We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dropkick murphys getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Boston
Ranked #33 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Grand Terrace, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“dropkick murphys getaway”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I got this hotel through priceline so I booked it blind. Upon arriving we were pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel was, we also got lucky with a super early check in 6am. that was greatly appreciated after a red eye flight. we had breakfast buffet the prices were a little high the buffet was $22 and a omelet was $18 plus $4 for tea or coffee. the rooms are nice size, but NO fridge is a big disadvantage. after a certain hour they check room keys before going to the rooms they said it was to keep nose down but walking down the halls the nose is very loud. but, once in the room i never heard any nose from other rooms. when we checked in we were informed the gym was open 24 hours but that the pool closed at 11. we went to the sauna every night when we got back to the hotel from dropkick murphys concerts usually 130 am. Our last night we went into the sauna and were rudely kicked out told we were not allowed in there. My only really big complaints with staff is that of house keeping. We retuned one day to find the beds made around a zip up hoody so haft made. then we retuned another afternoon to find the my mikes pastries that i stood in line for 30 min to get had been thrown onto the floor and pastries everywhere. that being said i would say here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockabillyQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,561
    1,261
    526
    191
    80
See reviews for
894
1,020
183
960
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Spent four nights at this hotel. Everything that I experienced said that the management and staff know and care about what they are doing. All of the public areas were clean and well maintained, the food at the restaurant was good, the catering good and my room was quiet and clean.

If I had to say anything bad about this hotel it would be the prices are high. Of course when you consider the location I suppose they are in line with the rest their competition.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed there for 3 nights during conference. Wall is so thin that I heard the next door's skype conversation,even the person from the laptop!!, also heard their shower and toilet time. On the first day of the conference, the door slamming exercise was CONSTANT from 6-9 am, OMG. Doors are not fitted with the quiet device, so everytime when someone close their door, BANG. Room was very clean, very nice staff, nice room service food. The staff returned my boots after shinning them very quickly even though she didn't need to give them back till next morning. Boston Common and Chinatown just round the corner. Safety box is behind the front desk and not in the room. Close to the subway. CVS (some supermarket items) and Macy also close by. Close to South Bay train station (USD5 taxi ride), or can walk. They have included wipes for nail polish remover, eye make up remover, make up remover, shower cap in the bathroom.. nice touch. Nice hotel, but really need thicker wall. Not sure if i will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles F, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for providing such a comprehensive review of your stay at the Hyatt Regency Boston. It is great to hear about your happiness with the excellent location. That is second only to our top notch service, which I see you were also delighted with.

I do apologize for the noise levels you experienced. You’ll be pleased to hear that the next steps in our renovation will be focused on the guest rooms. We will not only be modernizing the rooms but we will also be taking steps to further insulate the walls. Safety deposit boxes will also be installed in the rooms.

I hope you will come back to see the improvements next time you find yourself on this side of the equator!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel lobby and bar area have been redone since we were there last year. It is just beautiful and calls you right in to want to just sit and relax, people watch or have a nice cocktail.

I always find the staff very friendly and helpful.

The rooms are immucaluate as well as the common areas.

Pleasure for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles F, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us Maureen! We are ecstatic about the new renovations and believe that they add a certain flare that we are happy to show off to our guests. On your next visit, we encourage you to chat with our Avenue One bar staff to see which specials we have for you as you people watch. We pride ourselves on our staff’s consistent service and are happy to hear that you were thrilled with your experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon for another quick get away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I stayed at the Hyatt for 2 nights in February during school's mid-winter recess with my husband and two young kids. Staff was so incredibly helpful with our bags, directions and anything else we needed. The lobby looks like it must have been recently updated - very large and very nice. However, our room didn't seem updated at all. Beds weren't the most comfortable either. The pool and fitness area was also very nice - pool is great to do laps. We asked for a fridge and a pack-n-play for my youngest son and they kindly obliged, but took almost an hour to bring it up to the room. Great location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseF1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles F, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hyatt Regency Boston Denise! We are thrilled to hear that our staff’s commitment to service has not gone unnoticed.

You are correct that our lobby has undergone some recent renovations to adapt to modern times. I’m sorry to hear that you found our rooms and beds unaccommodating, but I am happy to say that our rooms are next on the list for renovation and we can’t wait to show you the final product once they’re finished!

We’re thrilled to hear that you found our pool enjoyable! On your next visit we encourage you to visit our Eucalyptus Steam room; which is located conveniently in the same facilities as our pool. You can also chat with our concierge to see what recommendations they have for some Family Friendly Boston fun.

As stated earlier our staff have a commitment to service. It saddens me to hear that it took almost an hour for them to deliver the refrigerator and pack-n-play to your room, but it is this type of feedback that we need to help us improve our service for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hyatt with my husband and little one. The check in was quick and the staff were friendly. The room itself was a good size with nice views of the city. The hotel had great amenities which even included baby products for my daughter. The food in the hotel was a bit pricey but there are plenty of other food options near by. We did park at a garage up the street at the garage attached to the hotel was very pricey. The location was excellent as it was a ten minute walk to Quincy Market, and a five minute walk to both the park and China Town. Overall a great stay and I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadiasmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles F, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
am so happy to hear about your wonderful stay at the Hyatt! We are one of the few Four Diamond properties in the downtown area so even though some of the extras come at a slightly higher cost, you absolutely get what you pay for.

Even as your little girl grows up, there are attractions close by for kids of all ages. Next time, maybe she'll be old enough to enjoy the recently renovated pool at the hotel. Also keep in mind our Chef has created an excellent children's menu in case you decide to dine in next time.

We hope to see your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The whole renovation is a complete success and the hotel has now added modern, elegant decor to make the experience complete. The atmosphere is inviting and stylish and makes one feel like lingering, trying out the bar area. Even waiting for a guest made for fun people watching from the comfortable lobby seating area

The cuisine of Chef Kelly Armetta is now matched by the ambiance. A great destination, so centrally situated and perfect for serious business (but I would love also pre theater).

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Francoise337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#20 of 83 in Boston
2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
W Boston
W Boston
#29 of 83 in Boston
1,635 reviews
Downtown
The Ritz-Carlton, Boston
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Boston

Property: Hyatt Regency Boston
Address: 1 Avenue de Lafayette, Boston, MA 02111-1739
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Boston
#24 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#31 Family Hotel in Boston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#43 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the city's downtown destination, Hyatt Regency Boston, where luxury and convenience collide. Steps from Boston's most desirable area-attractions such as the Boston Common, Faneuil Hall, and Boston's famous shopping destination, Newbury Street, the hotel sits at the edge of the city's excitement. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit the Museum of Fine Arts, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just minutes from Hyatt Regency Boston. Experience Boston's exhilarating 24-hour neighborhood and burgeoning restaurant scene that includes our casually chic restaurant, Avenue One. Relax in our heated, indoor saline pool and stay energized in the StayFit Gym. Convenient to the Theater District, the Financial District and attached to Macy's for convenient shopping, our downtown Hyatt hotel is also a 10 to 15 minute walk to the South End, Back Bay, the Charles River Esplandade, and is connected to the "T," Boston's mass transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelPower, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing