We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, courteous, convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Boston
Ranked #32 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
The Dalles, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Clean, courteous, convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We only stayed one night. From the time we arrived until we left we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, quiet and had a good view. The location is tough to get to for a person with no experience in Boston but it is a short walk to the heart of historic Boston, China Town, theaters and the financial district. The route getting out of the City is much easier.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,498
    1,224
    509
    186
    76
See reviews for
848
993
175
923
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed at this hotel, while I was attending a meeting in Boston a few months ago. The staff at the reception was very friendly, and I was able to access my room after my arrival. Also, the staff informed me that my parcel (something I ordered prior to my trip) was ready to be delivered to my room during my check-in. The room was very spacious and clean. The hotel was in close proximity to many restaurants. Overall, I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel, and I would certainly return to stay at this hotel if I travel to Boston.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tse Wing Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Great central location--near theaters, one block to subway station, 3 blocks to park. Nice room, comfortable bed. Bathroom could use some aesthetic work, but everything was clean/functional. Nice staff overall.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christa4of4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

The location is downtown, near the business areas but also the happening late night spots and Boston Commons. Good for business or tourists.

Clean. Good staff. Great breakfast. Nice cocktails at the bar (reasonably strong drink)

Building needs a proper renovation. Rooms are looking tired, but reasonably maintained.

Pool and gym are way too far a walk to get to, down 3 flughts of stairs, but decent when you get there.

Im told they are renovating in november

No regency club in this one for now...



Helpful?
Thank EugeK
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Very disappointed with the front desk attitude over the two days. I don't know if it is a cultural thing or bad training. The room itself was fine, but if you are looking for smiling, welcoming staff, forget it. Also, poor acoustics in lobby, very loud.

Room Tip: Bribe the front desk?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hello, Ken R, We appreciate your comments regarding your past stay with us at Hyatt Regency Boston. I sincerely apologize on behalf of the front desk for the unsatisfactory service you received during your stay. What is usually authentic and friendly hospitality, was mediocre for you. This will be addressed with our associates to ensure this does not happen. We hope this does not defer you from staying with us in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly If you have any further comments and question. All my best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
235 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

I stayed here with my wife to see some historic sights and a attend a dinner cruise. This hotel was very efficiently run with a courteous and attentive staff. The interior was ascetically pleasing and stylish throughout from the bar area and lobby to the hotel hallways. Our room was large and comfortably relaxing with a breathtaking view of the city. We slept well in the comfortable bed and fine linens.We enjoyed the menu and drinks at the bar, as well as the unbelievable breakfast buffet at the hotel restaurant. The gym had all the amenities one would need such as steamed towels, complimentary head phones, and eucalyptus sauna.

The only negative was that the women's sauna was not operating at the time.

This hotel was centrally located to shopping, restaurants, museums, and night life. We will definitely stay here again. I would highly recommend this establishment where the management pays extraordinary attention to small details.

Room Tip: Although obvious, remember to request a higher level room for the best views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SB5248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hello, SB5248, We are very happy to hear you had such an enjoyable time in Boston and a pleasant stay at our hotel. Our team takes great pride in welcoming our guests much as we would our own family. It's our goal is to create a home-away-from-home and the entire team is thrilled to have read your comments –thank you! As they say, breakfast is the most important meal a day and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed the offerings from our culinary team. We are sorry to hear about the sauna, which, unfortunately has to be manually turned on and takes a little time to warm up. Please know, when staying at our hotel, our team is always just a quick phone call away. We are more than happy to turn on the sauna before you arrive in our gym. Thank you again for your comments, we look forward in welcoming you back! All my best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

One of many trips to Boston but first time at this Hyatt. Had tickets to see Phantom with my husband and nineteen year old daughter. Decided to stay here because of its proximity to the opera house. We arrived at 10 pm on Thursday to a sold out hotel. I had booked an upgraded high floor view double room but they had none left even though I had booked and paid for one. The very nice, apologetic lady (feel bad I forgot her name) felt very badly and searched a bit trying to accommodate us. We finally had to settle for a lower floor room. She deducted $100 from the original room rate for each of the three nights and also added 3 buffet breakfasts for us for all three nights of our stay!!! Wow! Need I say we were very pleased! The room was also a hypoallergenic room and also had a wonderful view! We called for a few items and they were delivered immediately. It was clean and didn't feel too worn as some have posted.
We enjoyed the Buffett breakfast very much!! We had cooked to order pancakes and wonderful omelets. Delicious hot coffee, juice, cereals, breads and loads of other choices. Waiters were so friendly and great service.
Pool very warm and clean. Great workout room. Used both daily. Nice sun terrace to relax on.
Yes parking is pricey but hey it's the city! We self parked in the garage for $36 a day and were within 50feet of the Hyatt entrance. Very easy in and out.
This Hyatt was located in such a great spot. We have stayed at 4 and 5 star hotels in Boston but this will be our spot in the future. Perfect location for walking all over. This trip we spent time in the north end, park, beacon hill , aquarium - no subway- we prefer to walk!
So yes this hotel is a bit pricey (what hotels in boston aren't?!) but they go above and beyond to make sure you are happy, at least that was our experience. I felt the Buffett was pricey so we hadn't booked it. Having had a chance to try it for free- loved it, convenient, and would spend the money for it on our next stay.
I would not hesitate to book here; we had a wonderful experience our first stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ctls414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Hello Ctls414, Thank you for taking the time to write your review! We are happy to hear that you had such a fantastic stay, and apologize again that we were unable to accommodate your upgrade. It is a delight to hear that you were impressed with exceptional service, at the front desk, in Avenue One and with housekeeping. We do hope that you'll visit us again, soon. Please be in touch should you need anything at all. Best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#27 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Boston

Property: Hyatt Regency Boston
Address: 1 Avenue de Lafayette, Boston, MA 02111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Boston
#23 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#31 Family Hotel in Boston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#43 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the city's downtown destination, Hyatt Regency Boston, where luxury and convenience collide. Steps from Boston's most desirable area-attractions such as the Boston Common, Faneuil Hall, and Boston's famous shopping destination, Newbury Street, the hotel sits at the edge of the city's excitement. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit the Museum of Fine Arts, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just minutes from Hyatt Regency Boston. Experience Boston's exhilarating 24-hour neighborhood and burgeoning restaurant scene that includes our casually chic restaurant, Avenue One. Relax in our heated, indoor saline pool and stay energized in the StayFit Gym. Convenient to the Theater District, the Financial District and attached to Macy's for convenient shopping, our downtown Hyatt hotel is also a 10 to 15 minute walk to the South End, Back Bay, the Charles River Esplandade, and is connected to the "T," Boston's mass transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing