We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Newbury Guest House
Ranked #40 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2006

We booked 2 rooms at the Newbury for June 27, 2006. We had only 1 night to visit in Boston on our way to the Women's US Open in Newport. It was fun staying in an older building, the location was great and we felt the rooms had a lot of character. We paid $175 and $195 for the rooms - standard rooms on the 2nd floor, facing Newbury Street. There was the normal city street noise, but it didn't bother us. We enjoyed watching the activity on the street. Breakfast was great, coffee was good. Lots of restaurants and easy walking in the area. Parking was well worth the extra $15/night. The desk clerk booked a 'Duck' tour for us, and although not overly knowledgeable with directions for walking to places and for driving to the highway, she was very pleasant. They offered to call cabs for us as needed. (Cab cost was about $10 to the North End.) We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NanComm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (674)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 674 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
St. Louis, MO
17
Reviewed June 16, 2006

If you're looking for a warm and cozy bed and breakfast, look elsewhere. Not a nice or well maintained place to stay at all. The rooms are very small, cramped and creaky with worn-out furniture and a tiny, very uncomfortable bed.

It was worth it to me to move to another place and pay the penalty for being within the cancellation period.

Save your money!

I wish that I would have come here before we booked that place....I will next time.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2006

We stayed at the Newbury guest because a friend recomended the location I booked the largest room they offered because we were traveling with our teenage daughter.
The price was definelty the most attractive price for the location and warm breakfast served in the morning was nice . The Hotel did have some construction going on although this didn't bother us.
The rooms are a little less then desirable in person, the pictures on the web appear to be warmer and more comfortable. The hard wood floors and lack of things on the walls makes this room feel cold.
I asked the front desk for some basic travelers advice about Boston and she was uninformed and seemed like she had better things to do on the computer.
Keep in mind if you book a room that faces the street it is very noisy with late night restaurant goers.
I would stay hear again for the price and the warm breakfast.

3  Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2006

Stayed: May 2006
5  Thank JLP1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2006

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank keeks2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2006

Having been to Boston many times, I was definetly aware that the area in which the guesthouse is located is a great area for business travelers and for tourists. I was on a business trip and found the newbury guesthouse to be a really nice place to stay. There was a lot of couples staying there and even families. However, they are a stickler on the 3:00 check-in b/c I got there at 11:00 and had to wait until 3:00 to get my room. It was a little inconvienent, but the room ( a mid-size room) was really nice and clean with hardwood floors, a rug, a bed, nice furniture, a desk, closet, and tv. The bathroom was really clean and very modern. The housecleaning staff were very friendly and so were the people who worked at the front desk. The owner or manager, however, though I saw him several times, did not seem as friendly. The breakfast in the mornings were great and all in all I reccommend the newbury guesthouse to everyone. It is situated in close proximity to the T and to copley square, fenway park, and the symphony.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wallstreeter85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2006

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lisa_SCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#69 of 84 in Boston
970 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,412 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 84 in Boston
1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#66 of 84 in Boston
3,784 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#68 of 84 in Boston
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbury Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbury Guest House

Address: 261 Newbury St, Boston, MA 02116-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Boston
#41 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $156 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Newbury Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel located in the upscale Back Bay section of Boston. Convenient to all major attractions and public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Newbury Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newbury Guest House Hotel Boston
Newbury Bed And Breakfast
Newbury Guest House Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing