We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Newbury Guest House
Ranked #30 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location!”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

This guest house is right in the middle of Newbury Street, and conveniently, right in the middle of most tourist attractions (pleasant 20 min walk either way to Museum of Fine Arts or the park). Newbury Street is in itself adorable, and has tons of restaurants and shops. Really the only thing I was not impressed with is the smallness of the shower, and the scratchiness of the sheets, but that's being really picky. Overall, I loved my stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    254
    62
    23
    16
See reviews for
102
305
39
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

I was in New York with my hubby 2 weeks ago & had booked to go to Boston for 2 days. Didnt know where to stay, a friend told me to stay around Boyleston Street so I found this guest house on Booking.com & let me tell you I was not disappointed one bit. The Newbury Guest House is absaloulty beautiful, It seems quite posh on first glance.

The street itself is lovely, full off designer shops e.g DKNY Burberry Tiffany’s etc.... restaurants & bars. The city centre is a bit of a walk but on a lovely day its really a beautiful walk. The room I had booked was a superior double & was quite large. Very clean, funky & new looking, I have read a few reviews & saw that renovations were being done a few years ago..... Great job cause it really looks great.

Breakfast was lovely, we both had crispy bacon scrambled egg cinnamon toast & coffee....delish!! The only reason I marked this as Very Good & not excellent is because I was awoken by my hubby at 6:30am screaming something was crawling on him. We found a centipede crawling on the bed. I toke a pic & brought it to reception, the girl on reception was mortified. She wanted to send a cleaner up to the room, I told her its dead there is no point. She then wanted to change my room, I told her we were checking out that day so there is no point in moving us. She spoke to her manager who then came back to me to say she will take $100.00 off the bill. To say I was very impressed was a understatement.

These things happen no matter where you stay whether it be a 6 star hotel or a 3 star guest house if a creepy crawly wants to get in, it will. I would not let this minor incident alter my thoughts or reviews on this guest house. When I return to Boston I will certainly be returning to The Newbury Guesthouse!!!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 107, beautiful room looking out on Newbury Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dekalb
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Good location, was easy to get around. Unfortunately we were underwhelmed.The staff couldn't be bothered with greetings and we were ignored when asked where breakfast was served. The mattress and pillows were hard and uncomfortable, but for a city hotel the room was decent size. The bathroom was clean and well maintained. for the price we had hoped for a little more.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weaselmcpuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Stayed here for the first three nights of our "Around the World" Honeymoon before setting off to New England. Great staff on reception who were more than happy to help when my Husband got sick. Great location for shopping, sightseeing and local restaurants. We ate at a little Mexican place around the corner which was delicious. Good facilities but not your classic hotel style facilities. We stayed in a bay fronted room which had a great view.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2014

What a lovely hotel this is, modern yet quaint , clean. rooms were very comfortable, and modern. staff were great, nothing too much trouble at reception. we stayed 4 nights, after coming up from NY it was like an oasis of calm. Newbury street is full of restaurants and shops a very trendy and pretty street. hotel was handy for everything, trolley buses etc. Also the bus to the airport is literally around the corner $5 one way at the Hynes centre. Breakfast included, same everyday but welcome nonetheless. The attached restaurant ( The Roost) served good food and residents get 10% knocked off the bill. Our room faced the front and was a bit noisy at times but nothing too much. I'd say stay here but I want it to be my little secret.

Room Tip: maybe a room at the back as it can be a little noisy on the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keeno62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this Guest House for 3 nights. The room was not spacious, but it was comfortable and very lovely. The mattress was uncomfortably firm, and I woke up with a back ache. But the next day, all the mattresses in the entire Inn were replaced! So nights 2 and 3 were more comfortable. When we arrived, the desk cleark said she had a reservation for our parking spot but not our room! Fortunately, they had availability and were able to get us in a room. The young woman at the front desk could not have been more apologetic, accommodating and gracious. The location on upscale Newbury Street in the Back Bay area of Boston is the best. You can walk to all the major sights, parks, restaurants, shopping, etc. There is also a nice little bistro attached to the Inn with wonderful food and drinks and outdoor seating. I would definitely stay here next time I go to Boston.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has the bay window; more spacious (but more expensive). We liked facing the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovemytravels11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
151 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

This Newbury Street small hotel has all the characteristics we look for when coming to Boston - central location to the Back Bay and our son's family's small Commonwealth Street apartment, charm, cleanliness, friendly staff and a fabulous full breakfast. Having some parking spaces available at a small extra cost is also wonderful as parking affordably in this area is a big issue. Since we last stayed here several years ago, rooms and bathrooms have been modernized (sound proof windows, sleek furniture, flat screen TVs, etc.) and the included breakfast was brought into Roost Restaurant which directly communicates with the lobby. Coffee and tea are available 24/7 in the lobby, which is always an appreciated amenity. Step up a few steps from the hustle bustle excitement of the eateries, galleries and shops of Newbury Street into the quiet calm this lovely hotel provides.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking beautiful Newbury Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCBW5875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#64 of 83 in Boston
951 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
1,711 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,261 reviews
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbury Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbury Guest House

Property: Newbury Guest House
Address: 261 Newbury St, Boston, MA 02116-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Boston
#41 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newbury Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel located in the upscale Back Bay section of Boston. Convenient to all major attractions and public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Newbury Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newbury Guest House Hotel Boston
Newbury Bed And Breakfast
Newbury Guest House Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing