail. The room is uncomfortable other than for sleeping. No place to sit. Extremely over priced even at a discounted rate I received.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtraveler34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,429 reviews
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#35 of 84 in Boston
2,874 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 84 in Boston
2,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#17 of 84 in Boston
3,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Address: 138 St James Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#12 Family Hotel in Boston
#13 Green Hotel in Boston
#14 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $192 - $679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury downtown Boston landmark hotel has been a symbol of the city's rich history and elegance since its gala opening in 1912. Centrally located in Boston's historic Back Bay, Fairmont Copley Plaza sits steps away from the Boston Public Library, historic Beacon Hill, the Freedom Trail, and Newbury Street. Our Boston hotel offers 383 lavish guest rooms, including 17 elegant suites. Every room has a modern look, while keeping the downtown hotel's rich history and Back Bay location in mind. In addition to 24-hour daily in-room dining service, we are home to one of the hottest drinking and dining destinations in the city, OAK Long Bar + Kitchen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston Hotel Boston
Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston
Fairmont Boston
Boston Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing