We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Boston
Ranked #34 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sanford
1 review
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Everything was great, room was pleasant and spacious, good value for the money, staff was excellent, restaurant and staff were great, location,cleaning staff not always efficient, sometimes forgot to clean room or leave supplies, transportation excellent, doorman was very helpful!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,625
    1,297
    540
    197
    90
See reviews for
948
1,050
187
985
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We visited Boston at the end of April 2014 and stayed at this hotel for two nights.

Travelling as a family of four, we decided to go for a Lafayette Suite on a higher floor. The suite accommodated us well during our short stay, but should we have stayed longer a two room solution would have been a better option.

The suite was of a reasonable size, but not the largest in this class in my opinion. Room amenities were up to the high Hyatt standard, and anything extra you need the fantastic staff will provide.

I would view the hotel location as very suitable for a Boston visit, being centrally located near all the attractions without being too close to create transport issues.

As we were staying for such a short time we used the services of the concierge, this proved invaluable. He advised we use the Old Town Trolley Bus organisation, which provided a hop on/hop off service around all the relevant Boston sights/attractions (Separate Trip Advisor article). He also gave us great breakfast options; please see my article on the South Street Diner.

We loved Boston, and this hotel certainly provides an excellent base for a visit.

Room Tip: Great breakfast at the South Street Diner, ask for directions (5 min walk)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinBancroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hello, MartinBancroft, Thank you so much for your kind review. We are thrilled that you found our hotel location to be very suitable for a Boston visit. We are lucky to be so centrally located near famous area attractions and restaurants. We hope to welcome you back to Boston, soon. We'll ensure that the two room accommodations are able to suit your stay better than the suite. All my best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We booked the hotel while driving to Boston, online. We arrived at 6:40 pm. Check in was very pleasant although our room with a king bed was not ready. They offered to put us in a nice two full bed room or to check our bags and they would call us while we left for dinner when the room was ready. We did not receive a call, but the room was ready when we got back from dinner. It was a nice room with a view of the capital building. The room was clean and up to date. The shower/bath was roomy with the curved rod and an extra 6 to 8 inches where a shelf was on the back side of the tub. We used the self parking for $36 for 24 hours. Valet was
available for $50.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hi Ron T, Thank you kindly for your review. It is lovely to hear that you experienced a pleasant check-in, but so apologize that your room was not ready for you. We know that traveling can be stressful and we strive to make sure that everyone is welcomed and relaxed upon entering the hotel. We hope to welcome you and your family back for another stay. Best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights on a business/pleasure trip. The hotel is within walking distance to the Boston Market, Boston Common Park, and lots of restaurants. Our room was clean and the bed was fairly comfortable. The hotel must be a bit older and is in need of some updating. The ceiling was cracking and the bathroom door was also. The bathroom was small and really only one person could be in there at a time getting ready. There was only one mirror outside of the bathroom and no electrical outlets near it. This was inconvenient since I couldn't dry my hair or use flat iron while my husband was in the bathroom. The elevator situation is a little inconvenient as well but not a huge deal. You have to take an elevator to get to the lobby then another elevator to get to the street level to exit hotel. The gym was decent. There were 3 treadmills and a few elliptical machines as well as dumbbells and a few upper body machines. We didn't have much interaction with the staff but the little we did they were nice enough. We did really like that we could walk almost anywhere. Only took a cab to and from the airport.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hello, Le Anne A, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of all of the great attractions and restaurants that we are so lucky to have surround our hotel. Please be in touch prior to your next stay; we can ensure that there is an additional mirror added to the room. As we like to say, Hyatt Has It! We do hope that your trip was more pleasure than business and hope to welcome you back soon to experience our new and improved amenities. Best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
narragansett, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2014

excellent staff and location clean room quiet at night room upgrade was free due to our hyatt status the restaurant was immaculate the food well prepared and exhibited we were near a lot of Boston places to visit and subway

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hi David C, Thank you for leaving a "5-star" review. I am thrilled to hear that we were bale to accommodate with you a complimentary upgrade. Thank you for being a part of our Hyatt family. We hope to welcome you back soon for another amazing experience at Avenue One! Best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Staying here for business. The room was clean. My room was 929, had a joining room and I swear it sounded like there were people IN my room having a conversation! The walls must be really thin for voices to pass through the way they do.

On the event side they really don't seem to have their act together... For a Hyatt I am surprised. Maybe it's the market, or just the staff... If you get Barbara from banquets she is the bomb & will take care of you!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Soundadvice07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hello, Soundadvice07, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We love to read guest comments and are thankful for feedback such as yours that alerts us to opportunities that our guests are facing. We are working to ensure that each guest has a quiet and peaceful stay and will be addressing these issues during our room renovation at the end of the year. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to Barbara. We agree--she is the bomb! Best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Acres, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2014

This was a wonderful experience attending such a large group function and the facility was very well staff and equipped to take care of the number of people at the facility. The hotel was clean and staff was extremely friendly, courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Amy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hi Amy E, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! It is amazing to hear that you had such a wonderful experience at ASCRS/ASOA. As you mentioned, such large group functions can sometimes see difficulties. I am so pleased to hear that this wasn't the case! We strive to go above and beyond, making each and every single person feel welcome and well-cared for. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to our catering and banquet staff. We hope that you'll return again next year! All my best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
2,275 reviews
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#28 of 83 in Boston
1,670 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Boston

Property: Hyatt Regency Boston
Address: 1 Ave De Lafayette, Boston, MA 02111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Boston
#25 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#31 Family Hotel in Boston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#43 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the city's downtown destination, Hyatt Regency Boston, where luxury and convenience collide. Steps from Boston's most desirable area-attractions such as the Boston Common, Faneuil Hall, and Boston's famous shopping destination, Newbury Street, the hotel sits at the edge of the city's excitement. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit the Museum of Fine Arts, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just minutes from Hyatt Regency Boston. Experience Boston's exhilarating 24-hour neighborhood and burgeoning restaurant scene that includes our casually chic restaurant, Avenue One. Relax in our heated, indoor saline pool and stay energized in the StayFit Gym. Convenient to the Theater District, the Financial District and attached to Macy's for convenient shopping, our downtown Hyatt hotel is also a 10 to 15 minute walk to the South End, Back Bay, the Charles River Esplandade, and is connected to the "T," Boston's mass transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing