We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misinformation!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Newbury Guest House
Ranked #28 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
virginia beach, va
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Misinformation!!”
Reviewed April 23, 2007

I was in Boston and booked the stay at the Newbury Guest House. They neglected to inform me that they were under construction and workmen and debris was everywhere. The window in room 204 was screwed shut (probably a fire code violation) and the air conditioner was not in service-no air circulation at all and room temp was 75. The website indicated antiques and fine furniture but all were low end reproductions in average shape. The phone and TV were difficult to operate and I had to call down for directions on both. The location is very good but 4 miles to Fanueil Hall is not "steps" when one is walking. The staff were very friendly .

  • Liked — location to shopping
  • Disliked — poor quality
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rlgdeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vzsok, Management at Newbury Guest House, responded to this review, May 17, 2007
We’d like to apologize for any inconvenience caused to any of our guests due to our renovations. We have been upgrading our heating and air conditioning systems, installing a high performance, energy efficient system. We chose to undertake this project in the spring time due to the mild weather in Boston. We hoped that by scheduling this project in this way, we minimized any inconvenience to our guests. However, we are upgrading a building from the late 1800s, and occasional inconvenience to our guests has been unavoidable at times. We’d like to offer our sincere apologies, and hope that you’ll come visit us again and experience the improvements we’ve made.



Kind Regards,
Management and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    254
    62
    23
    16
See reviews for
102
305
39
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2007

We stayed at Newbury Guest house for five nights in the summer of 2005 and we had a fantastic time. Against our expectations, the room (we booked the cheapest) was large and really lovely.

The breakfast was amazing - there was a perfect choice of fresh, hot and cold food and healthy too; something I have rarely encountered in US hotels.

The location was perfect and Newbury Street is among the prettiest in Boston. A short walk to the Common and the harbour as well as within spitting distance of the fabulous Fenway Park.
Would recommend the guest house without hesitation and we shall return if ever we go back to Boston.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jubsy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany NY area
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2007

We stayed at the Newbury Guest House while attending a convention at the Hynes Convention Ctr ....just 2 blocks away.
Wonderful accomodations; friendly staff; comfortable beds,fabulous breakfast with many options, FRESH fruit, plain delicious yogurt, terrific muffins,eggs,etc. and no TV in any of the public areas. Thank you !! We shall return.

Helpful?
Thank platdrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2007

I visited Boston in April 2006 with a group of friends who were all very accustomed to staying in big chain hotels. We stayed two nights and fell in love with the Newberry Guest House! We're planning another trip now (to D.C.) and won't look at anything but a Bed and Breakfast because of our wonderful experience at the Newberry Guest House!

When we first arrived, we were unsure of the quality of service, but were quick to correct ourselves. The front desk staff, while not extremely talkative, were very helpful and efficient. They called cabs for us, told us where to go (and avoid), held our luggage for hours, etc. There were 6 in my group, and they made sure to place us in rooms directly across from each other. And the breakfast was PERFECT!

The location is wonderful. Just a block or two from the metro, Copely Square, and some gorgeous churches. It was on Newberry Street which was the Rodeo Drive of Boston! Very hip!

If you're looking for a quaint, historical, yet hip feeling while visiting Boston, I highly recommend the Newberry Guest House!

  • Liked — Location, breakfast, and quaint feeling
  • Disliked — Small tub, weak toilets, slow elevator
  • Tips/Secrets — Try to get a room overlooking Newberry Street ... It's beautiful. The back, however, is an alley!
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WoohooLaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis IN
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2006

This guest house is located on fashionable Newbury Street in Boston. The rooms are very comfortable and tastefully decorated. A breafkast including some hot food choices is included in the price which is very reasonable those looking to save money in a city where lodging can be quite expensive.. It's location makes it a pleasant choice also--scenic and only a couple of blocks to the subway.

  • Tips/Secrets — May be street noise in warmer weather and outdoor dining in area--try a room in the back
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nekero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2006

We stayed at Newbury Guest house for 3 nights at the end of September 06. The place is fine but a little tired - carpets in need of replacement. They were having building work done on the lower two rooms at the same time which unfortunately meant that the breakfast room was cold and draughty. The breakfast was as described but there was no bread to toast even when we asked for it. The staff were frienly and helpful. For the money it was alright.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2006

We booked the smallest room and requested the highest floor available on the street side (as reccommended by other reviewers). The size was fine for 2 people, especially if you are planning on spending most of your time sightseeing/etc for a few days. The shower was small but everything was very clean. Breakfast was good, nothing too fancy. Great location. A great stay for the price, I definately would stay there again.

  • Liked — location, historical feeling
  • Disliked — small room
  • Tips/Secrets — request a room on the top floor on the street side
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AGUB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#62 of 83 in Boston
952 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
1,712 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,261 reviews
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbury Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbury Guest House

Property: Newbury Guest House
Address: 261 Newbury St, Boston, MA 02116-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Boston
#41 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newbury Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel located in the upscale Back Bay section of Boston. Convenient to all major attractions and public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Newbury Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newbury Guest House Hotel Boston
Newbury Bed And Breakfast
Newbury Guest House Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing