We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Boston
Ranked #33 of 85 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were in Boston for a wedding and chose the Hyatt. The employees were very accomodating, friendly and generally made us feel welcomed. We had room service twice which was very nice and the food well prepared. Loved the location as it was easy to walk around and to Fanueil Hall, the harbor, etc. Beds were so comfortable that we didn't want to get up!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twolinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique T, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Boston! We are so glad that you loved your stay here and we hope you had a great time at the wedding! The next time you are visiting Boston, we hope you will stay with us again. Thank you for the five stars!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,064)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,955 - 2,961 of 4,064 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

Best attribute for this hotel is location - near commons and shopping areas. Also, walking distance from South Station train station and financial district for business. I stayed hear for one night early September on business and found hotel staff very friendly and helpful, at check in and concierge. I was only their overnight, so I did not get to try their restaurants. The room was clean, roomy and decor was up to date. Bed was comfortable. Only issue was that it seemed like someone had smoked in the room (although hotel is nonsmoking) and there was a smell of the deodorizing cleaner they use to cover up that smell.

Room Tip: It didn't appear that there were any 'bad' rooms - all open to interior atrium and none...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PCCfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Excellant location, extremely quiet! The staff are very professional. We have stayed here before and have always been treated well. a little pricey but worth it. Our room was large and comfortable, with a large screen TV. The only disappointment was we were unable to watch the Red Sox in our room. It was on in the bar. The underground parking was very convenient. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yodadog123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique T, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Boston! We are glad that your stay was great and a homerun! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Excellent location - walking distance for many attractions; quite good breakfast (it was included in our deal), clean and...very cozy bed (slept like babies) :)
Definitely, I would recommend to everyone, if you could get the same deal...otherwise, it's quite expensive.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor (ours, it was at 20th and we had a beautiful view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kekutze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique T, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Boston! We are glad that you were able to have a good night's rest! That's so important when you are traveling and our Hyatt Grand beds will definitely help you sleep in. We hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here for one night as we transited through Boston on the way to the Cape. The location of the hotel is excellent, a short walk from either the Common or the seafront. The room was large and comfortable, with complementary WiFi and a large flatscreen TV. The underground parking was very convenient with its own hotel entrance and elevators, although quite expensive. My only criticism was that we could not check-in when we arrived due to the hotel being ‘busy’ – it did not bother us as we left our bags and found a bar, but there were many people sat in reception waiting for their room to be available well after check-in time. The guy on the front door was very helpful to us, offering advice on where to go and a how to get there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidjones533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

My friend and I got a room in the hotel from Priceline and once I found out I was staying at the Hyatt, I looked up reviews. Most of the reviews stated that the hotel was just "fine" so I wasn't sure what to expect and wasn't very excited about it. I don't know if the hotel has undergone recent renovations, but our stay was far better than "fine".

The hotel was very clean and the room was very nice and had a great view of the city. Both my friend and I thought the beds were very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was excellent. Not only did the hotel offer cereals, yogurt, fruit, pastries, eggs, bacon and potatoes, but there was a griddle station where you could get made to order omelettes, pancakes and french toast. I've actually never seen a station like that for french toast and pancakes and they were damn good (see picture)! They have a computer set up in the business center so guests can very easily print off airline boarding passes for free (very helpful!)

The hotel is in a great location - about a 5 minute walk to Boston Common park and a number of subway stops. Up the street is a great little shopping district as well. They were very happy to store our luggage for the day after we checked out, which was extremely helpful since our flight was in the evening. That process was simple, as was our check-in which was about 4 hours earlier than the stated check-in time.

I would definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Boston.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrammarGirlToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monique T, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Boston, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Boston. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our breakfast buffet in Avenue One. Our made-to-order pancakes and omelets is definitely a nice added enhancement to our buffet. Also, it's great to hear that you took advantage of our prime downtown location. We hope you will stay with us again on your next trip to Beantown! Thank you for the five stars!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We booked a last-minute room at the Hyatt Regency Boston through hotels.com; we were glad to find accommodations at such short notice on a busy weekend, but the room -- at $280 -- was expensive for what we received, and this experience won't have us rushing to stay at a Hyatt again, any time soon.

Pluses of this Hyatt: a good location in central Boston (although wandering around later at night behind the hotel, we found it to be deserted and a bit seedy -- not unusual for big-city financial districts, bustling during the day but empty at night). The hotel also has easy parking for $32/day; expensive, but convenient.

Our pricey, last-minute room on the 10th floor was a bit small, but adequate, and the bed was comfortable enough. It would have been fine, except for a few things.

First, we were next to the ice machine room; during the evening, the door slammed every five minutes (I finally went out and rigged it with a wooden hanger, to muffle the noise).

The double-sheet/thin blanket on our king-size bed was aided only by a tiny, incredibly rough old twin blanket found in the closet, that had seen better days. The TV had only a handful of channels, and virtually no major cable stations; the Hyatt seems more interested in having patrons rent movies.

Most heinous, our bathroom faucet was broken, and vigorously sprayed water up and over the counter. After I left the water running a bit in the middle of the night (my bad!), I woke up a few hours later to discover the broken, spraying faucet had flooded the counter and run on to the floor, and there was a mini lake in the bathroom.

Best part of staying at the Hyatt, was not the Hyatt at all; it was the hotel's close proximity to a non-touristy area of Chinatown, where, after only a 5-minute walk from the hotel, we feasted at Shabu Zen; amazingly fresh vegetables, noodles and meat or tofu, cooked in pots of simmering broth, accompanied by fragrant condiments (lemongrass, bean paste, fresh garlic and scallions). Delicious!

Perhaps, since we stayed at the Boston Harbor Hotel our last time in Boston, at the same rate (a totally different and more upscale hotel), we were a bit grumpy at paying such a high price for this "Hyatt experience." A better price, better deal or an employer footing the bill, and we might have viewed the experience in a more positive light.

We'll be visiting Shabu Zen again, on our next visit to Boston. The Hyatt? Not so much.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoMinty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Revere Hotel Boston Common
East Boston / Logan Airport
Hyatt Regency Boston Harbor
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Boston - Downtown
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Boston

Address: 1 Ave De Lafayette, Boston, MA 02111-1739
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Boston
#25 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#27 Family Hotel in Boston
#35 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#43 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $113 - $664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 502
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the city's downtown destination, Hyatt Regency Boston, where luxury and convenience collide. Steps from Boston's most desirable area-attractions such as the Boston Common, Faneuil Hall, and Boston's famous shopping destination, Newbury Street, the hotel sits at the edge of the city's excitement. Tour the Freedom Trail, visit the Museum of Fine Arts, or catch a game at historic Fenway Park, all just minutes from Hyatt Regency Boston. Experience Boston's exhilarating 24-hour neighborhood and burgeoning restaurant scene that includes our casually chic restaurant, Avenue One. Relax in our heated, indoor saline pool and stay energized in the StayFit Gym. Convenient to the Theater District, the Financial District and attached to Macy's for convenient shopping, our downtown Hyatt hotel is also a 10 to 15 minute walk to the South End, Back Bay, the Charles River Esplandade, and is connected to the "T," Boston's mass transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelPower, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Boston Hotel Boston
Boston Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing