We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my cup of tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Boston
Ranked #33 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 5, 2004

Centerfolds is a strip bar in the red light district. Boston abounds with many venues around and near this hotel. Fenuil Hall, Quincy Market, the Freedom Trail, Parks, and other venus worth seeing and doing. I disagree with your assesment of this hotel. If it took 1 hour for you luggage to arrive, did you take the time and call anyone after 15 minutes had elapsed. I have stayed at many Hyatt hotels, I find this assesment to be completly out of focus. Having stayed overinght many times at this location, I have never been woken up by food service carts rolling by, nor the 'thin walls" as the author stated. Perhaps a pair of earplugs would be helpful. On the contrary, I have found the rooms to be clean, beds were comfortable, and the only noise that I head was fire trucks going by one time. As for the location, sure its downtown, but it is central to most places to go. I and my wife have attended concerts in the park until 11PM and have never had a problem walking back, or for that matter, walking to chinatown late at nite for a bite to eat. For the $12 USD you have to pay tor a movie, nextime watch HBO for free or go to the Lowe's Cinima around the corner and pay more.

1  Thank SteveRBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,968)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,578 - 3,584 of 3,968 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2004

We stayed here from 22 - 25 October for $100 a night via Hotwire and found it very good and excellent value. Our room was large and very comfortable. The desk staff, concierge and chambermaid were all friendly and helpful.

A highlight for us was the wonderful breakfast buffet in the hotel restaurant (very ambient, lots of light wood, colourful modern art and soft jazz). For $15 ($7 per child) you can fuel up on cereals (including a deliciously creamy, fruity Bircher porridge), fresh fruit salad, bagels, smoked salmon, cold meats, pastries, eggs, bacon, sausages, french toast, pancakes - I could go on and on - we made it our main meal of the day!

The location in a kind of no man's land between Downtown Crossing and Chinatown is extremely central and convenient for shops, attractions and transport. However, the actual block the entrance to the hotel is on is pretty quiet, just banks and parking lots, and not many people or cars around, so we did feel a bit vulnerable walking around there early in the morning or after dark.

Having said that, we'd very happily stay there again, especially now we're more oriented to the city.

Thank kayess00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Munich, Germany
729
Reviewed October 24, 2004

We had a very pleasant stay at the Hyatt from 13. - 15.09.04. We got a room on the highest floor with a great view. The room was clean but you can see, that the upcoming renovations aren`t a bad idea.

The staff was very friendly and erverything worked fine. The location is very good - just two blocks from the boston common and the about 10 -15 minutes by foot to the Harbour/Quincy market. The hotel is very safe, as you can`t get to the elevators to the room without walking along the desk (you have to get by an elevator to the lobby level, where the elevators to the rooms start). The swimmingpool is nice, although very sterile. If you can get a room for less than 100$ it`s really a very good deal.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
24
Reviewed October 21, 2004

My friend and myself stayed at this Hotel October 15-19th. I was very disappointed in the hotel. You had to use 2 separate elevators to get to the ground floor. The information packet said the hotel had a jacuzzi and public internet acces, neither which was true. The pool was on the 6th floor and you had to take 3 flights of stairs to get to it. The walls and doors where very thin. Early in the morning you could hear the breakfast carts rolling down the hall and it would wake us up. The drinks at the bar were way too expensive. There wasn't anything close by to do except for Centerfolds. If you wanted to watch a movie it was $12. The TV was small. We checked our bags on the first day with the doorman and we didn't get our bags until and hour later. The only highlight of the hotel was the consiere service. They gave out great directions and free passes to Centerfolds.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
428
Reviewed October 10, 2004

We booked this hotel on Priceline and got it for $42/night. Our room was pretty good, not tiny, clean and the King-bed was pretty cushy. This hotel is close to a T-station, Chinatown and about 10+ minutes walking distance to Fanueille Hall. It's a good location if you want to be near the "touristy" areas. We heard they're remodeling in November 2004, so it should be even nicer for a great bargain! Staff was friendly and helpful. We had a nice view of downtown. If we go to Boston again, I wouldn't mind staying here again.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2004

I rented via Hotwire. Under $100 unbelievable for this good location. Room was real nice too.

All the historical sites are nearby, the Boston Green too. Subway was convient for our trip to Fenway. Good restraunts are nearby (China town too). I felt comfortable in the neighborhood.

We parked at the neaby movie parking which saved a few bucks.

Driving in Boston is crazy with the crooked one way streets. Have this mapped out or bring a good navigator.

Thank Visalia11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2004

This place is great. Big room, nice bathroom, lots of TV channels and a great location. Good pool and friendly staff. If you do go to Boston and don't stay here, you should still go to the bar about 10pm and order some food. Its excellent. Nice and relaxed. I read one review that complained about the rugs or carpet being worn. All I can say to that is if you're going to be focusing on things like, there's something wrong with you. I didn't notice anything bad at all and everything was immaculate.

Thank boogs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Boston

Address: 1 Ave De Lafayette, Boston, MA 02111-1739
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Boston
#25 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#31 Family Hotel in Boston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#43 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $145 - $652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the city's downtown destination, Hyatt Regency Boston, where luxury and convenience collide. Steps from Boston's most desirable area-attractions such as the Boston Common, Faneuil Hall, and Boston's famous shopping destination, Newbury Street, the hotel sits at the edge of the city's excitement. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit the Museum of Fine Arts, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just minutes from Hyatt Regency Boston. Experience Boston's exhilarating 24-hour neighborhood and burgeoning restaurant scene that includes our casually chic restaurant, Avenue One. Relax in our heated, indoor saline pool and stay energized in the StayFit Gym. Convenient to the Theater District, the Financial District and attached to Macy's for convenient shopping, our downtown Hyatt hotel is also a 10 to 15 minute walk to the South End, Back Bay, the Charles River Esplandade, and is connected to the "T," Boston's mass transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing