We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Boston
Ranked #33 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed two nights. Upgraded to Presidential suite - wow. Good service and staff. Good location. 1st night a large party in room next door woke us at 2am. One call to security and the problem was fixed. Ate at restaurant which was reasonably priced and good food. Would recommend.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Tulloch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles F, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Boston. It’s always great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location. We understand that tranquility is essential for a good night sleep and we’ll be sure to tell Security they were able to keep this consistent for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,001)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,589 - 2,595 of 4,001 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

The hotel is clearly in transition from a sad old Hyatt Regency convention hotel to a refreshed property, but the cosmetic changes in the lobbies don't mask the low service level, poor cleanliness and general tackiness of the property.

I'm a Hyatt Platinum, and was given two dirty rooms (leftover used soap from a previous guest in one, long black hairs in the bathroom in the other), and the management's reaction was a very curt "let's find you another room". After the second move, I just gave up.

The rooms are nothing special, they smell funny, water pressure is poor, internet is slow and the aesthetic is generally unappealing...so not much to get excited about.

I will say that the extra-tacky minibar warning (see the photo) was the icing on the cake for me. You can do a lot better in Boston, this hotel is definitely not worth the money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gzicherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles F, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

We regret your experience was outside of our normal service here at the Hyatt Regency Boston and would like to extend a heartfelt apology. If you would like to further discuss, please feel free to call in and talk to Samantha or email the hotel at qualitybosto@hyatt.com. We welcome a complete room’s renovation next year and hope this experience doesn’t deter you from joining us again at the Hyatt Regency Boston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We traveled to Boston for a getaway weekend and the Hyatt Regency was a good "base camp" for us. As with most chain hotels in large cities, it was very decent. The room was clean and functional and suited our needs well. The bed was very comfortable and housekeeping was more than acceptable. We paid a little more for a corner room, so we would have more space, and it was worth it. Plenty of space for two people.

The concierge was very pleasant and helpful, in fact, all staff members that we interacted with were outstanding. At the bar, Josephine really made us feel welcome and valued and she mixes a great drink! The food at the restaurant, Avenue One, was very good, but service was lacking a bit.

All in all, a good stay!

Room Tip: Choose a corner room on a high floor for more space and a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMMinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles F, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback about your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Boston! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room. We will be sure to pass along the positive feedback about the concierge and our bartender Josephine! We do apologize that the service was not up to our normal standards and hope that this doesn’t deter you from staying with us the next time you are in Boston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I am a very loyal and frequent Hyatt client. So far, the pro-Hyatt argument in our company always was - 'there is never a complete let-down' or an unpleasant surprise. Well, there is always a first time.
I may be spoiled insofar that I mostly get to stay in Park and Grand Hyatt Hotels outside the US of A, so I cannot really judge on the standard of the Regencies in the US, but the Boston Hotel just leads me to a clear: STAY OFF.
The public areas have been done up in an attempt to pimp the place, maybe wishing to make it look hip - they failed miserably. The whole place does not match. The elevators have an aura of turn of century grand hotel, common areas in violett 'modern', rooms...well. The rooms are worn to say the least, old, non-descript early eitghties interiors that reminded me of a very unfortunate stay in the Sheraton Dammam Hotel. bathrooms are way outdated. The showers are a bad joke.
Our room was smelly, there was a clear odor of burned food or fibers. Brought to the attention of front office staff, they told us that the hotel was fully booked, but they would have a manager contact us and move us on the following day. Neither happened, despite a reminder in the morning.
On the evening of the next day I spoke to the front office manager. They could not move us either due to a convention, but at least apologized and compensated partially by taking a few items off the bill. - The only reason why the place did not score the lowest possible mark,
Never again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank montgolfier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles F, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback about your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Boston. We appreciate your loyalty to Hyatt, and we are sorry that our hotel changed your perception of our brand. Our lobbies and common areas are newly renovated and we are in the process of planning a complete renovation to all of the guest rooms in next year to come. In addition, we plan to update the elevators with a refurbishment and modernized speed technologies. We would love to welcome you back once the renovations are completed, in hopes to change your mind about our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

I love love this hotel! The rooms are very large considering it is in the center of downtown. It is literally walking distance to a lot of attractions, and it is also close to red line, which takes you to Cambridge in 15 min! Great staff- very helpful. Try to get a high floor room - the view is awesome!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights recently.
Few things missing which I would expect there to be like an in room safe which I think should be standard in this sort of hotel.
My rate included 'mineral water' but instead of having it in the room I had to ring down to get if which was a real pain.
The room was only ok but it was pricey for what it was.
I would choose somewhere else the next time

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anklejoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I recently spent a weekend in Boston, we live in the suburbs of Boston. We arrived on Friday noon, our room was not ready but the desk would text me when it was available. The hotel is located in East Boston near Logan Airport. In front of the hotel were the water taxis to Boston proper which was extremely convenient. We went to the city for lunch and during lunch I got the text the room was ready.

When we got to our room it had the most beautiful view of the the city of Boston and the skyline. The room was spacious, clean and had all the emenities. The beds were fantastic. The housekeeping staff was great.

The meals and lounges were excellent. On Sunday we had breakfast and were entertained by the Boston Fire Department Fire boats doing a spraying training drill.

Overall it was an excellent experience. Visitors to Boston should take advantage of this hotels proximity to Logan Airport. We never heard the jets the building is extremely sound proof.

Overall it was an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Boston

Address: 1 Ave De Lafayette, Boston, MA 02111-1739
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Boston
#25 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#31 Family Hotel in Boston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#43 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $142 - $579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the city's downtown destination, Hyatt Regency Boston, where luxury and convenience collide. Steps from Boston's most desirable area-attractions such as the Boston Common, Faneuil Hall, and Boston's famous shopping destination, Newbury Street, the hotel sits at the edge of the city's excitement. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit the Museum of Fine Arts, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just minutes from Hyatt Regency Boston. Experience Boston's exhilarating 24-hour neighborhood and burgeoning restaurant scene that includes our casually chic restaurant, Avenue One. Relax in our heated, indoor saline pool and stay energized in the StayFit Gym. Convenient to the Theater District, the Financial District and attached to Macy's for convenient shopping, our downtown Hyatt hotel is also a 10 to 15 minute walk to the South End, Back Bay, the Charles River Esplandade, and is connected to the "T," Boston's mass transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing