We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Newbury Guest House
Ranked #31 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Loved this accommodation”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Great location for 'newbies' traveling to Boston, in the center of things yet tremendously more affordable than most of the well-known chain hotels. Would definitely stay again, and have recommended to friends traveling to the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clwilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    255
    63
    23
    16
See reviews for
103
308
39
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Very happy with my recent stay here. The hotel is very conveniently located on Newbury Street about halfway between two T stops. I'm not terribly into shopping, but if you are, it's a great location. I appreciated it for being in a neighborhood, as opposed to a business district. The room itself was very nice -- fairly large and very clean, and the bed was excellent, extremely comfortable. The service was also very good; I met a friend who flew in on a red eye and not only was she able to get into our room on arrival, but she was offered breakfast as well. Breakfast was actually the one thing I was slightly disappointed in; it was fine, I just thought it might be better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenmore4828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights on our family Christmas trip and what a gem this place was. We typically stay in chain hotels but a friend recommended Newbury Guest House & I'm happy we listened! Rooms were perfect and staff very helpful and friendly. Typical breakfast (offered in the connecting Crepe restaurant next door - muffins,toast, pancakes, cereal, eggs) each morning. The neighborhood is the best - great street with many options for dining and shopping. True Boston feel! Will definitely return. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

It's the sweet spot to be in Boston. It's practically smack down in the shopping district of Boston. It's the cheapest you could get amidst the swanky hotels around without compromising the comfort of your stay. The place is very clean and the staff is very accommodating. It's 3-4 blocks from the train station and very accessible to all modes of transport. I'm currently staying here and all I can say is it's the sweetest spot to stay around Boston for the bang for your buck.

Room Tip: It's a block away from Prudential Shopping Center. So many shops and restaurants, so li'l ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lemmingsgamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Loved the location, the light from the window, the firm mattress, the delicious (complimentary) breakfast, the coffee and herbal tea available all day, the pleasant desk staff, the generous and pretty room and the location--did I mention the location? The only downside was...voices carry! Walls are thin and TV (& conversations) bleed right through, room to room. Luckily I was with a considerate crowd, but when I realized that my neighbors (must've) heard my phone calls and showers...I felt a bit shy. Still! Perfectly located and beautifully priced: a gem! Very clean!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SubjectTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Just returned from a visit to Boston; we stayed at a wonderful Inn, the Newbury Guest House, lon Newbury Street in the Back Bay section of Boston, in the heart of Copley Square. It is a lovely guest house that has the advantage of being located in a top area of the city, within walking distance of many places as well as close to the "T".

Our room was large, attractive and very comfortable, overlooking the street with a very comfortable bed and pillows. The parking in the back is in a Public Alley and we had no problem moving our Highlander in and out of there. Breakfast at The Creperie was quite good [with daily copies of the NY Times, Boston Globe and other newspapers provided at no cost to guests] and we enjoyed the shops and restaurants that make the area so lively and fun to walk through. The street was decorated with white holiday lights which brought an extra sparkle to the view. Staff was quite helpful for directions or recommendations and maps/brochures/local information is also available for guests.

Since the Guest House is in a former brownstone [actually 3 of them combined together in a really well designed manner], guest rooms will either have a view over Newbury Street or the Public Alley [used for parking and faces the backs of other buildings]. Newbury Streeet attracts a lot of visitors, both walkers and drivers with all of the businesses on it. As our visit was in December and it was quite cold, there was little late night foot traffic on the street. However, our room was on the second floor and we could hear anyone speaking outside in addition to the car traffic. In warmer weather, those who want a quiet room should ask for one on a higher floor [there is an elevator].

We enjoyed our visit and are very glad to have stayed at the Newbury Guest House.

Room Tip: The view of Newbury Street is lovely; for a quiet stay, ask for a room on a higher floor to minimize...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dephalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed here in December with my husband. Great location near shops and subway and walking distance to the downtown area and park with the freedom trail. The room was clean, not massive but we didn't expect it to be. Cleaned daily. Nice breakfast in the creperie. Great trip to Boston.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itchyfeet2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#66 of 83 in Boston
954 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,761 reviews
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbury Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbury Guest House

Property: Newbury Guest House
Address: 261 Newbury St, Boston, MA 02116-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Boston
#41 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newbury Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel located in the upscale Back Bay section of Boston. Convenient to all major attractions and public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Newbury Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newbury Guest House Hotel Boston
Newbury Bed And Breakfast
Newbury Guest House Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing