We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Boston
Ranked #32 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Just fine”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed for one night on business this week, and the hotel is just fine. Well located, with very friendly staff, but I think that it requires urgently a renovation, or at least an in-depth cleaning.

The room is mid 90´s style, the carpet clearly old and not very clean, scratches in the door and in the mirrors, marks on the walls, The curtain in the shower as impossible to put on a way which not turned the toilett into a swimming pool after taking a shower. All in all, when you are in the room, you feel staying in a place which lacks the basic maintenance. Additionally, sleeping quality is only average, because the pillows in the bed are too high and hard. My view is that this hotel does not fairly represents the Hyatt standards.

Bottom line, in my next stay in Boston will try other alternatives.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alvaro E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,557
    1,261
    524
    191
    80
See reviews for
891
1,019
182
960
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, LA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights while waiting to take a cruise to Canada. Very close to T and lots of historic sites. Took the T to museum of fine arts which was a great time. In basically the same building as Macy's and right down the block from Boston common. Try the swan boats. Best value in. Boston.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BIG_SOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa Bay, FL
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago. there is a parking garage right next door that gives you an option to hotel valet ($50? for in and out) or self parking (by the hour or $35 for 24 hours.not in and out) We did self parking and the elevator, however extremely slow, takes you right to the hotel. You get off the hotel go to check in and then another set of elevators (much cleaner and faster) take you to your room. Our room was very clean and comfortable. We felt very safe. It was also very quiet! The window also opens an inch or two for some fresh air. The pool we used was inside and we must have been in the furthest room from the pool because it was really faraway and although it says the pool was on our floor we walked down two level of stairs to get to it. It was right next to a nice workout room. Pool area was fine, and there was a nice patio area outside but it was raining so we didn't check it out. Location is great....about a block (or less) from Boston Commons. It was Memorial Day weekend and in the park they had over 31000 flags! It was beautiful! A lot of shops and restaurants all around you.

Room Tip: The view from the higher level rooms is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy0076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmtk767
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Very nice fitness center with a good size swimming pool, saunas, outdoor deck and a lot of equipment.
Parking is unreasonably expensive, you can find plenty of cheaper parking lots nearby or even park on the street if you are lucky.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmtk767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We opted for a room on a higher floor and thought it was worth doing. The room was quiet with just occasional sound from an interconnecting door. It would be worthwhile making sure there is not an interconnecting door if we stayed again.

The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Toiletries were replenished everyday but the mini fridge prices were exorbitant. You cannot put your own items in the fridge and there is no microwave. However the washing line above the bath is useful.

The hotel is in a good central location and very near the Underground net work.

Take warm clothes if you are thinking of using the dining room. It is very cold in there.

The pool was nice but the lockers do not lock. There is no hot tub.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter with city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pengor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles F, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay on Trip Advisor, we greatly appreciate your feedback. At Hyatt Regency Boston we are constantly working on improving our guest service levels and comments such as yours are an invaluable tool to us. Thank you again for choosing our hotel, we know you have many options.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I booked through Hotwire and got a really low rate, so I had low expectations, but figured it was only for one night so we could deal with it. Overall our stay was really great. Arrived around 10:30AM and they checked us in, which was great with my pregnant wife. Later in the evening, they had a prom where all of the kids arrived at once. The manager on duty (Kevin?) took us up to our room via the service elevator, which was a huge relief to not have to wait for 30 minutes for the elevator.

Rooms were clean. Great water pressure. Hot water was really hot. Solid AC.

The two elevator system was not ideal, but it what it is. Charging for WiFi is a huge turnoff and the reason for four, not five stars.

We will probably find alternative accommodations for our next visit, if for no other reason than we each travel with three devices that require wifi and paying six wifi charges will offset the cost for a nicer hotel that hopefully includes wireless service.

Again, all in all was a nice stay. Helpful staff. Middle-of-the-road rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I booked this hotel on priceline, it was an awesome place to stay, very professional staff beautiful hotel. It was in walking distance of most everything, the harbor, the prudential ctr mall, tons of restaurants. One night the drunks in the roomm next to us wandered in about 2:30am and were very loud. I didn't enjoy that, but it wasn't the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles F, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay on Trip Advisor, we greatly appreciate your feedback. We are delighted to hear you had a great stay, but very disappointed to hear about the noise neighbors. Rest assured, we will continue our efforts to ensure all of our guest are able to enjoy a quiet and relaxing stay. Thank you for choosing Hyatt and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#21 of 83 in Boston
2,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#29 of 83 in Boston
1,634 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Boston

Property: Hyatt Regency Boston
Address: 1 Avenue de Lafayette, Boston, MA 02111-1739
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Boston
#23 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#31 Family Hotel in Boston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#43 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the city's downtown destination, Hyatt Regency Boston, where luxury and convenience collide. Steps from Boston's most desirable area-attractions such as the Boston Common, Faneuil Hall, and Boston's famous shopping destination, Newbury Street, the hotel sits at the edge of the city's excitement. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit the Museum of Fine Arts, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just minutes from Hyatt Regency Boston. Experience Boston's exhilarating 24-hour neighborhood and burgeoning restaurant scene that includes our casually chic restaurant, Avenue One. Relax in our heated, indoor saline pool and stay energized in the StayFit Gym. Convenient to the Theater District, the Financial District and attached to Macy's for convenient shopping, our downtown Hyatt hotel is also a 10 to 15 minute walk to the South End, Back Bay, the Charles River Esplandade, and is connected to the "T," Boston's mass transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelPower, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing