We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Boston
Ranked #34 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 28, 2013

After reading other reviews on tripadvisor I stayed at this hotel with some trepidation, it was booked through business so I had no choice weather to stay or not.
I was very pleasantly surprised, people had complained about the split levels, you have to take a lift (elevator) to the 3rd floor where the reception is located. This is not at all a problem. There is a well staffed concierge service on the ground floor to assist in with any luggage and to direct you.

The room was pleasant enough and spacious, the en-suit was clean and again a good size. The bed was comfortable and the AC was effective and quite. It made for a good night sleep.

The hotel restaurant had a good menu in terms of selection but it really was a bit on the expensive side. Over priced by about 20% given the other restaurants in the immediate area. Having said that the food and the service was very good but still there's only so much someone should be charged for a stack of pan cakes...

The major major negative for me was being charge extra for the Wifi access in the guest rooms!!! its 2013, please move with the times.

The last thing I will say is that the rooms seem to be a bit hit and miss, a few colleagues were staying at the same time and certainly did not report their rooms being to the same standard of mine, my advice, if your not happy with your room, ask to swap as they do have nice ones else where in the hotel.

Room Tip: seems to be the higher the better. 18th floor was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIABear7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Hi MIABear7, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback on your most recent stay at Hyatt Regency Boston. We are delighted to hear that your experience was a positive one, with delicious pancakes! We pride ourselves on being readily available to each and every guest, and are happy to help with anything you may need. Your referral is our biggest compliment and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Boston. Warm wishes, Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,089)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,619 - 2,625 of 4,089 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Great service, clean, convenient location. Easy walk into downtown area and adjacentent to Chinatown. Was a bit noisy - Could hear people in halls. BUT, why charge for basic internet and why minibar instead of fridge?

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharlieLancaster_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Hi CharlieLancaster_NH, Thank you so much for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you experienced a few annoyances during your recent stay. I truly apologize. As of January 1st, 2014 all guestrooms will come equipped with mini-refrigerators for personal use. Your review on the matter is invaluable. Please be in touch during your next visit to Boston. We’d love a chance to welcome you back and make sure that your stay is as enjoyable as possible. Best, Emily qualitybosto@hyatt.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Good location. Very friendly staff who were helpful with directions, suggestions, etc. Rooms were clean and in good condition and up to date. They even accomodated our request for adjoining rooms. Indoor pool was fun for the kids.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Tara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Hi Tara P, Thank you so much for your review. No request is too big or too small for us here at Hyatt Regency Boston and I'm delighted to read that your request for an adjoining room was fulfilled. We look forward to welcoming you back to Boston, soon. The pool is open for splashing year-round! Best, Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt Regency Boston from Nov 19-22nd. The location of the hotel is very good with some decent shopping in the area and Boston commons a mere 5 minute walk. We did not eat anything in the area but there are a few options and also a drugstore very near by.

We were put up in room on the 6th floor that was very dated. I asked for a room on a higher floor but was told the hotel was full and we could not be accommodated. Our room did not have a bar fridge but according to other reviews this did not matter as we would have been billed if we tried to use it for personal storage (which is the only reason we'd use it) anyways. The windows in our room were a little drafty and when we turned the heat down the room cooled quickly. This was fine for us as we like a cool room to sleep but I'm not sure how it would be in the room if it were very cold outside.

No free internet was a nuisance as we were forced to use a roaming plan on our cell phones to ascertain any info we needed.

This hotel is set up for business travelers. We did not have our kids with us and would not stay at this property if we did.

Staff were friendly and when we were leaving we rode in the elevator and had our bags tended on by Willie. It was our last contact with hotel staff and by far our most pleasant. Willie was a very nice and funny guy who made us feel very comfortable upon our departure. He is truly an asset to the team at this Hyatt Regency. Thanks and all the best Willie.

Overall a decent stay but we would not return to this property.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Hi Jeff D, Thank you so much for taking the time to post your detailed review. It is feedback like yours that helps us to improve each and every day. I apologize that we were unable to accommodate your request to move to a higher floor. We are working to make our guestrooms more comfortable and are implementing mini-refrigerators for personal use and room renovations come 2014. We will certainly pass on your well wishes to Willie; our associates are truly our best assets. Please be in touch during your next visit to Boston. We’d love a chance to welcome you back and make your stay more enjoyable. Best, Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This hotel is in an area that is in the theater district and near Chinatown. The service is quite good but the rooms are tired and worn. At lead tours was. We were upgraded to a Lafayette suite which was nice but the furniture looked like something out of the late 80's with scratches and carpet that was bunched up. We could not keep the room warm enough even though there were two controls that were set on 80. The bathroom was a big disappointment with a tub and shower right out of the 80's. Although we fixed the shower curtain properly, water spilled over to the floor no matter what we did. Finally the lighting in the bathroom was horribly inadequate. We turned on one of the two large screen TV's on only to find not a digital channel to be had just fuzzy analog channels. Why offer these nice TV's without any digital channels? The coffee maker was one of those flimsy one use drip things that makes you wonder why hotels think their guests like these machines or the coffee they produce. There was a big warning sign outside the minibar about being charged for even moving an item but the minibar was completely empty. A few good things, the bed was comfortable and the wifi free. Every employee we had interaction with was very friendly and welcoming. I also want to say that the gym was inadequate in terms of the machines.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Hi Nick P, Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Boston. I am thrilled to here that your interactions with our associates and the service that they provided were exceptional. We are working hard to match our guestrooms to the quality of our associates, making them more comfortable and more in-line with our guest expectations. We are implementing mini-refrigerators for personal use beginning in the new year with and room renovations following. Please be in touch during your next visit to Boston. We’d love a chance to welcome you back and make your stay more enjoyable. Best, Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed after finding a deal on Trivargo.com.

We had a 17th floor king size room and enjoyed the long mornings there, great views and very good service at check in and concierge.

It is central, near theaterland and close to Chinatown.

Only flaws are that there are odd street level to lobby then lobby to rooms lifts. Also wifi charged in rooms but free in lobby.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ajh1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Hi ajh1987, Thank you so much for your five-star review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our guest rooms, amenities and high level of service. We look forward to welcoming you back! Best, Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Got a 60% off price by bidding at priceline.com for this 4-star hotel located one block from
"Park street" subway (T) station-excellent deal! Clean and pleasant room and bathroom, comfortable beds, unusual entrance hall. The only small issue is the "shady" characters on the streets near the hotel during late evenings - not dangerous though. Didn't check the restaurant, but was surprised by early closing time for the bar. Breakfast is not included. The hotel has a very diverse mix of guests. Very expensive parking, but maybe standard for Boston.
Very good experience overall.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuropeanInUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalSonestaBoston, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Hello EuropeanInUSA, Thank you for your post on your recent stay! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our clean and comfortable guest rooms, as well as our central location. Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Boston; we look forward to welcoming you back! Best, Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#50 of 86 in Boston
8,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Boston

Address: 1 Ave De Lafayette, Boston, MA 02111-1739
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Boston
#25 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#27 Family Hotel in Boston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#43 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $155 - $718 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the city's downtown destination, Hyatt Regency Boston, where luxury and convenience collide. Steps from Boston's most desirable area-attractions such as the Boston Common, Faneuil Hall, and Boston's famous shopping destination, Newbury Street, the hotel sits at the edge of the city's excitement. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit the Museum of Fine Arts, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just minutes from Hyatt Regency Boston. Experience Boston's exhilarating 24-hour neighborhood and burgeoning restaurant scene that includes our casually chic restaurant, Avenue One. Relax in our heated, indoor saline pool and stay energized in the StayFit Gym. Convenient to the Theater District, the Financial District and attached to Macy's for convenient shopping, our downtown Hyatt hotel is also a 10 to 15 minute walk to the South End, Back Bay, the Charles River Esplandade, and is connected to the "T," Boston's mass transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing