We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“standard hotel, outsized price tag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Boston
Ranked #33 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Let's start with the positives - a very helpful and enthusiastic check in staff and good catering for events. However these highlights did not merit the almost 400/night price tag. The room itself was fine with a comfortable bed, newish tv and accessible outlets. The bathroom was tired, but not terrible. And while basics like a shower cap, q-tips and other amenities would have been appreciated, the toothpaste was a nice touch. I did not make use of the saline pool, but the gym itself was adequate, although no big draw. And among the demerits - a rather unenthusiastic bar staff and an entrance only accessible after ducking into a parking garage.
I chose the hotel because I was attending an event onsite - and would stay again only because of this reason - but will be careful to book well in advance in order to secure a price that better reflects what's on offer.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank venustar82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,006)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,886 - 2,892 of 4,006 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay at the Hyatt Regency Boston. We wanted a hotel that would allow us to easily walk to the key downtown locations and this hotel fit the bill. It's a vey short hop from the Downtown Crossing Chauncy St. exit and a short walk to the Boston Commons and Chinatown. We had a 19th floor King bed room overlooking the State House (extra $10) and the view was very nice. The room itself was spacious and well furnished and equiped. Internet costs extra but we had our own Verizon Mifi, so didn't have to use the hotel Internet. We stayed away from the fridge since it's meant for the drinks to be purchased instead of for your personal drinks. The free in room coffee was nice though. Oh yes, the bed and the shower were also excellent. The staff were all very friendly and helpful (we were granted a late checkout). The key negative for this hotel to us was that it was a nightmare trying to find it when driving since our GPS kept losing connection due to the tall buildings and narrow and one way streets. Tip: if you are driving, make sure you know how to navigate it's maze of one way streets ahead of time. The parking lot entry and access to the elevator that brings you to the 3rd floor Lobby is on Chauncy Street. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The higher floor rooms with a view of the State House provided an excellent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ckyip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique T, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Boston! It's always great to hear when guests take advantage of our prime downtown location. You cannot beat the less than five minute walk to the Boston Common! We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Beantown and thank you for the five stars!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Good location, friendly service, but that's where the positives stop. Rooms are old, falling apart, out-dated. From lumpy pillows, to hooks missing from the door, to a shower head that can only be described as ridiculous...it was disappointing at every turn. Meeting rooms are plentiful but catering was sub-par for the convention. Room service was flavorless and predictable, although prompt. I was just there for a convention, and will not go back.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank nmhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique T, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Boston. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Could you please email us some more information at qualitybosto@hyatt.com so our Rooms Director can look into this? Feedback is very important to us and we are always looking to improve. We hope that you will give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights and thought it was great. They were under construction; however, they made every attempt to make our stay enjoyable. Hotel is within walking distance to Boston Common, where you can jump on and off of a tour trolley with ease, and it's also very close to lots of shopping (Macy's, Eddie Bauer, DSW, Payless Shoes, etc), dining options (McDonald's, Starbucks, pizza, Subway, China Town options, bars, etc), and even a Loews Movie Theater in case you want to catch a flick. No complaints.

Room Tip: Higher the better to stay away from sounds from the street (sirens, construction, traffic, etc). We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JourneyTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique T, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Boston! It's always great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the five stars and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I attend a professional meeting every year in Boston and this year the hotel was changed to the Hyatt. I was disappointed after noting the mostly dismal reviews. However, I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is close to the South Station and the neighborhood is fair. The hotel itself was excellent. Pleasant efficient staff and I had a very nice large room with good city view. All in all a good experience. Our group will return next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCT44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The hotel is well located. I took a bus from NYC to Boston and got to South Station. 5 minutes walk from there.
Front door man was very welcoming and friendly as the people at the front desk.
My room was on a high floor (forgot which one) so I had a nice open view. The room looked like the other Hyatt's, it was clean, well proportioned and quiet.
You have free wi-fi for a limited period, which is better than other hotels that would charge you for that.
If you don't have a map and are trying to find the hotel, don't ask for the street name, ask for the Hyatt. It will be easier for people to direct you there.
I did not request it but I saw there was a hotel person at the lobby/bar who was advising other guests on where to go and what to visit while in Boston. He sounded really nice and helpful and prepare them a whole plan for their one day visit. I thought that was nice, he took the time to seat with them and do it.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeroArgentinaJapon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Lovely clean hotel, friendly staff- special mention for Mike the consierge for maps and assistance with daily sightseeing- and the hotel is in a good location. But sorry, I just don't get the large sign on the bar fridge door. Seems if you want to put your can of drink in their bar fridge it will cost you $25.00- (we often purchase some tonic water, which hotels rarely carry, to make a Gin & Tonic at the end of a day's sightseeing)
Never having seen this before I found this somewhat amazing especially when near the fridge is a brochure that says "Welcome home". Added to this you also pay for Wi- Fi.
Hospitality- I don't think so.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank everytimeyougoaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Boston

Address: 1 Ave De Lafayette, Boston, MA 02111-1739
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Boston
#25 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#27 Family Hotel in Boston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#43 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $140 - $576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the city's downtown destination, Hyatt Regency Boston, where luxury and convenience collide. Steps from Boston's most desirable area-attractions such as the Boston Common, Faneuil Hall, and Boston's famous shopping destination, Newbury Street, the hotel sits at the edge of the city's excitement. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit the Museum of Fine Arts, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just minutes from Hyatt Regency Boston. Experience Boston's exhilarating 24-hour neighborhood and burgeoning restaurant scene that includes our casually chic restaurant, Avenue One. Relax in our heated, indoor saline pool and stay energized in the StayFit Gym. Convenient to the Theater District, the Financial District and attached to Macy's for convenient shopping, our downtown Hyatt hotel is also a 10 to 15 minute walk to the South End, Back Bay, the Charles River Esplandade, and is connected to the "T," Boston's mass transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing