We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome service, especially during the Boston Marathon.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Ranked #19 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The Fairmont Copley Plaza is a fabulous hotel - we have stayed there two years in a row for the Boston Marathon and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. Both times we had rooms on the Gold Floor. The Gold Floor staff is amazing, ready and willing to help with any request. The food in the Gold Floor lounge was great - excellent warm breakfasts and lots of proper snacks/goodies for post-marathon re-fuelling. We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenlikesbeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,615 - 2,621 of 3,255 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2011

At right angles to both Boston City Library and Trinity Church, and facing onto Copley Square, this hotel is in a great location. When we arrived a farmers' market was in progress on the square.
The Copley is impressive and certainly has the wow factor. The lobby is like a mini Versailles, complete with chandeliers and mirrored doors. We stayed two days and plushness of the lobby area never lost its impact.
Room decor was faux Edwardian and it was very comfortably fitted out. Particularly impressive was the silver and black marble bathroom.
Of course this all came with a hefty price tag.
Our stopover here cost us more than anywhere else we stayed in Massachusetts.
But the experience was all show and no substance really.
Breakfast would never be included in such a grand place and internet use in the room was priced exorbitantly. Our first stopover on a 12 day trip, I wondered later why humbler, CHEAPER but just as comfortable hotels could offer free wireless internet but not the lofty Copley.
Wonderful to look at and pass through it may be, but it totally lacks the essential ingredient of any hotel - hospitality! By all means stay there, but expect to pay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Tripstaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWTravelerBoston, Regional Director of PR at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2011

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed our central location and our elegant building. As a point of clarification, wireless internet access is complimentary for Fairmont Presidents Club members, which is free to join so I do hope that you will consider that for your next stay. In the meantime, thank you for sharing, and we hope that we'll see you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

This is a very nice hotel in a good location. Convenient to Subway, restaurants, sights. We had a deluxe double plus rollaway for family of four and it was fine. Nice bathroom! I would stay here again if visiting Boston!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4hends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for five days. It was wonderful. My room and ensuite on the First Floor were huge! It was by far the largest and most comfortable room that I had during my entire six week holiday.

When you arrive at the hotel you're greeted by Catie Copley. The beautiful (and very friendly) Catie is the Fairmont Hotel's Canine Ambassador. You can't help but fall in love with her! Make sure that you buy a copy of Catie’s two books “Catie Copley” and “Catie Copley’s Great Escape”. Both books are written by Deborah Kovacs and Jared T. Williams. A portion from the sale of each book goes to the Guide Dog Foundation for the Blind. When you buy the book, make sure that you get it ‘pawtographed’ by Catie.

The staff at the Fairmont Copley Plaza are very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. I was astonished that on the second day of my stay, the Concierge not only remembered my name but also happily chatted about the sightseeing that I was planning to do during rest of the day. She was wonderful! Even though the hotel was very busy, the Concierge never failed to have kind, friendly word – something that is very much appreciated when you’re a solo traveller from the other side of the world.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quokka7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

I'm not sure whether the low point of the trip was when there was dried blood on my bed sheets, when the sheets weren't changed, or when I was handed the replacement sheets to put on myself. Incredibly disappointing stay!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tomm086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWTravelerBoston, Regional Director of PR at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2011

Thank you for your post. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please know that, as you can see from other posts in this forum, this is not the typical service experience received at The Fairmont Copley Plaza. I do hope that you will consider the hotel in the future. Thank you, again, for sharing your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

When you look at the interior photos of this hotel, you know it is something special. Grand public areas, beautiful ballrooms, spiral staircases, elaborate bar and dining areas all convey the luxurious spirit of this historic hotel. The check-in process was easy with a helpful staff. The concierge is right by and happy to help as his dog rests at his feet in the lobby (a la the Chateau Frontenac in Quebec, another Fairmont property) and gets a friendly scratch from the hotel guests.

This romantic experience kind of stopped for us at the first floor.

Now it is an older hotel, designed by the same architect of the famed Plaza Hotel in New York (also a Fairmont property,) but our room was no where on the same level as the Plaza. First off it was small. I can live with small, but our friends were down the hall, with the exact same rate, booked at the same time, and their room was at least twice the size as ours! Secondly our room had a queen sized bed and theirs had a king. Not a big deal, but it would certainly require one to specify what type of room they were seeking if it mattered to them.

The bathroom was also small, with a tub-shower combo, but the shower curtain only covered 2/3rds of the shower area. There is a big hole. If you are seeking privacy while you bathe...you'll have to ask for it from your partner since the curtain does not hide the space you are in. This all being said, we'd certainly stay here again, we'd just be more specific about the room.

We ate in the hotel and the food was fine. The bar area was beautiful with a good crowd each night and the hostess and staff were all friendly and prompt.

You have read the fitness room is not up to par for a hotel at the level of a Fairmont and the spa is nonexistant. My wife went to the GretaCole Spa in the hotel right next door and very much enjoyed her massage.

Centrally located to much to see in Boston in a walkable area, and cabs were easy to come by for the longer trips.

Checkout was simple and the staff and doormen were courteous.

Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: There seems to be lots of room sizes at the same "rate class" so be sure to ask for what y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamesplatzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWTravelerBoston, Regional PR Director at Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2011

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Fairmont Copley Plaza. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and will look forward to welcoming you back. I read your comments about the fitness center and guestrooms, and I'm sorry that they didn't meet your expections. We will, however, be undergoing a renovation of all our guestrooms which will be completed in spring 2012 in time for our Centennial Celebration. In addition to our guestrooms we will be adding a new fitness center to our roof, which will debut in fall of 2011. There will be some exciting enhancements to the hotel, and we look forward to having you experience them during a future stay. Again, thank you for sharing in this forum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

All together the Fairmont Copley Plaza is a good hotel. It benefits from being in a beautiful historic building in a fantastic location.
The staff, when around, are friendly and helpful, just don't hang around waiting for them to open the front door.
The hotel is not cheap, but does offer rooms to those looking to pay a bit above average without breaking the budget. One note of caution would be that not every room within a room description (e.g. Deluxe) meets the advertised standards.
Parking is not cheap, but is practically placed for visiting the city and you won't need to get the car out to get around once you're there.
The room was decently sized with a nice bathroom and comfortable bed. The only drawback was the extremely loud air conditioning, which sounded like someone was driving a motorbike around inside in the room in the middle of the night

Room Tip: View of Copley Square, but be aware that this will be busy 24 hours a day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliSmyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,425 reviews
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#34 of 84 in Boston
2,874 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 84 in Boston
2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Westin Copley Place, Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#17 of 84 in Boston
3,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston

Address: 138 St James Avenue, Boston, MA 02116-5002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Boston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#13 Green Hotel in Boston
#14 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#15 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $192 - $679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury downtown Boston landmark hotel has been a symbol of the city's rich history and elegance since its gala opening in 1912. Centrally located in Boston's historic Back Bay, Fairmont Copley Plaza sits steps away from the Boston Public Library, historic Beacon Hill, the Freedom Trail, and Newbury Street. Our Boston hotel offers 383 lavish guest rooms, including 17 elegant suites. Every room has a modern look, while keeping the downtown hotel's rich history and Back Bay location in mind. In addition to 24-hour daily in-room dining service, we are home to one of the hottest drinking and dining destinations in the city, OAK Long Bar + Kitchen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston Hotel Boston
Fairmont Copley Plaza Boston
Fairmont Boston
Boston Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing