We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service at its finest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Boston
Ranked #34 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Selected the hotel for location (1 block from subway) and price (compared to other hotels in the area). We sent to the wrong room at first, but this was quickly corrected following a phone call to desk. 4 pillows on bed all were hard as rocks as squeezed into narrow pillowcases. A call the following morning led to 2 replacements. But the city went into lock-down Friday following the Boston Marathon bombings, and nothing in the area was open except Dunkin' Donuts. The hotel provided free internet, lunch and dinner buffets at reasonable cost, and maid service on request, despite being short staffed. Made and awful situation manageable. I would choose it again as the location was terrific.

Room Tip: King beded room had a comfortable chair as well. Be sure to test the pillows before you settle in fo...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elceegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,842)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Boston
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,585 - 2,591 of 3,842 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

I love Hyatts, but this one is not quite up to standard. Stayed nights April 13 & 14 for Marathon. Bathroom pretty worn, good health center - but equipment poorly maintained, a staff member couldn't locate hotel on a neighborhood map, late check-out (that we'd pre-arranged) was not allowed, "queen" size beds are simply not - they're "full". All those minor complaints aside, Hyatt is a fine chain, the room was comfortable, breakfast great, staff ultra-friendly, etc. It's a good hotel, but not cheap, and my expectations are higher for a Hyatt.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SHK-DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles F, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Boston. You know as well as I do that the Hyatt brand has a set of standards and all of its properties should be on the same level. We do value your input and our management team has decided a guestroom update is in order, and that includes our bathrooms. You are also correct in classifying our two-bedded rooms as “full” or “double.” We do not have any rooms with two queen sized beds, only kings or doubles and I apologize if sometime during the reservation process you were led to believe otherwise.

As you could clearly see, Marathon weekend is one of the busiest times of year for us and we are glad our service did not suffer as a result. If you make the trip out next year for the event, I encourage you to call the hotel directly at 617-912-1234 so we can personally handle any of your requests and provide accurate information about our property. We hope to see you next April, if not sooner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband and I were in Boston for the marathon. We had never been to Boston and wanted a hotel with a great location to all the great sites in town.

This hotel was wonderful! The room was very spacious. The bathroom was nice with lots of nice toiletries. The hotel was very crowded, but we did not have to wait long for elevators or the concierge. The concierge (we spoke to 3 different ones) was a wonderful help getting us to all the places in Boston we wanted to go. The hotel's website says you have to pay for wi fi but we had it free the whole trip...wonderful bonus! Lastly, the health room/gym was very nice and clean...very well appointed.

The only issues that came up were the slamming doors. The doors seem to be very heavy and are loud when they close...that's it!

Besides the horrific tragedy that took place during the marathon, we had a wonderful time in this city and this hotel. Everyone was so helpful and gracious making sure we had everything we needed and were safe after the bombing.

I would definitely return to this town and this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJillA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

First, let me say that the room was fine and the service was fine, in general. I'll also say that this is a rare day and rare circumstance. However, I find the following to be an egregious error in judgment.

The issue was a policy decision by the hotel.

We had the misfortune to be here the night of 4/18/2013 and the next day was the day of lockdown across the Boston city area. At approximate 11 a.m. (with the city still on lockdown), we have been advised to vacate our room. They will store our bags but we must give up our room. CNN states that taxis and ground transportation are not functioning.

The hotel personnel advised us we could walk to our next hotel (which, when we called, is still advising their patrons to stay in the hotel), or that there are taxis lined up below.

This seems less than "client friendly" and Hyatt has just lost my business in the foreseeable future.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We booked through Amex (which USUALLY gives you quite a few perks...free upgrade, free breakfast, hotel credit...) Well, we got nada for booking through AMEX which begs to question why be affiliated with the Amex travel program. As far as the Hotel itself, it was average. The room was very nice BUT, parking was almost $40/night bc it was city owned so be prepared for that little extra expense. The Restaurant was not good and was located very close to the lobby. We had to take an elevator from ground level to the lobby then walk across the lobby to catch another elevator to go to the actual room floors. After 5 days, this was annoying and we noticed other people were not happy with this as well. The hot water wasn't very hot and we could hear the doorman whistling for taxis until midnight and we were on the 16th floor. Will we stay there again? no, we saw the four seasons, ritz, and westin close to where we wanted and will def try those next time!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I was Boston on 4/12. I stayed at the hotel as I would be going to the Boston Opera House that night and wanted something close by. I was in room 2115 and had an exceptional stay. Check in was easy and the staff was very friendly. The room is a lot like most Hyatts - clean, modern furnishings and welcoming. If there was one complaint it is the $50 per night to valet park the car. Next time, I will do the self park and save $15. I am looking forward to my next visit to the Boston and this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dad-n-son
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The room was very spacious clean, the hotel renovated and well located, the staff helpful and the two concierges extremely well informed on the ins and outs of Boston and Cambridge. I recommend wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yasmine_Motawy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Boston

Address: 1 Ave De Lafayette, Boston, MA 02111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Boston
#26 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#31 Family Hotel in Boston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#43 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $182 - $803 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the city's downtown destination, Hyatt Regency Boston, where luxury and convenience collide. Steps from Boston's most desirable area-attractions such as the Boston Common, Faneuil Hall, and Boston's famous shopping destination, Newbury Street, the hotel sits at the edge of the city's excitement. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit the Museum of Fine Arts, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just minutes from Hyatt Regency Boston. Experience Boston's exhilarating 24-hour neighborhood and burgeoning restaurant scene that includes our casually chic restaurant, Avenue One. Relax in our heated, indoor saline pool and stay energized in the StayFit Gym. Convenient to the Theater District, the Financial District and attached to Macy's for convenient shopping, our downtown Hyatt hotel is also a 10 to 15 minute walk to the South End, Back Bay, the Charles River Esplandade, and is connected to the "T," Boston's mass transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Hyatt Regency Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing