We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even better than our first visit 16 years ago” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newbury Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Newbury Guest House
Ranked #35 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Even better than our first visit 16 years ago”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Great accommodation – renovated and even better than we experienced it 16 years ago! Located in Newbury Road; probably the best street for shopping and eating in Boston. Easy walking distance to city centre and public transport. Very comfortable and attractive room, albeit with a tiny bathroom. Hot breakfast included. Free WiFi. Negatives: none.

Room Tip: Try for a room facing onto Newbury Road.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank IkariaCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    246
    62
    22
    16
See reviews for
97
291
37
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

recently stayed at the Newbury Guest House. The place is very clean,people very helpful and location is Great!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmr120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAS CRUCES
Level Contributor
679 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed staying here for a convention at the Hynes Covention Center. It is a very short walk -- about 1 1/2 blocks. The room had adequate lighting, especially the bathroom. The room had a mini-fridge and a hair dryer, but no coffee maker. However, one can get coffee and hot water for tea in the lobby, just bring your own decaf tea. The breakfast was good, and we didn't mind having the same thing every morning (as we have the same thing every morning at home). There is an elevator, but it is a bit slow. It was a quiet place to stay. In fact, although we saw other guests at breakfast, we only shared the elevator once with one other person. We liked the fact that there were restaurants on the same street. We especially liked the lunch buffet at the nearby Kashmir Indian restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANNIE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

The Newbury guest house was a welcome relief as soon as we walked into our room. King size bed table and chairs, with a great view of bustling and vibrant Newbury Street. Connecting to wifi was a breeze and connection was acceptable. The staff at the guest house were knowledgable and very nice. The breakfast was the same each day, scrambled eggs, juice, bacon(well almost) , English muffins, cereal, yogurt and fruit.

If you are intending to stay here you would be happy to know that the area is close to transport and great places to eat. L aroma coffees coffee and white chocolate scones are to die for.

All in all an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chelseafc4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

This was a great value guesthouse located in one of Boston's quintessential Victorian brownstones. Newbury Street is a great base for exploring Boston and some of it's many great places to eat. The room was a good size (though the bathroom a little dated) and always clean, the staff were friendly and approachable, and the free breakfast in the morning was a good start to the day. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to couples, solos or those on business trips.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronica667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

This is a very nice hotel, in an excellent location. The staff was really helpful, specially the manager, Mr. D'Angelo.
The rooms are reasonably large (we have seen 3 of them) and nicely decorated, but are pretty clear at night; bathrooms are OK but a bit small.
The heating system, however, did not work well; the staff tried to solve the problem (a technician attended), but the room got warm only in 1 out of 4 nights of our stay - we had to sleep with sweaters. We were offered another room, but the problem persisted. In the end, however, Mr. D'Angelo kindly gave us a dicount to compensate.
We really hope (and believe) that this has been a punctual situation.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fernando_SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

My wife and I took a standard room for 2 nights in December. Recommend staying here for good value and the location. Room was clean. All was very satisfactory.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hkrobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Charlesmark Hotel
Charlesmark Hotel
#61 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,232 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#10 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newbury Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newbury Guest House

Property: Newbury Guest House
Address: 261 Newbury St., Boston, MA 02116-2402
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Boston
#29 Family Hotel in Boston
#41 Romantic Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Newbury Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel located in the upscale Back Bay section of Boston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TravelClick so you can book your Newbury Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newbury Guest House Hotel Boston
Newbury Bed And Breakfast
Newbury Guest House Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing