We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis on Newbury St.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Newbury Guest House
Ranked #25 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
233 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Oasis on Newbury St.”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is a very quiet, clean, friendly little hotel in the very heart of the Newbury Street brownstone district of trendy shops, restaurants, bars, bookstores, etc., with a T stop nearby in case you want to go farther afield. The location could not be better. The room was very comfortable and well equipped. It's a nightmare to find parking on Newbury St during the weekend but fortunately the hotel has a private lot behind the hotel on the public alley. Check with the hotel in advance for directions on how to find the parking spaces, if you're not a local, it's far from obvious. The free buffet breakfast is nothing to write home about, very basic, even the Hampton Inn has better. But there are loads of great places to eat within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    253
    62
    22
    16
See reviews for
100
304
39
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is a very quiet and beautiful hotel in a wonderful location. Newbury street is just blocks form the T, shopping and some of the best restaurants in Boston. The hotel staff is more than accommodating. The AC in our room was not working and they immediately moved us. The breakfast were free and very basic but good. We would go back again on our next visit to Boston!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hal4408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed there for two nights, and it was one if the nicest lodging experiences I have ever had! We had a room on the second floor overlooking Newbury Street, and it was a beautiful scene and quiet! Everything in our room was clean and worked properly. It was a great home away from home! Thank you for the wonderful hospitality and affordable prices! Breakfast was included, too!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kowalama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponce Inlet, FL
Level Contributor
134 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at the Newbury Guest House prior to our cruise. The location is great. The Back Bay Area of Boston. Newbury Street is a vibrant active street with a great selection of restaurants and boutique shops. The guest house is also within walking distance of many places you may want to see.

We decided to take a room on the street side even after reading the cautions on TripAdvisor. We had a very nice room with a comfortable bed. The weather was nice so we opened the windows and enjoyed the fresh air. We did not have a problem with street noise at night. There was some but not enough to be a bother and after 11PM all was quiet.

Our stay included breakfast at The Roost Bistro downstairs. The breakfast was just OK but it kept us from having to go find breakfast. They ran out of some food and didn't seem to care.

This boutique hotel was nice. It could use a little freshening up in a few places. There is a nice sitting room with computer in the lobby. The desk staff was helpful when we had questions or needed a taxi. Free WiFi in the room.

We would stay here again and would recommend you give it a try.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rmpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Fl
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

After reading the reviews on trip advisor we decided to stay at this boutique hotel and we are very happy with our choice for three nights in Boston . Very cute, clean with charming staff. Small but perfect for a couple. It was a warm weekend and the air conditioning was working fine. The French restaurant downstairs was very good also. Every thing was very nice. Ask for a room at the back and it is very quiet.

Room Tip: 410 overlooks an alley but super quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Newbury Guest House is a good value for its Back Bay location, a vibrant Boston neighborhood. We stayed 3 nights over Memorial Day Weekend on the third floor in the rear of the building, away from the stairs and elevator. The room was quiet, clean and comfortable. Not a large space, but fine for our stay.

Staff were friendly. Christinana at the front desk was helpful in responding to our requests. Breakfast was included in the dining space attached to the hotel -- good food. There is a comfortable sitting room in the front of the hotel with a view of Newbury Street.

Lots of shops and restuarants nearby. Brownstone buildings. Beautiful tree lined streets within walking distrance to the Copley Square "T" subway.

We would stay at Newbury Guest House again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the rear of the building on the top floor (3rd) away from the stairs and elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FastTrackGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel was great for our 3 days in Boston. Excellent location, fun atmosphere, and breakfast included! Rooms are updated and very nice. Walk out the front and you can go everywhere. We loved it great food everywhere. Cute deli on the corner and a good wine shop close by.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#60 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,268 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Back Bay
Hotel 140
Hotel 140
#53 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbury Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbury Guest House

Property: Newbury Guest House
Address: 261 Newbury St, Boston, MA 02116-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#29 Family Hotel in Boston
#41 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newbury Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel located in the upscale Back Bay section of Boston. Convenient to all major attractions and public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Newbury Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newbury Guest House Hotel Boston
Newbury Bed And Breakfast
Newbury Guest House Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing